Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
49 Reviews
1234.938785
Write A Review
May 1, 2014

more

May 1, 2014

I was looking for a was to give back to the forest that has given me so many great adventures in the last couple years, in my search for that I found the Los Padres Forest Watch. I've volunteered with the LPFW on several projects recently, these projects are thought out and well put together. Crag Carrey the volunteer coordinator is knowledgeable and friendly. He puts together crews of volunteers that are full of motivated, happy and helpful people. I would recommend the LPFW to any one looking to give back to the outdoors. Just don't mind getting dirty!

Abigail
April 29, 2014

more

April 29, 2014

I live in a community in Ventura County, California nestled up against the Los Padres Forest - home to the endangered California Condor and their restoration program. The Los Padres is also peppered with grandfathered private parcels that have been developed into large aggregate mines and also adjacent to wide-spread oil exploration and drilling. The LPFW has been very proactive and successful blunting the damaging expansion of industrial growth into forest lands that are home to all kinds of species (also the endangered Steelhead Trout) that increasing industrial growth has threatened. Some industry activity has been illegal and in violation of some state and local permits and it took the LPFW to bring those activities to the attention of County, State and Federal authorities. I feel that this is one of those organizations who more than meets my personal litmus test for successful proactivity to match-up their work and deeds with their spoken and written mission. There lots of evidence of their success. I'm proud to be one of their many supporters.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find them much, much more funding. These guys rock and if they had additional finances they'd really be able to make even more of a difference.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 29, 2014

more

April 29, 2014

Los Padres Forest Watch is doing the super important work of land conservation. This is legacy work that will make difference in our children's children's lives. Whenever I am in a wilderness area or open space, I ask how did this area stayed this way given all the development that is so prevalent in today's world. The bottom line is that dedicated organizations like LPFW are working hard to fight off senseless development to preserve these special places. The more work we can do to connect these wilderness and open spaces so that they amass into great expanses the greater service we are doing for generations to come.
April 29, 2014

more

April 29, 2014

Neighbors and good friends of ours, the Laine's, are members of Los Padres Forest Watch, and over the past Christmas Holidays with the inevitable 'contest' to see who can deliver the most imaginative and meaningful Christmas Gift it was the Laine's who surprised us with a 'guest membership' to Forest Watch. This caused me to embark on a review of our Charitable Contributions which were a bit on the chaotic side. I decided that while my wife tended to concentrate on Cancer awareness, treatment and related issues (she is a Cancer survivor), I had a strong need to be part of the environmental movement, but on a practical and local level. I am retired and we are of modest means (I like that phrase, goes with 'live simply' ) and I also applied to two other organizations, The Sierra Club and the local Land Conservancy. All three with the intention of a minimum membership amount, augmented with Volunteer hours. The only organization of the three to respond was Forest Watch. I haven't heard from the other two.
Since the beginning of this year I have been volunteering with 'Boots on the Ground' projects such as graffiti removal, Tamarisk eradication and the cleanup of unauthorized/illegal shooting ranges in the Los Padres wilderness areas. I have been very impressed with the quality of those staff members who organize the Volunteers as with all of the volunteer corps themselves, it's a privilege as well as a pleasure to work alongside them. Another surprise for me was the high regard that exists for Forest Watch in the community. While I am NOT a good salesman and NOT a good solicitor of funds for causes, I found that as soon as one mentions the name and mission statement of Forest Watch, and especially placing names such as Craig Carey and Jeff Kuyper, and then introduce contributors such as Patagonia and Ojai Vineyards and the Rains family ... It all gets very easy. While the management at the top level is efficient and purposeful, the comradary and energy all the way to the Volunteers is exemplary, We are so pleased to be a part of Forest Watch.
I went to my first OjaiWild! this year. Great event ! Well organized and as much fun to work as to attend as a guest. We will be participants again next year. At the onset of this review I was asked to give it a rating which I did, as 4, Exceeds expectations, and after writing this review I hope I am able to change it to 5, Far exceeds expectations, as is the case
Sincerely, Graham T. Jeffrey for members Graham and Anita Jeffrey.
April 29, 2014

more

April 29, 2014

I strongly support many of the volunteer works that are on the ground labor and cleanup actions lead by Craig. This part of the organization should deserve a five star rating.

But strongly disagree with the approach the head of the organization takes in support of wilderness of areas that
after lengthy studied have been found as non-wilderness areas. Not every where within a forest needs to be a “Designated Wilderness”. The ramifications of designating an area as wilderness are long lasting if not for ever and in so many areas not needed. This is VERY short sighted of this organization.

To financially support this organization in its efforts to promote the designation of parts of the forest, that do not qualify as wilderness, is to throw your money at a work that could have been used in a more productive ways by this organization. This part of this organization deserves a NO star rating.
April 25, 2014

more

April 25, 2014

I'm always amazed at the amount of work LPFW does - especially with such a slim staff. They do an amazing job protecting the Los Padres National Forest and the unique biodiversity in the region. From tracking development proposals to bringing people into the field to clean trash or remove invasives, LPFW is a true advocate for wilderness.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

Los Padres Forestwatch is a hands on operation that sends volunteers to pick up microtrash that endangers Condors and pushes government entities to enhance additional forest protections. It also does everything inbetween.

Richard Whited
September 27, 2013

more

September 27, 2013

LPFW is incrediable! They are the only local non profit watching over the entire forest from Big Sur to LA. They have kept me up to date on important environmetnal issues that have threatened my local mountains!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I first heard about Los Padres ForestWatch years ago when I read that they were looking for a designer to create a logo for their young organization. In learning of their goals and methods to protect our vast local forest through legal challenges, hands-on backcountry work and community outreach I was eager to offer my support. In the six years since that first introduction my appreciation for the vital work they do has only increased. The Los Padres Forest faces constant threats and challenges and I feel it is crucial to support this organization's diligent oversight and passion to preserve our local wild places, for ourselves and for future generations.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've been backpacking into the Los Padres for over 25 years, and I am most grateful that an organization like Forest Watch exists to keep the backcountry free of oil drilling, mining, off-road use, and questionable land use decisions. And best of all, they don't hesitate to get out of the office and clean up microtrash, remove fences from the Carrizo Plain, or take multiple day backpacks to help eradicate Tamarisk, to name a few projects. I am glad to donate and help out in any way I can.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers