Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
60 Reviews
1234.983335
| 1 2 3 4...6 |
Write A Review
April 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
September 22, 2010

Over five years ago, Jane Kinney Meyers reached out seeking assistance to establish the Lubuto Libraries. Combining her professional skills as a librarian, her passion for the Zambian culture and peo... more

April 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Lubuto continues to thrive, fulfilling its mission to serve orphan and volunerable children in sub--Sahara Africa. We continue to expand our program offerings to this underserved population in the world with enriching education, mentoring, arts, drama and reading. Soon, Lubuto will be building it third library complex in Zambia. These libraries are FAR MORE than just a book collection. If you haven't already taken a moment to see these amazing libraries and the smiles and joy that they bring to the kids that use them (and that function more like community centers for these kids), you MUST visit www.lubuto.org.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 22, 2010

Over five years ago, Jane Kinney Meyers reached out seeking assistance to establish the Lubuto Libraries. Combining her professional skills as a librarian, her passion for the Zambian culture and people, and her drive to help the orphaned and vulnerable children whose lives and families had been devastated by HIV and poverty, Jane created a vision for giving the Zambian street kids the foundation for a future: libraries. Not just any libraries. These libraries would be built in a traditional African architecture; they would have places for kids to enjoy art; they would have new, age-appropriate and fully catalogued collections of books; and they would offer enlightenment and hope to the children. Since then, it is not an understatement to say that Jane has passionately devoted her life to her vision. Today, the Lubuto Libraries are safe havens for children that have little else. They are places to hang-out, express themselves through art and drama, learn about other cultures, become educated, learn how to use computers, and so much more. Simply put, through Jane's vision, passion, dedication and perseverence, a Lubuto Library is a very special place. If you have any doubt, spend 5 minutes looking at the pictures at www.lubuto.org. The organization is very well run. It is fiscally sound, follows best practices in non-profit governance, and uses a very high percentage of funds raised on its core mission: building libraries, stocking them with books, and developing programs to give hope to the children.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

everything it has done since its inception. From the groudbreaking for the first library to the grand opening ceremony to the programmatic developments designed and implemented to provide the most positive experiences for the kids.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the smiles on the kids' faces and the joy in their hearts.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

devoted and caring.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

build thousands of libraries and enrich the lives of millions of children.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 3, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 3, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

As a Zambian who grew up in a village just on the outskirts of Lusaka, I appreciate what Lubuto is doing with the libraries. As a kid I loved reading and there were no Libraries in our village so the only time I read something was when grandma came back from the city and brought some old newspapers. I could read them before they were used for various things. That is why I was very happy to learn about what Lubuto was doing and I hope they can expand to reach as many kids. I know that in Lusaka the library situation is at crisis level. I may not have the numbers or the data, but I know that we do not have libraries for young people around. We easily have bars and taverns but not libraries. I am away for now, but I plan to be involved in Luboto projects as much as possible when I go back home. For some of the kids, having to read a book can make a whole life changing difference!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 3, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have watched the growth of this organization since its inception, and am continuously impressed with the commitment and passion of its leadership. It offers a wonderful service, not only to the children directly but by helping families and communities raise their children in a safe and productive way.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

When I was first introduced to The Lubuto Library Project I was very impressed with its scope and accomplishments. Lubuto has built sustainability into its structure by working closely with the Zambian government and Zambia Library Services. This collaboration is essential for a successful program.

The key to Lubuto's success is the vision it has for the vulnerable children of Zambia and their need for a safe haven. All of us who work with Lubuto embrace that vision. The importance of a safe place to read, to play, to study and to perform is central to the growth of each individual.

An exciting component of Lubuto is the use of virtually indestructible laptops by the children to aid with their learning to read. Reading programs have been translated into the several Zambian dialects by Zambian teachers so that the children can learn in their mother tongue.

As a retired middle school librarian/teacher I am thrilled to have discovered Lubuto Library Project and look forward to a long association with it. I encourage others to join me in volunteering.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 30, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 30, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

I had heard about Lubuto's work before I traveled to Zambia, but after actually seeing the country for myself, I knew that the work the Lubuto Library Project does could be a game-changer for some of the neediest and yet overlooked in the country. I met many children in my own travels who are absolutely hungry for knowledge, and I toured schools that have all of the best intentions, but they struggle to accommodate full-to-overflowing classes of disparate age ranges with very few resources. Libraries are a perfect fix: they encourage community; they provide marginalized groups with inspiration, tools for learning, and much-needed skills; and they provide a window to the rest of the world in the diversity of their collections that many Zambian children seem to seek out. Jane Kinney Meyers and the Lubuto staff are dogged in their pursuit of such spaces for Zambian communities. In assisting with the cataloging of collections, I found people committed to a thoroughness and big-picture view that will help these libraries to become foundations for their communities. I also have been extremely impressed by Lubuto's commitment to quality resources in their libraries, as opposed to truly second-rate books and materials that send a message of lesser value to those who will use them. I think Lubuto would benefit of course from increased funding and also from a campaign for greater exposure. If more people know about this inspired project, they will be moved to support it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 30, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 30, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

