Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
187 Reviews
1234.497335
| 1 2 3 4...16 |
Write A Review
June 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I first heard about LostNMissing when I opened a page for Ayla Reynolds and then saw all of the families and their missing that they are helping on a daily basis and how committed they are. I have seen them do amazing things for Ayla awareness as well as being a strong support for her mother. I will continue to support them and the wonderful work they do.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Last year our son, Jorry Palm went missing June 3rd. He was missing 53 days. LostNMissing came to our Aid. They placed our sons picture and all information on their site, the National site. They worked very hard on our behalf. They gave us Emotional support during this Tragic time we were enduring. They made us Banners, fliers, They Organized a Balloon Launch for our son. The Founder Cynthia Caron and her staff were Fantastic to us. They were there the whole time for us. They kept in touch and always asked if we needed anything. This Organization is an Absolute God send to anyone who uses there services to help find missing loved ones. We go through enough emotional roll coasters, but every time we needed something, LostNMissing were there. I am so happy it was LostNMissing who were there for us. I can't thank them enough for everything they did. I would Recommend LostNMissing for everyone whose loved one went missing. Let it be noted all people who work with LostNMissing are volunteers, they receive no compensation. This is because they care and love people. Thank you again LostNMissing. We love you folks.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would do everything in my power to make sure LostNMissing were fully funded by local, State, and Federal Governments all year long.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
July 31, 2012

I'd never been involved with missing persons...then came across a story on Facebook. Along with another woman, I thought I could make a difference in spreading the word about the missing......and the... more

June 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I met Cynthia and LostNMissing when I became involved with missing persons on FaceBook. I found there is so much more to assisting families of the missing than just sharing information on Facebook. I decided that there was no way I would ever be as professional and knowledgeable as the LostNMissing organization. I choose to donate to them when I can and support them however I can. I personally have met a mother of a "lost" adult child. Cynthia and LostNMissing supported and assisted to a level that is beyond comprehension and the adult child was located safely!!!

This organization, completely NON-PROFIT, works tirelessly. I hope and PRAY they continue with their work. An AMAZING group, I would hope everyone would support them, I can't think of a better group to lend my support.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

ABSOLUTELY NOT ONE CHANGE!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 31, 2012

I'd never been involved with missing persons...then came across a story on Facebook. Along with another woman, I thought I could make a difference in spreading the word about the missing......and then Cynthia and LostNMissing connected with me. Their organization is so completely focused and knowledgeable about missing persons, I chose to help Cynthia and her group as much as possible...let the experts do their job. I wish there were more I could do to support LostNMissing because they are FANTASTIC!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2013

more


1 previous review
April 5, 2013

LostNMissing I have found to be an excellent missing persons service highly dedicated to finding the many missing persons noted. Always courteous to myself and interactions in relation to the notific... more

June 29, 2013

I have received continuing notices from LostnMissing relating to many cases of missing persons which I am always happy to receive. Their update system and the manner in which they support distressed families is most gracious. As a Non Profit Organisation they place a great amount of effort into the continuing wish of locating persons and hopefully to reconnect them. I feel that such organisations should continue to be supported as best is possible in both my professional and personal opinion. Many families have thankfully gained closure and regained the family members they were searching for due to these efforts and I hope this shall continue well into the future.

Ambassador Kurt Alleyne.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

LostNMissing I have found to be an excellent missing persons service highly dedicated to finding the many missing persons noted. Always courteous to myself and interactions in relation to the notifications of information are clear and precise which I find extremely helpful. A proactive organisation that keeps the interests of families close to mind at all times.

As an individual that works within Humanitarian Affairs I greatly appreciate the work that is undertaken which itself must induce quite stressful times. Updated information is fluid and prompt. I would certainly place any recommendation of LostNMissing to any families or indeed individual searching for missing persons in a highly positive manner. Whilst operating this organization it uses some resources that are difficult to assist with for many but I would very much like to see the continuance and further building and I support fully the work undertaken.

In my professional view matters are dealt with in a Compassionate and truly caring manner always understanding of the needs of those they assist and to my knowledge have always given exemplary service. I look forward to further interactions and wish for every success in the future. I hope very much that further support will be given so that further extensions of their works can be made as needed.

Mr. Kurt Alleyne.

Ambassador for Humanitarian Affairs.

International Human Rights Commission.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

HI,MY NAME IS JOHN E QUINN.I'D LIKE TO SAY SOMETHING ABOUT CYNDY AND HER LOSTNMISSING ORGANIZATION!I FIRST MET CYNDY ON PECE4MISSING.NING.NET WHERE I WAS A VOLUNTEER IN FEBUARY 2009 .I DIDN'T KNOW SHE HAD HER OWN SITE ALSO,ONLY THAT SHE WAS A VERY COMPASSIONTE,LOVING PERSON WHO SEEMED TO ALWAYS KNOW WHAT TO DO AND SAY! IT WAS ONLY LATER I FOUND OUT ABOUT HER SITE ANDTOOK A LOOK AT IT! WOW!! SO PROFESSINAL BUT SO COMPASSANTE AT THE SAME TIME! SHE WAS ALWAYS FOCSED ON THE MISSING PERSON AND THEIR FAMILY! SHE HAD HELPED SO MANY AND HAS CONTINUED TO DO SO!! IF YOU'RE IN NEED OF HELP OR ARE INTRESTED IN VOLUNTERING,LOSTNMISSNG IS YOUR PLACE TO GO!! THANK YOU,GOD BLESS YOU! LOVE AND LIGHT ALWAYS...johnny

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 28, 2013

more

June 28, 2013

I have had the pleasure of being at a few events run by lostandmissing. One of the many services they provide is to educate the general public ... One event took me from thinking that lost and missing people are drug addicts and run-aways ... To the truth and reality ... IT CAN HAPPEN TO ANYONE. I am sad that we need people doing the things that you do ... But I feel such relief knowing the service you provide for all of our lost and missing brothers and sisters. Keep it up, you are so much hope to so many families.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would give them more money

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 28, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 12, 2012

I got to know founder Cynthia Caron when my daughter, Jessie Foster went missing. This was in the early days of LostNMissing and for me to see how the organization has grown over the years, absolutely... more

June 28, 2013

When my daughter Jessie Foster went missing and I did not know where to turn for help, I found LostNMissing. Not only did they make banners to share on social networking sites to get her pictures out there, I got moral support as well. Just knowing they are there for us (the loved ones of the missing) makes this living nightmare a bit easier to get through.
THANK YOU TO EVERYONE AT LOST N MISSING.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I have no suggestions ... this organization is amazing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2012

I got to know founder Cynthia Caron when my daughter, Jessie Foster went missing. This was in the early days of LostNMissing and for me to see how the organization has grown over the years, absolutely amazes me. They do so much for so many victims and their families, including, but definitely not limited to, poster-banners, email alerts and support for the loved ones who do not know where to turn.

Photos

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2013

more


1 previous review
April 5, 2013

When my son keep running away, Cynthia was the voice of reason in getting him to come meet my husband. Cynthia was calm and caring with our son. I also learned about Lostnmissing when another young... more

June 28, 2013

I met Cyndy via her wonderful facebook postings to help a nationwide search for people who are missing. I had recognized the face of a teen's picture hanging on the wall in Wallmart. It turned out I had seen this young man at the courthouse and kept my eye open for him and thought I saw him at a Burger King. Lost and Missing helped this family who were desperately looking for their son. Following this, I friend her fb page and have been copying and posting all of the missing cases she tiresly post day after day, year after year in the hopes someone will no something to help. I never in a million years would think I needed to call upon Cynthia to help me when our son went missing for several days. Cynthia was instramentel in bringing him to safety. She was able to call our son and help the police ping his call. He was at high risk of harm to himself at that given time. She was able to speak with him and help him emotionally. She has continued to support me in difficult times and given me great advice. For this my husband and I will ever be greatful. I would without hesitation highly reacomend LostNMissing. Keep up the great work. I will continue to volunteer to do my part by repost all of the lost people all over the country...Proud to know Cynthia

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

When my son keep running away, Cynthia was the voice of reason in getting him to come meet my husband. Cynthia was calm and caring with our son. I also learned about Lostnmissing when another young man in Concord ran away. I am always reposted the posters Cynthia put out on facebook

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 24, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
May 24, 2013

As a volunteer with LNM I am proud to say I am a member of this organization. I've watched families of missing go from grieving to feeling hopeful and have seen them transformed from feeling helpless ... more

June 24, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Keep up the great work! Proud to be a part of the team that do all possible for the families of missing. Those who write references should only be those who either volunteer and have first hand knowledge of the work of the team or those families who have directly contacted your organization for assistance. By standers and internet sleuthing groups base their opinions from a distance and do not know first hand just how many families lives you've touched. It's also been rumored that another "competitor" has been fueling the negativity and it is clearly obvious they send the same people to go after families that you are already are working with. I find that in poor taste considering they too should have their work be for the missing person and not to bring fame upon themselves. That is what I've most admired from LNM. The work always comes first without bragging and huge media campaigns about the org. It is about the families and the missing people at LNM. Congrats on the 2013 Badge!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes needed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 24, 2013

As a volunteer with LNM I am proud to say I am a member of this organization. I've watched families of missing go from grieving to feeling hopeful and have seen them transformed from feeling helpless to gaining strength. All support members, through the guidance of Cynthia Caron, work nonstop and effortlessly for families grieving the loss of their missing. When they have nowhere to turn they find us and we are here to help them through all steps until their loved one is found, and after.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There is nothing that could be done better than the work of all at LostNMissing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 27, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have been on staff at LostNMissing and am proud of the work that transpires. Anyone seeking assistance for their missing loved one should always research actual families that have had the one on one experience with this organization. LostNMissing is one of the most professional organizations that I've worked for and I have worked for a few others to compare. The attention to the families needs, the outreach to media and the detailed and compassionate services provided is what enables them to be successful. I'm proud to be a member.
Jill L., Support Member at LostNMissing Inc

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 15, 2013
11 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
March 16, 2013

Cynthia Caron's "assistance" in the Jennifer Ramsaran case borders on the absurd. During the time that Jenn was missing, Ms. Caron suggested that she may have run off with hippies or be in some cult.... more

June 15, 2013
11 people found this review helpful

Lost N Missing has demonstrated distrust of a police investigation in which they were supposed to be "partnering" and have abused family members of a missing person so appallingly that the family had to publicly request that LnM remove themselves from the case.

And no, I'm not part of an
"orchestrated" anything. I am an independent thinker who forms my own opinions based on the evidence available to me, and acts on those opinions regardless of what others are doing. If LnM is so paranoid as to believe that people have to be recruited to express their horror at the appalling actions of this organization, they are in deep denial.

On LnM's website, they claim that they partner with law enforcement. I find this interesting, when presently, both the president of this organization and the treasurer/board member are publically questioning the integrity of the police investigation into the murder of Jennifer Ramsaran. They must have found it a bit embarrassing when Jennifer's husband Ganesh -- the very man that LnM spent many hours defending publically as having an "airtight alibi" and having nothing to do with Jennifer's missing status has now been arrested for her murder. And...I find it interesting that LnM feels that it is part of their "mission" to defend the "innocence" of GR -- both before Jennifer's body was found, and even now after his arrest...how is that "partnering" with law enforcement?? Are they so arrogant as to believe that they know more than the fine men and women who have spent five months carefully investigating this crime? Do they really doubt the work of the medical examiner which led to GR's arrest?

Quite frankly, if Lost N Missing does not trust law enforcement, I would suggest it would be difficult for them to partner with law enforcement. I would doubt that law enforcement would welcome such partnership.

Secondly, Lost N Missing gushes about the love and compassion and support they extend to the family of missing persons. In the case of Jennifer Ramsaran, they continue to "support" the man who has been indicted for her murder. But their "love and compassion" has fallen far short with regard to Jennifer's grieving mother and father, Jennifer's sister, and Jennifers cousins, aunt, and other extended family. To these members of Jennifer's family -- they have been crass and insensitive. From inappropriate pm's to Jennifer's mother, to deleting comments made by Jennifer's family on Facebook (comments as innocuous as "my sister would never leave on her own"), to threatening to sue the family if negative reviews here on Great Non-profits were not removed (isn't that blackmail??), Cynthia Caron even stated in a public blog that she felt no pity for Jennifer's family.

Even after Jennifer's mother and sister have publically and politely requested that Lost N Missing remove themselves from Jennifer's case, LNM persists in harrassing the family by posting diatribes on both the Jennifer Ramsaran Missing FB site as well as the Justice for Jennifer site. Currently, L&M has 4 staff members administrating that site, so they are still inserting themselves into Jennifer's case, and in so doing are continuing to create drama and prevent the family from moving on into healing and closure.

Interestingly, LnM feel they have the right to even invade the Justice for Jennifer site to post tirades against the efforts of this group, but find any (well-warranted) criticism of their own actions to be "cyber-harrassment."

Lost N Missing has caused much additional grief and unwanted drama to a family in the most horrific of situations. In my opinion, they ought not to have the opportunity to inflict this sort of pain on any other individuals.

ETA: Examples of distrust of the police investigation
1) Posted by Cynthia Caron, on 5/25 on Jennifer Ramsaran Missing Facebook site: " I'm also not fond of the fact that his arrest and charges brought forth is on circumstantial evidence. Any charges brought forth I would have hoped and wanted to be solid proof.”
(So...CC states it is "fact" that the arrest was only on circumstantial evidence? She believes that Chenango County LE have no "solid proof?" Hmmm....Sheriff Cutting stated that the arrest was based on the results of the Medical Examiner's autopsy; not sure how CC construes that to be "circumstantial evidence" and no "solid proof")

2) In an interview with News Channel 9, "Caron said she has a lot of questions about the investigation that led to Remy’s arrest." In FB comments, she has echoed this sentiment, hinting that she had "information" that doesn't "fit" with what the police are saying.

3) Police and the DA have stated that the investigative work of computer experts have revealed that GR's alibi of being home working on the computer is false. Cynthia Caron takes direct issue with the IT experts who investigated the case. She posted on 5/25 on the JRM facebook site: "he is an IT person. An IT person is not going to be so stupid as to say they were on a computer working as an alibi if they were not. "

4) Cynthia Caron, on 6/15, posted this on the Jennifer Ramsaran Missing FB page : “He wants nothing more than to find the killer(s) of Jennifer and to prove he is innocent. He put a lot of faith in the Chenango Sheriff to find the killer and now realizes that he should not have put so much faith in the system and should have hired his own top notch PI's once Jennifer's body was found.”

5) Cynthia Caron posted: “In Jen's case there was never any domestic issues in the home, no violence” (JRM 5/25)
Is this woman truly so arrogant as to state with total confidence that a woman she NEVER MET was NEVER the victim of abuse or violence from her husband??? Surely this is something to be proven (or not) at trial based on the testimony of those who KNEW Jennifer -- her family, employer, true friends, pastor, etc.

6) Karen Krapps -- a board member and treasurer of LnM posted numerous long diatribes -- about 7 or 8, maybe more, all in a row, on the Justice for Jennifer FB site (and this is what I mean by invading the site -- polite people make a short statement on FB, and go about their business, and maybe return a day or so later to clarify or respond or whatever. They don't attempt to take over the site. ) The gist of KK's statements was that "adultery doesn't equal murder" (well, sorry KK, but there's a heck of a whole lot more evidence than the fact that GR commited adultery), and she tells us that we should not even consider GR's adultery as being a potential motive for his wife's murder, and "I do not believe for one minute that for the petty amount of money he would have lost in a divorce, he would have risked going to prison for the rest of his life just to keep from losing it." She implies false arrest -- mentions that there have been other cases of people who have been arrested for murder but then found innocent by forensic evidence (newsflash KK -- the arrest was BASED on forensic evidence from the autopsy). KK has made it clear that she believes GR is being "railroaded and not treated fairly or justly" by law enforcement.

7) Cynthia Caron mirrors the sentiments of Karen K with her insinuations of false arrest: "I can only say that I've already seen and known of those charged with murder that were found innocent and later the real killer(s) arrested. .. There is so much that just doesn't fit....contrary to rumors and gossip. " (posted on JRM Facebook, 5/24)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

At one time I thought that the president simply needed to take a break and get away for awhile. But I now realize that this organization is permanently trainwrecked. I would never recommend this organization to any family of a missing loved one.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 16, 2013
30 people found this review helpful

Cynthia Caron's "assistance" in the Jennifer Ramsaran case borders on the absurd. During the time that Jenn was missing, Ms. Caron suggested that she may have run off with hippies or be in some cult. She always veered away from any suggestion that Jenn may have met with foul play (which is indeed what did happen); rather she helped promote the theory (suggested by Jenn's husband, and Jenn's husband's mistress) that Jenn had run off. She gave an extensive list that was supposed to help us find and identify Jenn (which included the condiments she liked, and portrayed Jenn as a "dreamer" who failed to fit in with her family. She failed to mention that Jenn was a Sunday School teacher, a Girl Scout Troop Leader, a knitting teacher, etc.-- in other words, a type of person that is the bedrock of any community - not one to suddenly abandon the 3 children who were her life). Her list of "helpful information" contained many inconsistencies and incorrect info (such as Jenn didn't run -- when Jenn had recently completed a half-marathon with a very respectable score), but the main problem with the "list" is that it contained many items that were absurdly non-material, and nothing that was particularly helpful in understanding the type of person that Jenn was, and where she might be. She has supported the most likely suspect in Jenn's death, and gullibly accepted everything he has told her, while at the same time publically attacking Jenn's family, and even suing a local journalist and the private investigator hired by Jenn's family. When local volunteers tried to organized a search, Cynthia strongly discouraged it. Her Facebook page for Jenn is....well...let's just say she deletes any postings made from someone with serious questions or helpful comments that could have led to finding Jenn earlier, and that could help with bringing justice to her now.

There is only one helpful thing that Cynthia did that I am aware of -- she did encourage the husband (finally, after Jenn was missing 2 months) to do a series of interviews with local press. This did help raise awareness (and probably led to a local person finally discovering Jenn's body). The interviews were also helpful to many in helping us realize that Jenn most likely did NOT run off, but was the victim of foul play.

Ms. Caron still insists that we "can't know" that Jennifer met with foul play. And, I suppose it may be correct that she can't make such a public statement without verification from law enforcement (and the final reports are not yet in). But it is quite obvious that Jenn met with foul play of some sort -- her body was found, nude, on the side of the road, miles from her home, and miles from where her van was found in a parking lot in Norwich. Her clothes have not been found. So...if Jenn did NOT meet with foul play, then she must have parked her van in Norwich, stripped naked, and walked through the rain about 12 miles down State Road 23 and then to Center Road, where she then rolled herself off an embankment and died. Now...that really stretches the imagination.

And yes, the fact that Jenn was a Sunday School teacher, a knitting teacher, and a Girl Scout Troop leader tell us a whole lot more about Jenn than what condiments she likes on her hamburger. Jenn's life revolved around her kids and around community activities. The type of activities she was involved in portray a woman of faith, a woman committed to her family, a woman highly unlikely to run off.

And...I can't help but wonder...where did Ms. Caron get the information that Jenn had "changed a lot" in the last 6 months of her life? Presumably from Jenn's husband and the husband's mistress. Was this verified by Jenn's pastor? By close freinds that were NOT sleeping with her husband? By her parents? By her sister or cousins?

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist with internet research, primarily with media relations. Volunteer