Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
10 Reviews
1234.85
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

Loudoun literacy council provides a much needed service to an under served population in our local community. Hats off to them!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I came to the Council with no experience in the ELL world but was quickly welcomed and trained to help support their mission. They put a lot of work into their volunteer training sessions which can be measured by their volunteer retention and quick turnaround in matching volunteers with classes/students. The Council is supported by the community, as seen through fundraising events, matching grants from local vendors, and their relationships with local community centers, schools, and libraries providing space for the weekly classes.
Students excel in LLC's programs, increasing their Best Plus scores, moving up through the class levels and even moving on to the local Community College to further their education and skills in the English language. Students also are exposed to other cultures in class, building relationships with people they would probably not otherwise meet in their daily life.
Overall, I think LLC does a great job of establishing a sense of community while creating a safe place for students to collaborate and increase confidence in their English language skills. Volunteers and staff go out of their way to meet the needs of the community. They stretch their funding and resources to fulfill their mission, thus making it a 5 star nonprofit.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help increase their budget!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 27, 2013

more

October 27, 2013

Loudoun Literacy Council is a wonderful non-profit providing a critical service to the community. The work they do truly changes lives and has a far reaching positive impact on the greater community. I would recommend this organization to anyone in need of literacy services.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2013

more

October 26, 2013

A great Loudon County non-profit that does incredible work in our community!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2013

more

October 26, 2013

Loudoun Literacy Council is an outstanding non-profit that provides critical literacy services to adults and families in Loudoun County. The impact this organization provides to the community is significant in that is helps lift individual out or poverty, umeployement, etc.

As a Board
member for three years now I am especially proud to be affiliated with this great non-profit and the life-changing services they provide to our commiunity!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Needs more board members!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

I was teaching English for adults with Loudoun Literacy Council first as a volunteer and then as an AmeriCorps member from 2009 to 2011. I can say from both a volunteer perspective and while working at LLC that there is great training and great support for volunteers. It's a small but tight-knit group of staff that want volunteers to succeed and ultimately the students to succeed.

As an instructor, I found a way to help others, be more confident, and a passion that changed my career goals. When someone thinks about impact, and affecting positive change with nonprofits, it is usually geared towards the clients served, which I know Loudoun Literacy does. But I didn't know how much of an impact volunteering would have on my life, too.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

My relationship with the Loudoun Literacy Council started when I met someone who could not read or write English. Coming from a household where reading was a daily occurrence, for work or for pleasure, I was shocked. I couldn't sleep that night. The next day, I got on my computer and searched for "Loudoun" (the county where I live) and "literacy" - the Loudoun Literacy Council was the top result. I contacted them that day and from there I went on to volunteer as a reader to children in emergency housing and homeless shelters and as an ESL Instructor for adults. The Loudoun Literacy Council provides free books and services to children of low income families and affordable English language instruction for adults; this amounts to hundreds of individuals every year. While Loudoun County is regularly reported as having the highest median household income in the US, there are many families who are not as well off and need help to improve their language and literacy skills to improve their lives. The Loudoun Literacy Council works tirelessly, both through its staff and its passionate corps of volunteers, to support Loudoun's underserved and help to ensure that everyone can communicate and participate in their communities and workplaces.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Recruit new Board members and expand our Board development plans.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

The preparation and support given to volunteers by the LCC staff is outstanding. It is easy to understand why this program is so successful. With its eager students, enthusiastic and well-trained volunteers, and knowledgeable and helpful staff it is bound grow and continue serving needs of Loudoun County residents.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

It has truly been a joy to work with Loudoun Literacy. The volunteer teachers and tutors are all dedicated, talented, and intelligent people who really get the most out of their time with the students. The learners are all very enthusiastic and driven to improve their English skills to better blend into the Loudoun community. The programs receive excellent support from the local libraries and other community establishments to make it easy for the organization to reach its target audience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

The Loudoun Literacy Council is such a great organization that truly promotes changing lives through learning. Both the Adult Literacy Program and the Family Literacy Program helps the low-income and immigrant community in Loudoun County. Whether it's giving out free books, reading to children in the shelter and Head Start programs, or teaching adult English learners, LLC staff and volunteers work hard to establish the ground works of literacy and education. I cannot say enough how good this organization is!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

assist with registration for adult ELL classes, read to children residing in the homeless shelters, or put together book packs for our Head Start students. Volunteer