Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
1234.909095
Write A Review
November 7, 2014

more

November 7, 2014

LLC is a great organization that really helps gives members of our community the skills they need to improve their quality of life. Keep up the good work!!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

Loudoun Literacy Council provides an important service where many of our neighbors don’t even realize there is a need. Thank you for what you do!!!
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

When I started with Loudoun Literacy I was unaware of the great need for English literacy education, but now I see how something I used to take for granted can be such an obstacle. The Adult Literacy Program and Family Literacy Program provide support for speakers of other languages, as well as at risk children and families, making Loudoun County a better place to live for everyone. The LLC Staff and volunteers are also a wonderful group of people who care deeply about the people they reach. I'm so proud to be a part of Loudoun Literacy Council, and I truly believe in the power of this fantastic organization to improve both the community and the individual lives of our students!
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

As one of the AmeriCorps members who serves with Loudoun Literacy Council, I've had a wonderful experience so far! I was not confident in my teaching abilities when I began, but LLC has helped me feel much more prepared! Also, as I've been serving with them, I have experienced first hand how much of a difference they make in the lives of the Loudoun community. They really live up to their goal of changing lives through literacy, and I am so thankful for the opportunity to serve with them!
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

This program provides a much needed and beneficial service to our community. Perhaps the biggest benefit of the LLC is the ability to build the self-esteem of the participants. The program serves children and adults, as well as individuals who are learning English for the first time. I have seen both the volunteers and the recipients benefit greatly from this program. The volunteers are very caring and engaging. In addition to helping the participants with their reading skills, the program helps to build confidence.
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

Loudoun Literacy Council is a fantastic organization for our community, improving the lives for underprivliged youth through the basic fundamental skill of reading. The organization does much more for our youth than encouraging them to pick up books, but gives them the confidence they need to succeed in school. The organization also provides learning opportunities for adults, which empowers them to make a positive change for their life going forward. Loudoun Literacy Council is an integral part of raising the bar of education in Loudoun County.
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

I started with Loudoun Literacy Council as a volunteer with the Sweet Dreams program reading to at-risk youth in Loudoun County. Seeing the difference the program made in the lives of the children motivated me to explore and eventually commit to board membership.

As a board member, I am
continually impressed by the dedication of our staff and volunteers. Their commitment to providing educational opportunity to members of our community in need is nothing short of inspiring. I look forward to continuing to work with my fellow board members to increase awareness of the need for literacy programs in our community, to attract new sources of funding, and ultimately to expand our programs in order to accommodate all residents of Loudoun County who may have a need for literacy assistance.
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

Loudoun Literacy Council provides a valuable service to the community. The members of the community who do not read, write or speak English as their first language have an organization to help them. There are many volunteers who give a lot of their time to help teach those in need. As a board member and my wife as a teacher we see first hand the many people who have come and benefited from LLC.
October 30, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 22, 2013

My relationship with the Loudoun Literacy Council started when I met someone who could not read or write English. Coming from a household where reading was a daily occurrence, for work or for pleasure... more

October 30, 2014

The Loudoun Literacy Council provides educational services to hundreds of at-risk children, their families, and adult English language learners every year in Loudoun County. We have a terrific corps of volunteers who donate THOUSANDS of hours to improve the lives of HUNDREDS of people who live and work in Loudoun County. This is an organization whose results are tremendous compared to their resources - they are incredibly efficient and make a significant and positive impact. I've served as both a volunteer and Board member for over five years and am proud of our service to the residents of Loudoun County.
October 22, 2013

My relationship with the Loudoun Literacy Council started when I met someone who could not read or write English. Coming from a household where reading was a daily occurrence, for work or for pleasure, I was shocked. I couldn't sleep that night. The next day, I got on my computer and searched for "Loudoun" (the county where I live) and "literacy" - the Loudoun Literacy Council was the top result. I contacted them that day and from there I went on to volunteer as a reader to children in emergency housing and homeless shelters and as an ESL Instructor for adults. The Loudoun Literacy Council provides free books and services to children of low income families and affordable English language instruction for adults; this amounts to hundreds of individuals every year. While Loudoun County is regularly reported as having the highest median household income in the US, there are many families who are not as well off and need help to improve their language and literacy skills to improve their lives. The Loudoun Literacy Council works tirelessly, both through its staff and its passionate corps of volunteers, to support Loudoun's underserved and help to ensure that everyone can communicate and participate in their communities and workplaces.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Recruit new Board members and expand our Board development plans.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

As a volunteer teacher, I have seen the difference learning to speak English has made for a wide variety of students. Loudoun Literacy Council provides a wonderful and a much needed service to the English Language Learners in our county! What a difference LLC volunteers make!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

assist with registration for adult ELL classes, read to children residing in the homeless shelters, or put together book packs for our Head Start students. Volunteer