Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
1234.18755
Previous | Next
Write A Review
May 2, 2014

more

May 2, 2014

I have learned everything about horses from Lynette and the instructors at Lost Creek Ranch. Not only have I learned to ride but I have learned to take care of horses, feed and I help out with chores too. This year I am on the show team and I am proud to be riding and showing a rescue horse!

Camp is the best week of my year and my favorite part is watching horse movies on the projector in the bunkhouse when we go to bed. I also like that I have learned western and english riding and that everyone is really nice no matter what kind of riding you want to do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 2, 2014

more

May 2, 2014

All I have heard about is Lost Creek Ranch since sending my daughter to Camp Confidence! She still talks about "her horse" and the other horses. One of the most important aspects of this camp versus others we have attended was the amount of riding and horse time the girls get- they have lessons two times a day and in between learn to groom and get to help out with the rescue horses.

I loved that the girls were put on chore teams and helped feed and care for the horses every day. Again this is unique to this camp and it instills a work ethic in the girls- my daughter was proud to be part of the team and felt like her chores were really important. And her riding improved so much in just one week of camp! She cantered in the camp show and her smile was huge. She is already planning her return and making sure her new camp friend will be in the same week.

She also loved her camp counselors who were collage girls and now my daughter wants to go to collage and study horses just like them!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The ratings above one star here are unexplainable. This should not be a place that is allowed to serve kids. Surely there is a review board that would close this place down. The kids slept in a shack for a week, with no electricity. No running water or indoor bathroom at all. They showered once at a local pool 15 minutes away. They served instant Mac and chees for dinner more than once. This was a horrible experience and one I feel guilty for sending my kids to.
January 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I went there over the summer and LOVED it sure it's not the most extra agent one but the teachers, volunteers, and horses make up for it. I m going back again next year!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more gov funding

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Simply the best horse camp experience hands down! Campers are assigned their own horse for a week and learn everything from haltering, grooming, saddling, safe handling on the ground to the basics of riding. Campers ride twice a day, help feed and care for the horses, work in "chore teams" learning everything it takes to care for horses. Councelors are experienced horse professionals- many of them students majoring in pre vet and equine studies at the University of WI River Falls which is inspiring to the young campers. Another favorite is having the farrier (horse hoof care specialist) doing a shoeing demo for the girls- they learn so much!

Riding lessons 2x/day (indoor and outdoor arenas), an awesome selection of horses for all levels and abilities, hot afternoons spent at the local pool, evenings around the campfire and watching horse movies projected lifesize on the arena walls are just a few camp favorites!

Lynette Weldon has been running Camp Confidnce for over 12 years and loves working one on one with the campers building their confidence and fostering a lifelong love of horses. Her staff are professionally trained, comitted to the best care of the campers and horses and above all enthusiastic about sharing their knowledge and passion for all things horse.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Love for them to be able to expand and offer more camps and programs

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 13, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 13, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Never had I been more disappointed in a camp than I was in this one. The camp was run-down and filthy, the water main broke toward the end of the 5-day camp and there was no running water for 1 1/2 days. The one "biffie" was filled to the brim and was DISGUSTING - most likely a complete health hazard - not to mention the fact of no running water. The area set-aside for the kids to ride the horses was so dusty, my husband couldn't even take pictures at the end for fear of ruining his camera! Haven't they hard of spraying at least SOME water down on the dusty ground to minimize the dust when horses stomp on it??

Even though "Camp Confidence" touts itself as the kind of camp that builds confidence and self-esteem, it did nothing of the kind for my daughter. If my daughter approached Lynnette with the fact that she wasn't sure how to do something - Lynnette (and the other snotty girls) made fun of her, told her she should know how to do that, and didn't help her or teach her at all. So much for a teaching camp!

Even though the counselors touted that they watch movies in the bunkhouse every night (keep in mind the "bunkhouse" is a thrown-up "shed" that barely houses 6 bunk beds - no running fans - no open windows) - they watched "Saddle Club" one night out of the 4 nights. The main house on the property might as well be a crack house, for the sight of it. Completely run-down and not taken care of at all.

