Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
89 Reviews
1234.87645
Write A Review
October 15, 2014

more

October 15, 2014

I adopted my baby, Maddie, who's my doll baby, about 9/25. Below is the information I sent to LDCRF regarding Maddie's health costs in the first month after I adopted her. Of course, LDCRF won't reimburse me for the extra costs.

We adopted a dog from a different organization last year.
He was in perfect health, even came with a microchip and dog food. We were so pleased with our doggie, we paid the adoption fee and gave them a donation.

It's interesting that my complaint is very similar to the other 1-star rating on 2/14. Anyone considering adopting from LDCRF, be warned and be sure you can afford hundreds of dollars in unexpected vet bills if needed, along with your new baby. I certainly wasn't expecting an additional $300 in the first month.
====================================================================================

Dear LDCRF,

I took Maddie to Banfield on 9/9. At that time they found a severe ear infection in one ear and inflammation in the other ear.

They cleaned it out. Obviously, it had not been cleaned out for a long time. Gave me ear wash and a medication and charged $126.

On Friday, 9/19, I had her into the vet again, this time Dominion Animal Hospital. This time she was diagnosed with worms, for a total cost of $175.

I agree with your statement that you can’t anticipate all of a dogs ailments, however, these were two easily found, diagnosed and treated ailments, which have cost me an additional $300+.

Is there anything the two of us can do about this significant extra cost for Addie?

Thanks,
Brenda


August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

I just adopted my third dog from this organization. I also have a cat that came from LDCRF. All of the animals that I have adopted have been wonderful, and the organization does a good job of trying to help people find the right animal for their situation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It would always be good to have more adoption event locations.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 13, 2014

more

July 13, 2014

We love our new kitties adopted about a month ago through the Lost Dog and Cat Rescue Foundation. Our kitties, a mother/daughter pair, were not without some complications but their foster mom was more than honest with us about what to expect from this pair. The kitten had lost a back foot soon after birth but just as the foster said, it doesn't slow her down in the slightest! And the mother kitty has a drippy eye that simply needs to be wiped every few days. And our vet confirmed, she has a kitty virus in that eye that doesn't effect her in any other way and is not at all contagious to humans. Our vet also confirmed their ages and good health. I love that not one but 3 people from the foundation have contacted us to be sure that we are happy and that our new family members are happy. I also loved their thorough interview process and complete health records on the cats. I truly feel believe that our kitties were loved and are still cared for by the people working for this foundation today.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Maybe make a phone call in addition to emails to check in.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 15, 2014

more

February 15, 2014

Adopted a dog from Lost Dog and Cat Rescue this past fall. She came from a local shelter and had significant medical needs. In the care of Lost dog Rescue she had surgery on both knees, as well as treatment for bad skin infections. She received well over 6000.00 of vet care. When I took her to the vet after adoption, my personal vet was amazed at the care she had received from Lost Dog and the quality/name of the surgeon that performed her knee surgeries. She is an amazing dog, and makes us laugh every day. I know that if she had not been pulled by Lost Dog and Cat Rescue there is little chance that she would be alive today. We are so grateful for Lost Dog Rescue who puts the animals first and gives them all the care they need to be great family pets.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 14, 2014

more

February 14, 2014

Adopted an amazing dog, only to find that he had numerous parasite infections that were over looked by the staff. This dog has had explosive, blood diarrhea since we got him, yet they never even did a fecal test on him.
Their quality standards have fallen just to get more dogs in and out,
but this put my dogs health at risk, as well as any dog this dog interacted with on the ranch. We paid over $300 to adopt a dog, and then another $250 for the parasite testing and treatment which I feel should have been covered or addressed in the original interview.
EDIT in response to the comment: just because you used the "most expensive (there is no data supporting that) medicine", does not make it the best, that medicine does nothing for giardia, one of the parasites he has. 2. please remove my pets name from this post, I never used it and would appreciate if you refrained as well. 3. the vet you took him to specifically told me he needed a fecal, so without having seen him again, she knew he needed one already.... you guys are just cheap and its hurting the animals. 4. most importantly, if you are so concerned about your animals, what steps have you taking to rid the ranch of the giardia and hookworms my dog has?

Its honestly ridiculous that I have to deal with the same blanket, non effective responses to my legitimate concerns. I would NEVER trust these people with an animal again after the blatant disregard for BOTH of my pets' health.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Stop focusing on getting the animals in and out and give them the actual medical and social care they need.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A little

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Somewhat badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 4, 2014

more

February 4, 2014

We had a wonderful experience adopting our puppy from LDCRF. The interview process was thoughtful for both the dog and us to make sure we were the right furever home. Having the foster mom at the adoption event was a huge help to know what food he was eating, his habits, etc. The overall adoption event was very smooth for the amount of animals they had and the number of potential adopters. For the limited space Petsmart is able to offer, LDCRF does a great job. And Petsmart does a great job of having associates on hand to help you find the products you need to help your new animal settle in at home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None. A wonderful experience.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 8, 2013

more

November 8, 2013

We adopted our dog this summer from Lost Dog and Cat Rescue. We are very pleased with the volunteers and the operation of the foundation. The people were very helpful and answered all questions I had. One of the things that impressed me was, that they will take back any dog adopted from them no matter what.

Thank you LDCRF

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 25, 2013

more

April 25, 2013

Our family adopted our wonderful Sadie back in April of last year. We loved the people that handled our interview and went over all the paperwork. When we had questions, they were honest and told us the truth.They really care about the right match between dog and person. I feel the volunteers are wonderful and helpful. I would love to help volunteer with them. Sadie is healthy and a wonderful dog.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 24, 2013

more

April 24, 2013

Such a fabulous organization! We adopted both our dogs from Lost Dog and Cat and had a fantastic experience both times. I'd love to adopt from them again, but certain members of the family feel two dogs is enough. Perhaps a cat...

We volunteered with Lost Dog and Cat as well and their
volunteer program is well-run. Their volunteers are a dedicated bunch and clearly love all the animals that come through the organization.

Every animal that comes through Lost Dog and Cat is well cared for, well loved and almost always finds a wonderful home. Keep up the good work!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 29, 2012

more

September 29, 2012

What an outstanding group of people that work and volunteer with Lost Dog Rescue. They take such good care of the animals, to nurture and calm and rehabilitate each one. They also help each family they meet to find the perfect match for them. We were so fortunate to find a new dog. The joy and fun the dog has brought to our lives is enormous! The kindness and care the volunteers showed the dogs and to each family was heart warming. We visited with each pet we were interested in (from the website) and finally picked a dog we felt was right for our family. It was an easy and through process to adopt the dog and we were impressed with the educated and caring people of Lost Dog Rescue!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteer as a dog handler at an adoption event! We can only bring as many dogs as we have handlers, and the more dogs we can bring, the more can find a home! Volunteer