Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
65 Reviews
1234.984625
Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
August 8, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 8, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I visited Lubuto Library in Lusaka, Zambia. It is truly a community library, a little bit of everything for everyone. If you're an out-of-school youth, you can use the computers to practice literacy skills. If you're an aspiring artist, there are mentors there to help. If you want to bring a child to oral story time, this is the place. IF you want to look at some original texts of Zambian literature the Lubuto Library project has preserved it in a form you can use easily. If you want a children's book in local languages of Zambia there are many books to choose from. If you want help from a qualified librarian, you're in the right place. IF you want non-fiction from President Obama to dinosaurs, you can easily find one. I've been to libraries all over the world. This is one of my favorites. Christie Vilsack,

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I'm so proud to be a Board member of the Lubuto Library Project. A lot of organizations work in Africa, but Lubuto is different. Lubuto is all about giving children the keys to their own future. In Zambia, elementary education isn't universal and charges fees after a certain age, so thousands of children who could otherwise continue to learn and thrive just can't go to school. Lubuto provides them a warm, welcoming place to continue to learn, grow, and be safe. The libraries themselves look like indigenous buildings; the staff are locals, some of them formerly homeless youth themselves; and the programs are full of bright, eager, beautiful children who don't have anywhere else to get these kind of opportunities. Through books, literacy, art and drama, the Lubuto libraries are building up the youth of Zambia (and hopefully other nations soon) to provide a better future for their community and nation.
September 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Lubuto Library Project is a fantastic and unique organization. Since I first started following Lubuto, I have been continually impressed by all they have accomplished: building three beautiful libraries in Zambia, designing enriching programming, and engaging vulnerable youth in creative and compassionate ways. Lubuto Libraries welcome all children and encourage all of their possible interests: drama, science, music, even just socializing with friends. Unlike many organizations working Sub-Saharan Africa, Lubuto does not hand-pick its beneficiaries, but keeps its libraries open and free of charge to all - a true public service. Lubuto also stands out for its enduring partnerships with Zambian institutions and communities - it is a organization that grows with Zambia, rather than in isolation.
September 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As a professor helping to train future youth librarians I not only admire the Lubuto efforts but use it as an instructional resource in class - to demonstrate what true community development means as executed through not only a library but a youth-focused civil institution. I admire Lubuto for its steadfast position to build community from within its local circumstances rather than impose preconceived notions, agendas, or discourses. This approach is so much more important, and difficult, when working with youth. Lubuto is a GREAT nonprofit!
September 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Lubuto Library was one of our first round grantees as part of the All Children Reading Grand Challenge for Development competition. While observing their success mostly from afar, I was delighted to have a chance to visit their site in Lusaka as part of a recent family work vacation in Zambia. I met enormously dedicated staff working on the project, but was simply awe-struck by the carefully and creatively laid out open space "library" site and enthusiasm of their multitude of visiting patrons from all ages. As our "grant" to Lubuto Library funded technology-based interventions to accelerate early grade reading, I was really exited to visit their co-located computer building/room /lab with a number of youth using several laptops running educational software produced and adapted by their program. What really brought it home to me about opportunities of access to knowledge which Lubuto Library is supporting in its centers throughout Zambia was seeing a young boy (aged 6-7?) standing outside of this lab waiting for his turn to use the technology and who was wearing a tattered Stanford U sweatshirt. You never know what will turn the key to open doorways for that or other young person's future life pathways. Keep up the great job! Tony Bloome, Senior Education Technology Advisor, USAID

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 31, 2014

more

August 31, 2014

I spent one month in Zambia working for Lubuto and it was a real eye opener for me. The illiteracy, poverty and the boys living at the shelter really got to me. No one should have to live like that. What a life struggle for the children and the people living in the areas where the libraries are located. Everyday, I would go to these libraries and I would think about what Jane Meyers has done by establishing these libraries and how she's changing their lives.
August 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
April 17, 2013

As a volunteer, I have been consistently impressed by the professionalism and dedication of this organization, and deeply touched by the children that it serves. The Lubuto Library Project fundamental... more

August 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have visited the Lubuto Libraries and seen the joy on the faces of children for whom they are portals to the larger world, and oases in which they can share the simple pleasures of reading with friends, learning new skills, and finding a productive path in life. For some vulnerable children they have been the difference between hopelessness and hope. They are cherished by their users and communities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would establish many more Lubuto Libraries.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

As a volunteer, I have been consistently impressed by the professionalism and dedication of this organization, and deeply touched by the children that it serves. The Lubuto Library Project fundamentaly addresses the human rights of children living at the margins of their societies -- the rights to learn, to grow, to have a place in which they are safe and can be happy. On visits to the Lubuto Libraries, I have seen children sitting, reading together and working together as they run computer applications. Shelf after shelf of books that have been well-used -- stories, history books, science, geography-- testify to needs that the libraries are meeting. At the personal level, as recounted by others in Lubuto's blog posts, I have seen many children whose lives were substantially changed for the better -- finding a way to live better through Lubuto Mentoring or learning to use extraordinary talents through LubutoArt and LubutoDrama or, simply learning to read or having a safe place that they feel is home. Many more Lubuto Libraries are needed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 6, 2014

more

August 6, 2014

Lubuto Library Project serves an essential need for youth in Africa with very positive results. This is a social service that benefits all - youth and families.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 6, 2014

more

August 6, 2014

I've been involved with Lubuto for several years now and it's been such a pleasure to watch it grow and to see all the wonderful work that they do. Lubuto Library Project is an exemplary organization with a fully comprehensive model that involves the communities they're in and builds beautiful library spaces and collections with library users in mind. The programs and services offered by Lubuto make a real difference in the lives of vulnerable children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 10, 2013

more

May 10, 2013

Lubuto Libraries is a shining example of what being human means - "the God in me greets the God in you." Jane Meyers saw a need and was uniquely qualified to fill that need. Accident? I think not. Her passion and energy has never flagged and have become contagious, as do all good works.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

We meet in the basement of St. Paul’s Lutheran Church, 4900 Connecticut Ave., NW, Washington, DC 20008, on Sunday afternoons between 3pm and 6pm (except holidays) to catalog and process books for Lubuto Library collections in Africa. The church is just west of Connecticut Avenue across from Politics & Prose Bookstore, and the entrance to the room where we store the Lubuto collection is near the corner of 36th and Everett Streets, N.W., on the side of the church facing Connecticut Ave. We place a sign outside the door to help new volunteers find us. Many people can only come for part of the 3pm-6pm time, which is perfectly fine. inputting of cataloging records may be done remotely as well.We also need volunteers to conduct book drives at their workplace, association or community, using guidelines that we provide for the types of books we include in our collections. We also have a short film that can be used, or could provide a speaker to kick off a book drive. Volunteer