The campers sat on their iPhones during all the sessions - and Lynnette didn't do anything to stop them. The campers were encouraged (or at least, not discouraged by Lynette and the other counselor) to mock, tease, and act entirely like snotty, bratty children toward the other "not as financially able" campers. "You don't ride every day???" "You don't have your own horse???" Blah, blah, blah. They even mocked my child for actually wanting to spend time with her horse!!! What child wouldn't want to spend time with a horse - they are at A HORSE CAMP!!!!

Give me a break. I have no problem with the attitude of Lynnette and her counselors (and yearly campers) toward new-comers - BUT, to tout this camp as "Camp Confidence?" Give me a break!

Lynnette's own daughter has Down's Syndrome and was lost for hours playing "hide and seek." Not only was Lynnette not worried and not looking for her daughter, she came across (to my daughter) as completely unconcerned and uncaring. Luckily, she was eventually found!

The campers didn't do one single trail ride the entire week - which was very disappointing to my daughter - especially since it is touted, as well, in the literature.

This was certainly NOT a $750 5-day camp week.

The facilities are severely lacking, the teaching and training is demeaning to say the least.

The only good thing are the horses. The half shire/half quarter horse my daughter had was beautiful and outstanding. And well cared for.

I only wish Lynnette actually cared for her campers as much as she does for her horses.

Don't waste the money on this camp. There HAS to be better ones out there.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make Lynnette stop touting this as "Camp Confidence," stop charging so dang much for a camp with so few facilities/amenities, and start treating her "less fortunately" customers with more dignity. Just because a person isn't filthy rich, doesn't mean they are less capable with a horse - and doesn't mean they don't deserve as much respect. They are paying JUST as much money as your other customers. Give them what they are paying for!!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

I surprised my wife with a trail ride excursion at Lost Creek Ranch last summer and little did I know it would renew her love for horses and begin a relationship with Lost Creek Ranch that I know will continue for a long time. My wife began weekly lessons with Lynette the owner of the ranch. Lynette not only has tremendous knowledge and experience with horses, but has a gift of teaching both children and adults. Lost Creek Ranch rescues horses and trains them for jobs at the ranch. The horses in turn help children and adults build confidence, gain experience riding, showing, and caring for horses along with giving guests at the ranch a unique riding experience. Lost Creek Ranch also provides a great opportunity for interns to work with guests and the horses.
Last weekend my wife and I invited our two nieces to the ranch for the Fall Horsemanship. Jillian (12) and Emma (10) had a wonderful time grooming the horses and learning to ride. With Jillian’s parents going through a divorce and her cousin Emma still mourning the loss of her father less than two years ago, this experience really provided a day of fun and escape from the stress of life’s unexpected turns. Horses have a unique way of helping people deal with the pain in our lives and Lost Creek Ranch truly is a place that recognizes this. - Bill and Julie, Roberts, WI

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2012

more

October 1, 2012

I have been taking lessons at Lost Creek Ranch for two years. As a special needs rider it is always a challenge to find the right place that is willing to accommodate you and allow you to grow at the same time. When I am at the ranch, I will completely liberated and free. Free to be myself, to build confidence on a horse and be part of a caring community that treats everyone equal. Lost Creek Ranch has amazing programs that fits your needs and desires to learn. I am so happy to have found such a terrific place that works to rescue horses and give them a forever home. it just feels good to support such wonderful people and beautiful horses.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Had the worst trail ride experience at this ranch. The people did not even introduce themselves or talk to us while on the extremely short ride which was mostly on the road where there was traffic by cars. The only thing they cared about is making sure everyone was tipped which was not going to happen after I almost fell off their horse. The inexperienced staff put a too big of saddle on the horse I rode causing me to fall off. I would not trust anyone to take their kids here riding! Very unsafe and my worst experience ever on a horse! Staff are very unfriendly!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers