Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
38 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 23, 2013

more

September 23, 2013

Los Padres Forest Watch is an outstanding organization that focuses on its mission and produces great results. The Los Padres Forest is a very diverse habitat that encompasses many different habitats and ecological zones. It is an incredible public asset that deserves protection and preservation. LPFW is the only non-profit organization that focuses on this objective. When I donate to LPFW, I know that the funds are being used effectively and wisely toward this goal. The results are impressive, the organization is responsive and easy to work with, and they are always proactively looking out for the public's interest. I'm delighted to be a board member.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have lived in close proximity to the Los Padres National Forest (LPNF) nearly all of my life. From the Arroyo Seco in the north to the Sespe in the south, I have hiked, biked, camped, hunted, bird-watched, and relaxed in many different areas of the LPNF. California is a biological hot-spot for diversity, and the LPNF and surrounding areas are home to some of California's rarest and most unique plant and animal species, some of the most rugged and remote country in the state, and some of the most spectacular (world class) scenery. That's why I have supported Los Padres ForestWatch from the beginning. Los Padres ForestWatch is singularly devoted to protecting this area I call home and to promoting good management of its natural resources. Administrations and forest managers come and go, but ForestWatch is in it for the long haul - making sure that somebody is always watching and submitting top quality comments on proposed plans and projects within the LPNF. ForestWatch volunteers have contributed hundreds of hours to make our forest a better place for all species (including Homo sapiens). If you care too, please join us. Help support our work and our long-term ability to positively influence management decisions on the LPNF.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Los Padres Forest Watch is a great organization that truly makes a difference to maintain the quality of our National Forest. I encourage everyone to check out the Forest Watch web page, join the organization, and contribute to this worthwhile cause.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As I hiked and skied (yes skied!) the Los Padres, I became fascinated by the richness and diversity of the place. Wild rivers, habitat for endangered species, varied plant communities, a rich human history. When I discovered Los Padres ForestWatch I felt like I found a community that would help these things last. And I was right. LPFW has been extraordinarily successful in its short history at keeping track and weighing on things issues that affect the forest and at creating volunteer projects such as condor micro trash clean-ups, fence removals, and shooting range clean-ups. LPFW has also been active in inventories of trail access and illegal off-roading. To paraphrase Aldo Leopold, LPFW helps us all preserve the integrity, stability, and beauty of our local biotic community, and it deserves our support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I live adjacent to the Los Padres National Forest and spend many of my weekends exploring itsdiverse nooks and crannies. Los Padres ForestWatch is the only nonprofit in this area whose sole commitment is to protecting this natural resource that I love to play in. Many of us in Ventura and Santa Barbara counties live here because we appreciate the natural beauty right here in our own backyards. LPFW is an effective organization with boots on the ground to protect this resource and promote more wilderness designations within its boundaries. I've seen firsthand how this group works proactively to keep the Los Padres wild from frequent microtrash pickups to protect our condor popultion and to cleanup after target shooters who leave the areas they shoot in incredibly trashed to investigating and bringing to light widespread fracking in the forest. This group is small but does mighty work.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Forest Watch focuses on the Los Padres National Forest. The Los Padres is special in many ways, but for me, particularly because of its proximity to large populations it affords people the opportunity to experience the natural world. As the world becomes more urban, wild and natural places are even more important to provide balance in our lives. Through its work Forest Watch helps provide vital checks, balances and public input to government entities responsible for management of public land. It does this with dedication, knowledge of place and science and, of course, lots of hard work. The organization is only a few years old, but it has already a long list of achievements. I urge you to support Los Padres ForestWatch.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers