Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
89 Reviews
1234.87645
Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review
October 15, 2014

more

October 15, 2014

I adopted my baby, Maddie, who's my doll baby, about 9/25. Below is the information I sent to LDCRF regarding Maddie's health costs in the first month after I adopted her. Of course, LDCRF won't reimburse me for the extra costs.

We adopted a dog from a different organization last year.
He was in perfect health, even came with a microchip and dog food. We were so pleased with our doggie, we paid the adoption fee and gave them a donation.

It's interesting that my complaint is very similar to the other 1-star rating on 2/14. Anyone considering adopting from LDCRF, be warned and be sure you can afford hundreds of dollars in unexpected vet bills if needed, along with your new baby. I certainly wasn't expecting an additional $300 in the first month.
====================================================================================

Dear LDCRF,

I took Maddie to Banfield on 9/9. At that time they found a severe ear infection in one ear and inflammation in the other ear.

They cleaned it out. Obviously, it had not been cleaned out for a long time. Gave me ear wash and a medication and charged $126.

On Friday, 9/19, I had her into the vet again, this time Dominion Animal Hospital. This time she was diagnosed with worms, for a total cost of $175.

I agree with your statement that you can’t anticipate all of a dogs ailments, however, these were two easily found, diagnosed and treated ailments, which have cost me an additional $300+.

Is there anything the two of us can do about this significant extra cost for Addie?

Thanks,
Brenda


August 9, 2014

more

August 9, 2014

This rescue group is amazing. They work very hard to save animals from all over, including Puerto Rico! Then they work diligently to place them in wonderful homes. They have wonderful volunteers and fosters because good people are drawn to them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 9, 2014

more


5 previous reviews - show all
November 7, 2013

On my 7th year as foster & event dog handler. I continue to enjoy working with the other volunteers and learning more about the rescue process and of course the loving pups. more

August 9, 2014

There is not a better way to spend a weekend afternoon than volunteering with Lost Dog Rescue. This group is truely dedicated to helping dogs and cats that otherwise would not have a chance.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to raise more funds, so, more animals can be saved

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 7, 2013

On my 7th year as foster & event dog handler. I continue to enjoy working with the other volunteers and learning more about the rescue process and of course the loving pups.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 29, 2012

Lost Dog and Cat Foundation has placed over 17,000 dogs and cats in forever homes since their inception Every weekend is full of volunteers working 10 adoption events trying to place the right animal with the right family for success.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Working with potential adopters to choose a dog that is the right fit for their lifestyle and family. Taking care of dogs by fostering until they find their forever home. Adopting my sweet Basset hound 5 years ago.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find ways to generate more donations to enable this organization to save more animals from high kill shelters.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

none. My experience has been super.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have learned a lot about dogs and people. Made many friends.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Needed.

January 23, 2012

I am a foster, handler and overall lover of the organization. The genuine caring and support this group has for the welfare of animals is outstanding.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The positive feedback from adopters and volunteers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

more money to save more animals, more foster homes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

none: only positive experiences

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I've made friends, and our adopters renew my fellow man.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Wonderful.

August 9, 2011

Lost Dog and Cat Foundation has placed over 17,000 dogs and cats in forever homes since their inception 10years ago. Every weekend is full of volunteers working many adoption events trying to put the right animal with the right family for success. It is rewarding to feel the love that happens when a family takes one of our wonderful animals home. This is the positive organization and I am proud to do my little part.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing the smiling faces of the family when they fall in love with one of our animals and hearing the success stories the adopters report after adoptions.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

more foster families.

July 20, 2010

I have been volunteering with Lost Dog and Cat Rescue Foundation for many years. First as a handler at adoption events and then started fostering dogs as well. My experience with LDCRF is nothing but positive. The rescue is run very professionally. The volunteers and board members truly care for the welfare of animals. From saving hounds burned in a fire to working with the Humane Society taking in animals from bad situation and getting them ready for their own forever homes, I cannot give them enough praise.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The number of animals who find forever homes. Over 12000 since inception. Also, the success stories, both in person and the letters posted from adopters on how the animals have improved their lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it..I know one organization cannot save all the animals being killed in shelters every year, but Lost Dog and Cat Rescue is a role model that should be followed across the country.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

Seeing animals go to wonderful forever homes

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Caring and professional.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Save more animals from being killed in overcrowded animal shelters

Ways to make it better...

I had more time to spend working with this group.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

having enough foster homes

One thing I'd also say is that...

I am proud to say I volunteer with Lost Dog and Cat Rescue

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

I found this organization through Club Red another volunteer group. I have volunteered in several other shelters and have found this one to be the best group. They are a no-kill shelter which is great and they do rescue dogs from various other shelters that may euthanize these dogs.
I
started volunteering with them a little over a year ago. Their process to volunteer at events is very easy and they are extremely responsive. There are definitely a lot of volunteers so you may not be able to volunteer right away, which just shows how popular they are.
Since I had a really good experience volunteering, I started fostering. A lot of the fosters are very experienced with dogs and have done wonders for some of the dogs that may need to open up or get relaxed. I must say the fosters and staff have been super helpful for me and they were very understanding when I was not able to keep the first foster.
They do make sure to tell us volunteers and fosters to be very upfront about the dog's behavior so that way a potential adopter would be aware of any issues and that the adopter takes a dog home best suited for him/her.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

My husband and I have volunteer ed for lost dog since 2006. We have watched the organization grow from all the volunteer s help and time. We have seen dogs that were in terrible shape loved back to health and then adopted by great families. There are so many success stories . There is always opportunities to help and the voluteers are so appreciated. Great organizations with the sole purpose of helping dogs and cats get great homes.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

Lost Dog is my choice for any charity donation. You can visably see where the money is spent every weekend when you see multiple dogs and cats adopted at Petsmart and Petco. I also volunteer and foster. I have adopted 2 cats and 1 dog from them. They are honest and forthright with information about the animals. Sometimes they just don't know all about the animal but rest assure the animal always has a home with LDCRF.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

I just adopted my third dog from this organization. I also have a cat that came from LDCRF. All of the animals that I have adopted have been wonderful, and the organization does a good job of trying to help people find the right animal for their situation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It would always be good to have more adoption event locations.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 13, 2014

more

July 13, 2014

We love our new kitties adopted about a month ago through the Lost Dog and Cat Rescue Foundation. Our kitties, a mother/daughter pair, were not without some complications but their foster mom was more than honest with us about what to expect from this pair. The kitten had lost a back foot soon after birth but just as the foster said, it doesn't slow her down in the slightest! And the mother kitty has a drippy eye that simply needs to be wiped every few days. And our vet confirmed, she has a kitty virus in that eye that doesn't effect her in any other way and is not at all contagious to humans. Our vet also confirmed their ages and good health. I love that not one but 3 people from the foundation have contacted us to be sure that we are happy and that our new family members are happy. I also loved their thorough interview process and complete health records on the cats. I truly feel believe that our kitties were loved and are still cared for by the people working for this foundation today.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Maybe make a phone call in addition to emails to check in.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 5, 2014

more

June 5, 2014

I have volunteered with Lost Dog, and in January adopted my wonderful dog, Lacey , from this super organization. They are a wonderful group, giving the best care and attention to animals in need of loving homes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 15, 2014

more

February 15, 2014

Adopted a dog from Lost Dog and Cat Rescue this past fall. She came from a local shelter and had significant medical needs. In the care of Lost dog Rescue she had surgery on both knees, as well as treatment for bad skin infections. She received well over 6000.00 of vet care. When I took her to the vet after adoption, my personal vet was amazed at the care she had received from Lost Dog and the quality/name of the surgeon that performed her knee surgeries. She is an amazing dog, and makes us laugh every day. I know that if she had not been pulled by Lost Dog and Cat Rescue there is little chance that she would be alive today. We are so grateful for Lost Dog Rescue who puts the animals first and gives them all the care they need to be great family pets.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteer as a dog handler at an adoption event! We can only bring as many dogs as we have handlers, and the more dogs we can bring, the more can find a home! Volunteer