Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
88 Reviews
1234.920455
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
August 9, 2014

more

August 9, 2014

This rescue group is amazing. They work very hard to save animals from all over, including Puerto Rico! Then they work diligently to place them in wonderful homes. They have wonderful volunteers and fosters because good people are drawn to them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 9, 2014

more


5 previous reviews - show all
November 7, 2013

On my 7th year as foster & event dog handler. I continue to enjoy working with the other volunteers and learning more about the rescue process and of course the loving pups. more

August 9, 2014

There is not a better way to spend a weekend afternoon than volunteering with Lost Dog Rescue. This group is truely dedicated to helping dogs and cats that otherwise would not have a chance.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to raise more funds, so, more animals can be saved

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 7, 2013

On my 7th year as foster & event dog handler. I continue to enjoy working with the other volunteers and learning more about the rescue process and of course the loving pups.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 29, 2012

Lost Dog and Cat Foundation has placed over 17,000 dogs and cats in forever homes since their inception Every weekend is full of volunteers working 10 adoption events trying to place the right animal with the right family for success.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Working with potential adopters to choose a dog that is the right fit for their lifestyle and family. Taking care of dogs by fostering until they find their forever home. Adopting my sweet Basset hound 5 years ago.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find ways to generate more donations to enable this organization to save more animals from high kill shelters.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

none. My experience has been super.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have learned a lot about dogs and people. Made many friends.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Needed.

January 23, 2012

I am a foster, handler and overall lover of the organization. The genuine caring and support this group has for the welfare of animals is outstanding.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The positive feedback from adopters and volunteers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

more money to save more animals, more foster homes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

none: only positive experiences

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I've made friends, and our adopters renew my fellow man.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Wonderful.

August 9, 2011

Lost Dog and Cat Foundation has placed over 17,000 dogs and cats in forever homes since their inception 10years ago. Every weekend is full of volunteers working many adoption events trying to put the right animal with the right family for success. It is rewarding to feel the love that happens when a family takes one of our wonderful animals home. This is the positive organization and I am proud to do my little part.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing the smiling faces of the family when they fall in love with one of our animals and hearing the success stories the adopters report after adoptions.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

more foster families.

July 20, 2010

I have been volunteering with Lost Dog and Cat Rescue Foundation for many years. First as a handler at adoption events and then started fostering dogs as well. My experience with LDCRF is nothing but positive. The rescue is run very professionally. The volunteers and board members truly care for the welfare of animals. From saving hounds burned in a fire to working with the Humane Society taking in animals from bad situation and getting them ready for their own forever homes, I cannot give them enough praise.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The number of animals who find forever homes. Over 12000 since inception. Also, the success stories, both in person and the letters posted from adopters on how the animals have improved their lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it..I know one organization cannot save all the animals being killed in shelters every year, but Lost Dog and Cat Rescue is a role model that should be followed across the country.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

Seeing animals go to wonderful forever homes

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Caring and professional.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Save more animals from being killed in overcrowded animal shelters

Ways to make it better...

I had more time to spend working with this group.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

having enough foster homes

One thing I'd also say is that...

I am proud to say I volunteer with Lost Dog and Cat Rescue

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

I found this organization through Club Red another volunteer group. I have volunteered in several other shelters and have found this one to be the best group. They are a no-kill shelter which is great and they do rescue dogs from various other shelters that may euthanize these dogs.
I
started volunteering with them a little over a year ago. Their process to volunteer at events is very easy and they are extremely responsive. There are definitely a lot of volunteers so you may not be able to volunteer right away, which just shows how popular they are.
Since I had a really good experience volunteering, I started fostering. A lot of the fosters are very experienced with dogs and have done wonders for some of the dogs that may need to open up or get relaxed. I must say the fosters and staff have been super helpful for me and they were very understanding when I was not able to keep the first foster.
They do make sure to tell us volunteers and fosters to be very upfront about the dog's behavior so that way a potential adopter would be aware of any issues and that the adopter takes a dog home best suited for him/her.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

My husband and I have volunteer ed for lost dog since 2006. We have watched the organization grow from all the volunteer s help and time. We have seen dogs that were in terrible shape loved back to health and then adopted by great families. There are so many success stories . There is always opportunities to help and the voluteers are so appreciated. Great organizations with the sole purpose of helping dogs and cats get great homes.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 5, 2014

more

June 5, 2014

I have volunteered with Lost Dog, and in January adopted my wonderful dog, Lacey , from this super organization. They are a wonderful group, giving the best care and attention to animals in need of loving homes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 7, 2013

more

November 7, 2013

I am a foster mom with LCDRF now for close to 3 years. I CHOSE Lost Dog to become a foster with over a lot of other rescues and agencies after doing extensive work. Because LCDRF takes exceptional care of its dogs/cats. It committed to finding the right match between human and companion; no matter how long. LCDRF is a top notch rescue, I am proud/honored to be associated with. And thoroughly enjoy every moment I spend volunteering and fostering pups!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 3, 2013

more

June 3, 2013

This is a top notch organization. They run handfuls of adoption events in the DC area, and all are organized very well. If a family is interested in a pet from the website, they coordinate and make sure that pet will be at the location the family requests to view the pet. The animals are very well cared for, and many pets available for adoption also have the pleasure of staying in a foster home (where they are spoiled and loved!) until they find their forever home. I recommend this organization to anyone looking for a furry companion and I also recommend it for anyone looking to volunteer somewhere.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 24, 2013

more

April 24, 2013

I really enjoy working with LDCRF. I volunteer at adoption events, I help as a caretaker in one of the PetSmart adoption centers where we have cats in residence, I foster cats and kittens and get great advice and support in all those endeavors. I also know that I'm genuinely helping save the lives of animals by doing it. This group is happy to have volunteers who have a lot of time to give, or just a little... weekly or monthly or less frequently... what you can give, they will find a way to make the contribution meaningful.

I really like that the relationship between LDCRF and animals and adopters doesn't end when pets and people walk out the door. Rescuing these dogs and cats is important enough that the rescue remains a safety net even once the adoption is complete.

I've adopted two (of my five) cats, Petals & Zuzu, from LDCRF and my parents adopted their dog, Nate. I've introduced my brother, my partner, two friends and a neighbor and her daughter to volunteer opportunities that continue today.



More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 24, 2013

more

April 24, 2013

This organization makes an amazing effort to connnect the right animals with the right adopters. The volunteers have a wonderful knowledge of dog and cat behavior,which they're happy to share. A great group!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 24, 2013

more

April 24, 2013

Lost dog is an amazing non profit that helps strays animals who have been abused or neglected find forever loving homes. It lights up my life when I help a pet a home or even give it some attention. These people go far and beyond driving over 4 hours to our paid veterinarian hospital as much as three times a week, completely voluntary! We give love and attention to the dogs who know no love. These pets fill our lives with joy and give us so much, so why not give them the love they deserve. Lost dog can only save lives through donations and volunteer work. Not only do they save these pets lives but also they help enrich the new forever homes family's lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteer as a dog handler at an adoption event! We can only bring as many dogs as we have handlers, and the more dogs we can bring, the more can find a home! Volunteer