Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
49 Reviews
1234.938785
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
May 2, 2014

more

May 2, 2014

The Los Padres National Forest is a large and important natural area in California, so I'm glad to support Los Padres ForestWatch. I'm especially impressed with the executive director, Jeff Kuyper, for another reason, in addition to his strong leadership of LPFW. In protesting proposed sonar disruptions off Caifornia's Central Coast by PG&E, I looked pretty deeply into the EIR that would have allowed PG&E to conduct this very destructive "testing." I posted my objections, which were challenged (erroneously and also rudely) by a proponent of the process, which would have killed thousands of marine mammals and other sea life, for no good reason. Jeff jumped in there and clarified some of my points, showing me that he'd really studied the EIR and incidentally refuting the assertions of the PG&E apologist. We won that fight, and I remain impressed by Kuyper's level of understanding of many environmental issues.
April 30, 2014

more

April 30, 2014

Living in the upper Ojai on land that borders the Sespe Condor Sanctuary, I am grateful for work of Los Padres Forest Watch in monitoring biological diversity, restoring habitat and protecting sensitive species.
But what is amazing about Forest Watch is the broad scope of their commitment. In
addition to species and habitat protection, they monitor the rivers, watersheds and riparian zones and work to protect pristine water sources of the Los Padres. They protect existing wilderness and identify crucial areas in need of wilderness designation. Forest Watch also protects the cultural history of the Los Padres, identifying and working to protect the sacred sites of five Native American Cultures. I deeply appreciate the dedication of the staff, volunteers and donors who make the work possible.
Theresa Bulla-Richards
April 29, 2014

more

April 29, 2014

Los Padres National Forest is a treasure we want to preserve for our children and grandchildren, it is a place of renewal and inspiration for nature lovers and it is an important buffer to the crush of 13 million people living just a few miles away. Our experience has shown us that we cannot rely on the government to protect this important public-owned land from the many special interest developers and resource exploiters who are ready to degrade the Los Padres for short term profit. Thank goodness for Los Padres Forestwatch!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 22, 2014

more

April 22, 2014

LosPadres ForestWatch deserves high praise for their work in the conservation and protection of our forest lands. With a small staff and a dedicated group of volunteers this professionally managed organization advocates, educates, and monitors activities in our forest areas along California's Central Coast. The job they do is significant in maintaining the integrity of our forests. The Gildea Foundation is pleased to be among those who support and endorse this fine organization. June Sochel, Executive Director

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 27, 2013

more

October 27, 2013

LPFW is a great organization dedicated to preserving the land, the animals, the wildness and the beauty of the national forest that nourishes the soul of all of us in this area of California. They do this with a small but dedicated, knowledgeable, and effective staff. I am grateful for the great work that they do for us all.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013

more

October 19, 2013

Los Padres Forestwatch is an incredible organization that watches over the huge Los Padres Forest lands. This is no small task as the forest includes a diverse number of environs. Many companies wish to get their hands on the resources contained in these lands. We are extremely grateful LPFW is fighting for the land and the creatures who inhabit it, be it taking on fracking issues or "getting the lead out" to help save the condor, or protecting valuable watersheds, as examples . The hard working and intelligent men and women who make up the LPFW have earned our support.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I've been involved with LPFW for more than two years now, and I remain impressed with the committed and knowledgeable staff, the informational updates that keep me informed about issues related to the Los Padres, and the many opportunities the organization affords to advocate in truly meaningful ways for forest protection. I'm particularly proud of LPFW's work to establish new federally designated wilderness areas throughout the Los Padres. LPFW advocates strongly, yet always in a thoughtful and respectful manner that opens dialogue with others and promotes true collaboration. Thank you LPFW for all that you do.
Laurie H.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would provide them with greater financial resources so that they could expand their work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

Los Padres ForestWatch does an outstanding job of monitoring activities within this special and somewhat overlooked National Forest. The Los Padres went many years without such a group advocating and educating about its interests. Keep up the great work!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

What strikes me about LPFW is their ability to get younger folks involved to help preserve the forest and it's environment. So many nonprofits are heavily weighted to older, wealthier members. The young folks give me hope that the right things are being done for our local forest. Jeff Kuyper, executive director, is very personable, approachable and dedicated. My business is a member of 1% for the Planet. I can choose to donate to hundreds of other nonprofits but my donations are going to LPFW for the all the good they do.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

If no one is watching, our national forests are inexorably and irreversibly degraded, partly just by careless misuse, but frequently by harmful exploitation. Los Padres Forest Watch has made a huge difference in how the forest is treated, using whatever means are necessary and appropriate -- insisting the Forest Service do its job properly, organizing direct action to remove trash and old fencing. This takes constant vigilance -- watching what is happening, and blowing the whistle to stop misuse whenever it happens. LPFW is my favorite charity because it is effective in keeping the Los Padres National Forest the way we all want it to be.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Jeff Kuyper has already thought of everything. Just keep it up.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers