Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
64 Reviews
1234.984385
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As a professor helping to train future youth librarians I not only admire the Lubuto efforts but use it as an instructional resource in class - to demonstrate what true community development means as executed through not only a library but a youth-focused civil institution. I admire Lubuto for its steadfast position to build community from within its local circumstances rather than impose preconceived notions, agendas, or discourses. This approach is so much more important, and difficult, when working with youth. Lubuto is a GREAT nonprofit!
August 31, 2014

more

August 31, 2014

I spent one month in Zambia working for Lubuto and it was a real eye opener for me. The illiteracy, poverty and the boys living at the shelter really got to me. No one should have to live like that. What a life struggle for the children and the people living in the areas where the libraries are located. Everyday, I would go to these libraries and I would think about what Jane Meyers has done by establishing these libraries and how she's changing their lives.
May 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Lubuto Library offers a unique approach to development. By embracing a strategy that includes a " full range of preservation, reading promotion, educational and social service activities" ; helps to reach out to children in need. I worked in Zambia for a children's project for over 7 years; including 2 years in rural farm blocks where reading books were scarce. Lubuoto Library Project reminds me of how valuable a simple book can be between learning something or nothing. I've witnessed children smile and paint images of what they have read/learned from books, one particular image will for ever remain with me ...is from a young orphaned boy at Twashuka Center in Zambia who drew of an imaginary father reading to him a book while he (the boy) lay in bed before falling a sleep. A symbol of how not only books can bring learning opportunities; but can unite family households. Congratulations for the great work in Zambia!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 21, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 21, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

This passionate group of librarians and child advocates is truly moving mountains. I have watched this group go from one person's dream (with no funding) to an intenational movement that serves kids, their families and their communities through one of life's most fundamental activities - reading together. I am in awe of what Jane, her colleagues and the Lubuto movement have achieved, and what they continue to aspire to.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 20, 2013

more

April 20, 2013

In October 2012 I was in Zambia,to set up a school library with Seeds of Hope Children's Ministry at their children's home in Ndola . Before leaving for home in Canada, we visited the Lubuto Library at Fountain of Hope. Nikki Packer warmly welcomed us and gave us a tour. She happily answered our many questions about the library. The children were reading books in small groups around the library, other children were working on the computers. I love the concept of the story circle in the middle of the room. I have visited Zambia many times and understand the absolute lack of books and information in the country and am pleased to see the great benefit that the Lubuto Library is to needy children in Zambia.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Lubuto is all about the kids. Providing them with a safe and welcoming place where they can learn about their culture, connect with others, escape isolation, dream, imagine and have hope. Lubuto Staff and volunteers work tirelessly, on a shoe string budget, getting the most out every penny, and delivering results. Great model to scale-up. We need 1000 LUBUTO LIBRARIES In 10 years. Please also read the first comment under "public".

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 3, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 3, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have watched the growth of this organization since its inception, and am continuously impressed with the commitment and passion of its leadership. It offers a wonderful service, not only to the children directly but by helping families and communities raise their children in a safe and productive way.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 19, 2011

more

September 19, 2011

Lubuto Libraries are connecting children, books and communities through a wide variety of activities supporting literacy and development. Since the opening of the Lubuto Library in Garden area of Lusaka children have been regular and consistent users of materials, participated in theater and art programs and taken to the one-laptop-per-child computers. I've watched the children teach themselves and each other. During their time in the library they are enjoying the learning and exchanges with each other.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

working with children from Lusaka.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

provide more staff to work daily with the children.

September 16, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 16, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

As a librarian, I know the importance of books and reading in the lives of all human beings, especially children. Jane Kinney Meyers and the Lubuto Libraries provide a wonderful service to the street children of Zambia who have so little. Having visited the first Lubuto Library in Lusaka, I saw for myself how this place changes lives, builds esteem and provides hope to those who need it most. This is the most wonderful charity that I am aware of and positive in every way.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

changing the lives of street kids who have so little by providing them with an enriching atmosphere of books, arts and hope.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of a thing I would change except that I would give them enough money to build hundreds of these libraries.

December 27, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 27, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

I am a long-time fan of Jane Kinney Meyers, President of the Lubuto Library Project, and have followed her career working with underserved populations in Africa with great admiration. The Project is obviously succeeding and will be able to accomplish even more in the future. I have had the honor of representing the Lubuto Library Project at a Combined Federal Campaign kick-off event and saw how its concrete successes really resonated with attendees.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Establishing libraries for youth in Zambia.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of any changes I'd make.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

We meet in the basement of St. Paul’s Lutheran Church, 4900 Connecticut Ave., NW, Washington, DC 20008, on Sunday afternoons between 3pm and 6pm (except holidays) to catalog and process books for Lubuto Library collections in Africa. The church is just west of Connecticut Avenue across from Politics & Prose Bookstore, and the entrance to the room where we store the Lubuto collection is near the corner of 36th and Everett Streets, N.W., on the side of the church facing Connecticut Ave. We place a sign outside the door to help new volunteers find us. Many people can only come for part of the 3pm-6pm time, which is perfectly fine. inputting of cataloging records may be done remotely as well.We also need volunteers to conduct book drives at their workplace, association or community, using guidelines that we provide for the types of books we include in our collections. We also have a short film that can be used, or could provide a speaker to kick off a book drive. Volunteer