I had the privilege of helping with the deployment of the One Laptop Per Child laptops for the Lubuto Library Project. I was drawn by Jane Meyers' enormous empathy, energy and passion to make a difference in a seemingly intractable situation: HIV Aids orphans abandoned to the streets of Zambia. I stayed as I saw how a simple vision – empowering children with a sense of their own worth by teaching them to read and express themselves – could grow into a sustainable, replicable program - a network of community center/libraries as a vehicle for bringing a lost generation of children into society. Jane Meyers has an extraordinary ability to connect people with a vision and instill a sense of great purpose – whether connecting volunteers to the gains made by the children helped by the Lubuto Library, the Zambian Government to a way to tackle a country-wide project, or Zambian librarians to the need to staff the growing libraries – to create systemic change.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Giving me a sense that an individual can truly make a difference

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 30, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 30, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

As a masters student in Library and Information Science, I first volunteered on a Sunday preparing books for the Ngwerere Lubuto Library. The following Monday I went into the Washington DC office and next thing I know I am helping with this organization on a daily basis. This organization allowed me to learn and witness first hand how a library can be such a central part to any community. The Lubuto Library Project is an organization vested in enriching communities to build up individual members within that community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 30, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 30, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

The Lubuto Library Project is a unique and special organization, doing amazing work for children that are marginalized and often ignored. One of the things that makes Lubuto Libraries so exceptional is the architecture of the libraries themselves. What struck me about the project when I first learned about it five years ago was the careful thought and consideration that went into the design of the library buildings. A Lubuto Library is more than a repository for books. It is a place of learning and community designed using traditional architectural features and uses of space. Having visited the Lubuto Library at the Fountain of Hope in Lusaka, I can attest to the success of its beauty and design. Lubuto Libraries are unique attractions in the city of Lusaka, and that fact is not lost on the children and teachers who visit them. Lubuto libraries look like no other building in the city and yet many comment that they feel so familiar and welcoming because they remind them of their villages. A Lubuto Library is a place of bustling activity, a place where kids can read in solitude or with friends; where they can gather in a circle and be read to; where they can perform plays or listen to storytellers. The architectural design is a central part of the mission of Lubuto, and communicates to children that their traditional heritage is important and valuable and viable. I haven’t seen any other organization that establishes libraries in Africa do what Lubuto has done, creating beautiful and special buildings with enviable resources for the most vulnerable and marginalized children. Lubuto Library Project is an organization that cares deeply about the communities it serves. It sees the potential in each individual child they reach and offers a place where these kids can begin to imagine a better future.
September 29, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 29, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

Jane Kinney Meyers is doing amazing work on behalf of orphaned and vulnerable children in Zambia. What appears to have started as a community service effort of reading to street children while she was living and working in Zambia, it is now an impressive non-profit organization working at great speed. She has the successful combination of library science and development skills coupled with an entrepreneurial spirit.

Jane's passion was the first wave I encountered but what really had an impact on me was seeing the effect on the children in Zambia as documented by Lubuto's videos. After seeing the videos I was so impressed by the opportunity Lubuto had created for these kids. I have worked with students for years as a middle school teacher in Washington, DC and I cannot help but see the experience through their eyes. The video made me realize how powerful it has been for them. Jane and the Lubuto Library Project have created a very rich experience for the out-of-school, vulnerable children of Zambia that respects them as learners and envelops them as part of humanity.
September 20, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 20, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

One of the most impressive things about this organization is the amount it accomplishes with a tiny headquarters staff: one full-time person and the equivalent of one half-time person. The full-timer happens to be, of course, an incredibly dedicated, hard-working, indefatigable person, founder Jane Meyers, who could probably be counted as two. This kind of dedication rubs off on those who work with her; volunteers want to do their best for Lubuto, also. It all adds up to a wonderfully efficient non-profit.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Not applicable.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing to add.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

We meet in the basement of St. Paul’s Lutheran Church, 4900 Connecticut Ave., NW, Washington, DC 20008, on Sunday afternoons between 3pm and 6pm (except holidays) to catalog and process books for Lubuto Library collections in Africa. The church is just west of Connecticut Avenue across from Politics & Prose Bookstore, and the entrance to the room where we store the Lubuto collection is near the corner of 36th and Everett Streets, N.W., on the side of the church facing Connecticut Ave. We place a sign outside the door to help new volunteers find us. Many people can only come for part of the 3pm-6pm time, which is perfectly fine. inputting of cataloging records may be done remotely as well.We also need volunteers to conduct book drives at their workplace, association or community, using guidelines that we provide for the types of books we include in our collections. We also have a short film that can be used, or could provide a speaker to kick off a book drive. Volunteer