Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
89 Reviews
1234.87645
Write A Review
February 14, 2014

more

February 14, 2014

Adopted an amazing dog, only to find that he had numerous parasite infections that were over looked by the staff. This dog has had explosive, blood diarrhea since we got him, yet they never even did a fecal test on him.
Their quality standards have fallen just to get more dogs in and out,
but this put my dogs health at risk, as well as any dog this dog interacted with on the ranch. We paid over $300 to adopt a dog, and then another $250 for the parasite testing and treatment which I feel should have been covered or addressed in the original interview.
EDIT in response to the comment: just because you used the "most expensive (there is no data supporting that) medicine", does not make it the best, that medicine does nothing for giardia, one of the parasites he has. 2. please remove my pets name from this post, I never used it and would appreciate if you refrained as well. 3. the vet you took him to specifically told me he needed a fecal, so without having seen him again, she knew he needed one already.... you guys are just cheap and its hurting the animals. 4. most importantly, if you are so concerned about your animals, what steps have you taking to rid the ranch of the giardia and hookworms my dog has?

Its honestly ridiculous that I have to deal with the same blanket, non effective responses to my legitimate concerns. I would NEVER trust these people with an animal again after the blatant disregard for BOTH of my pets' health.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Stop focusing on getting the animals in and out and give them the actual medical and social care they need.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A little

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Somewhat badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 4, 2014

more

February 4, 2014

We had a wonderful experience adopting our puppy from LDCRF. The interview process was thoughtful for both the dog and us to make sure we were the right furever home. Having the foster mom at the adoption event was a huge help to know what food he was eating, his habits, etc. The overall adoption event was very smooth for the amount of animals they had and the number of potential adopters. For the limited space Petsmart is able to offer, LDCRF does a great job. And Petsmart does a great job of having associates on hand to help you find the products you need to help your new animal settle in at home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None. A wonderful experience.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 8, 2013

more

November 8, 2013

We adopted our dog this summer from Lost Dog and Cat Rescue. We are very pleased with the volunteers and the operation of the foundation. The people were very helpful and answered all questions I had. One of the things that impressed me was, that they will take back any dog adopted from them no matter what.

Thank you LDCRF

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 7, 2013

more

November 7, 2013

I am a foster mom with LCDRF now for close to 3 years. I CHOSE Lost Dog to become a foster with over a lot of other rescues and agencies after doing extensive work. Because LCDRF takes exceptional care of its dogs/cats. It committed to finding the right match between human and companion; no matter how long. LCDRF is a top notch rescue, I am proud/honored to be associated with. And thoroughly enjoy every moment I spend volunteering and fostering pups!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 3, 2013

more

June 3, 2013

This is a top notch organization. They run handfuls of adoption events in the DC area, and all are organized very well. If a family is interested in a pet from the website, they coordinate and make sure that pet will be at the location the family requests to view the pet. The animals are very well cared for, and many pets available for adoption also have the pleasure of staying in a foster home (where they are spoiled and loved!) until they find their forever home. I recommend this organization to anyone looking for a furry companion and I also recommend it for anyone looking to volunteer somewhere.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 25, 2013

more

April 25, 2013

Our family adopted our wonderful Sadie back in April of last year. We loved the people that handled our interview and went over all the paperwork. When we had questions, they were honest and told us the truth.They really care about the right match between dog and person. I feel the volunteers are wonderful and helpful. I would love to help volunteer with them. Sadie is healthy and a wonderful dog.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 24, 2013

more

April 24, 2013

I really enjoy working with LDCRF. I volunteer at adoption events, I help as a caretaker in one of the PetSmart adoption centers where we have cats in residence, I foster cats and kittens and get great advice and support in all those endeavors. I also know that I'm genuinely helping save the lives of animals by doing it. This group is happy to have volunteers who have a lot of time to give, or just a little... weekly or monthly or less frequently... what you can give, they will find a way to make the contribution meaningful.

I really like that the relationship between LDCRF and animals and adopters doesn't end when pets and people walk out the door. Rescuing these dogs and cats is important enough that the rescue remains a safety net even once the adoption is complete.

I've adopted two (of my five) cats, Petals & Zuzu, from LDCRF and my parents adopted their dog, Nate. I've introduced my brother, my partner, two friends and a neighbor and her daughter to volunteer opportunities that continue today.



More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 24, 2013

more

April 24, 2013

This organization makes an amazing effort to connnect the right animals with the right adopters. The volunteers have a wonderful knowledge of dog and cat behavior,which they're happy to share. A great group!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 24, 2013

more

April 24, 2013

Lost dog is an amazing non profit that helps strays animals who have been abused or neglected find forever loving homes. It lights up my life when I help a pet a home or even give it some attention. These people go far and beyond driving over 4 hours to our paid veterinarian hospital as much as three times a week, completely voluntary! We give love and attention to the dogs who know no love. These pets fill our lives with joy and give us so much, so why not give them the love they deserve. Lost dog can only save lives through donations and volunteer work. Not only do they save these pets lives but also they help enrich the new forever homes family's lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 24, 2013

more

April 24, 2013

This organization is wonderful, with amazing people who volunteer, foster, and do the grunt work. I'm always happy to praise Lost Dog, and sing their praises far and wide! I adopted Lex from LDCRF in 2007, and I've been volunteering since 2011.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteer as a dog handler at an adoption event! We can only bring as many dogs as we have handlers, and the more dogs we can bring, the more can find a home! Volunteer