Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
61 Reviews
1234.983615
| 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
April 23, 2013

more


1 previous review
September 20, 2010

I first learned of the Lubuto Library Project through library colleagues who support the project with donations and publicity. I enthusiastically accepted a position to joint the board as an opportun... more

April 23, 2013

I am proud of my association with the Lubuto Library Project and the opportunity to work with such enthusiastic and committed professionals to make a difference in the lives of children and youth who struggle each day to find a safe place in the world. To learn through the stories of these children about the impact of Lubuto on their lives is both humbling and rewarding. Serving on the Board of Directors is an honor and I have learned so much from Jane Kinney Meyers and the other members about the powerful impact Lubuto can have on the future for Africa’s children. Working with the volunteers to organize and prepare the books for Lubuto libraries is a constant reminder of their dedication to the mission and principles of the Project.

The Lubuto Library Project (LLP) has made tremendous progress in meeting its mission to deliver sustainable open-access library and program services for vulnerable children and youth in Zambia. LLP has a broad vision of extending services that are designed to reconnect orphaned and abandoned children with their culture and community beyond its roots in Zambia. The success of LLP has attracted the attention of individuals and groups who embrace our goals to ensure that there are opportunities for all children to reach their full potential regardless of circumstances or gender. In addition to building beautiful library buildings modeled on the indigenous architecture and developing appropriate reading collections, LLP develops innovative programs and workshops in the arts to expose Lubuto’s children to a range of cultural themes. What sets LLP apart from other projects is the recognition of the importance of working through partnerships with government, community-based organizations and professional groups to ensure sustainability.


More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 20, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

I first learned of the Lubuto Library Project through library colleagues who support the project with donations and publicity. I enthusiastically accepted a position to joint the board as an opportunity to work directly with other directors committed to the future of Lubuto. I have observed first-hand how an energetic president, a cadre of dedicated volunteers, and donors who believe in the mission and vision of Lubuto can change the lives of orphans and vulnerable children and youth in Africa. Lubuto means "knowledge, enlightenment and light" and the programs the Lubuto Library Project brings to these children offer avenues to knowledge and enlightment beyond the books that are the core of Lubuto's libraries.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The positive results of Lubuto are evident in the care that goes into selecting and planning new collections for Lubuto libraries and seeing the enthusiastic response of the children and youth in videos of Lubuto events in Zambia.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

The stories of the children whose lives have been positively impacted by Lubuto.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Enthusiastic and dedicated to the vision of Lubuto.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 21, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 21, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

This passionate group of librarians and child advocates is truly moving mountains. I have watched this group go from one person's dream (with no funding) to an intenational movement that serves kids, their families and their communities through one of life's most fundamental activities - reading together. I am in awe of what Jane, her colleagues and the Lubuto movement have achieved, and what they continue to aspire to.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 20, 2013

more

April 20, 2013

In October 2012 I was in Zambia,to set up a school library with Seeds of Hope Children's Ministry at their children's home in Ndola . Before leaving for home in Canada, we visited the Lubuto Library at Fountain of Hope. Nikki Packer warmly welcomed us and gave us a tour. She happily answered our many questions about the library. The children were reading books in small groups around the library, other children were working on the computers. I love the concept of the story circle in the middle of the room. I have visited Zambia many times and understand the absolute lack of books and information in the country and am pleased to see the great benefit that the Lubuto Library is to needy children in Zambia.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As a volunteer for Lubuto I was impressed by the degree of dedication that all who contributed to the Project gave to making it successful. I worked mainly on acquiring, selecting and classifying books, and was proud that these were of the highest quality.The Lubuto Library Project shows a deep respect and compassion for the children and youth who come to the libraries. I believe that Lubuto is a strong presence for good in the world; its unique focus and devotion to those who use the beautiful libraries brings light to a world in desperate need of it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was lucky enough to be able to spend time at one of Lubuto's libraries in Lusaka when I visited Zambia last September. I had no previous experience of visiting anywhere like Lubuto, but if I'm honest, spending time at the library was one of the highlights of my trip! It was wonderful to see how much the children visiting the library enjoyed spending time there and their enthusiasm for the different activities on offer (drama groups, use of the laptops, reading together, board games to name but a few) was infectious. The Lubuto Library Project provides a great resource; it was humbling to see how much the children got out of their visits, and their acceptance of me as a visit was very touching. The staff on site were brilliant: welcoming and warm, engaging enthusiastically with the children; organising/ participating in games, dancing competitions, art and craft activities and more! In addition, the staff all took time with individual children, encouraging and teaching them to read, helping with homework or just listening if the child just wanted to talk.
As I say, I really enjoyed my visit to Lubuto in Lusaka, and hope to return!

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I first met Jane Meyers, president and founder of the Lubuto Library Project at a Special Libraries Association International reception held at the Zambian Embassy in 2009 in Washington, D.C. As a Zambian librarian working in the DC area, my interest was piqued after hearing Ms. Meyers speak with so much verve about her organization. I quickly became a donor but it was not until May of 2012 that I began volunteering for Lubuto.

For one to truly appreciate what Lubuto Library Project is doing to provide information and literacy services to disadvantaged youths (homeless or street kids as they are called in Zambia) and communities, he or she has to be aware of the dearth of such services in Zambia. The few public libraries there are ill equipped and lack up-to-date and appropriate materials due to inadequate funding and for the most part serve as study spaces for students preparing for exams. What is remarkable about Lubuto is its focus on serving the vulnerable and disadvantaged, most of them orphaned children who lost their parents to HIV-AIDS, thus finding themselves homeless. Apart from information services, Lubuto also provides capacity building programs such as its visual arts workshops which help the youths acquire skills to earn a living through their arts and crafts.

My work with Lubuto mainly involves cataloguing children's books in the local languages of Zambia. Not only do local language books help to preserve culture, they also generate more reading interest as the kids tend relate more with the book characters. I thoroughly enjoy my work with Lubuto Library project and I hope it illuminates the lives of these unfortunate children and lives up to its name. PS: Lubuto means light.

Mwangala

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 16, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 16, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have been volunteering through VSO with the Lubuto Library Project in Lusaka for over a year now. I can honestly say that every day I am challenged, inspired and humbled by the work that Lubuto is doing with vulnerable children in Zambia. I have seen children learn to read by themselves for the first time; gain confidence through the LubutoMentoring program and start to change their behavior for the better; jump up and down with excitement because they have been given a speaking role in a LubutoDrama performance; start to enjoy reading together in local languages thanks to the LubutoLiteracy program; create their own music videos using LubutoLaptops; and create professional looking works of art in the LubutoArts program (which they have sold, thus earning the money to feed their families for a week). I work alongside young adults who are employed to help run Lubuto's programs, and who have been given fantastic career and personal development opportunities through Lubuto's training and support.

Lubuto really does reach out to the most vulnerable children in Zambian society and give them the opportunity to learn in a way that is holistic and innovative. There is no underestimating the potential value in Lubuto's services.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

I came across the Lubuto Library Project as a prospective virtual intern for the San Jose State Library and Information Science Program. I noticed this organization first thing, and wanted to participate in helping them in anyway I could. I was able to speak with Jane Meyers to establish how I could potentially help them in various areas, over the course of this semester (Spring 2013).

I have come to greatly appreciate the time and efforts that the entire staff of the Lubuto Library Project has put forth, and continues to put forth in the pursuit of providing a myriad of services and programs to the children of Zambia and beyond. In working with them, I have gained considerable knowledge as to the extent of which the organization plays a crucial role in the development of libraries and information access to a location that does not have much of that type of infrastructure. Each of the staff members that I have worked with have been incredible humble yet confident in their abilities to push this fantastic organization to new heights. I am incredibly thankful that I was able to aid them in establishing a social media strategy to pursue as many digital relationships as possible on multiple platforms. Above all, I believe the Lubuto Library Project is one of the most, if not the most pertinent organizations that exist to help others. The incredible amount of hard work, time, organization, and staffing, clearly shows in how much they truly care about the children, and the development of information professionals to Zambia and beyond. I could not have asked for a better experience with the Lubuto Library Project. I look forward to helping them in any capacity I can even after my internship is over.

Even though I am just an intern, aiding them in several virtual tasks, I can feel the impact the organization has on the children and the people of Zambia. In the pictures, videos, and stories found on their various social media platforms, you can really get a grasp of what the Lubuto Library Project is all about. They are a shining example of what is right in the world today!

Jameson Rohrer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 11, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I became aware of the Lubuto Library Project in the summer of 2012. Jane Meyers’ energy and enthusiasm for the Project was instantly infectious and I was excited to lend a hand with their digital marketing outreach. It's been a pleasure to work with the Lubuto team. Their focus and camaraderie has been inspiring and I've been moved by the positive impact the Project's work is having on the lives of Zambian street children. It’s rewarding to have the opportunity to play (a small) part in a project that is so clearly a big force in changing people's lives by providing access to resources previously unavailable.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Lubuto is all about the kids. Providing them with a safe and welcoming place where they can learn about their culture, connect with others, escape isolation, dream, imagine and have hope. Lubuto Staff and volunteers work tirelessly, on a shoe string budget, getting the most out every penny, and delivering results. Great model to scale-up. We need 1000 LUBUTO LIBRARIES In 10 years. Please also read the first comment under "public".

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

We meet in the basement of St. Paul’s Lutheran Church, 4900 Connecticut Ave., NW, Washington, DC 20008, on Sunday afternoons between 3pm and 6pm (except holidays) to catalog and process books for Lubuto Library collections in Africa. The church is just west of Connecticut Avenue across from Politics & Prose Bookstore, and the entrance to the room where we store the Lubuto collection is near the corner of 36th and Everett Streets, N.W., on the side of the church facing Connecticut Ave. We place a sign outside the door to help new volunteers find us. Many people can only come for part of the 3pm-6pm time, which is perfectly fine. inputting of cataloging records may be done remotely as well.We also need volunteers to conduct book drives at their workplace, association or community, using guidelines that we provide for the types of books we include in our collections. We also have a short film that can be used, or could provide a speaker to kick off a book drive. Volunteer