Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

LAPD Devonshire PALS Youth Center provides kids in our neighborhood with a safe and nurturing environment to socialize, do homework, learn dance and guitar, tae kwon do, and all of this takes place in a state of the art center supported by magnificent volunteers and Police Officers. LAPD Devonshire PALS is providing life changing experiences and guidance for the kids.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

Devonshire PALS provides a safe place for at-risk youth to play and obtain educational instruction along side of their peers and police officers. I was introduced to PALS a few years ago by the then Immediate Past President, Lorraine New. The Board had launched their campaign to build the Youth Center. I was encouraged to participate in their annual Golf Tournament. Therefore, I did. I love Golf! As it turned out, golf that day was not the highlight. The volunteers’ stole the show. Their commitment to serve this population within the community impressed me greatly. There were scholarships awarded at the event to kids within the Pals and Cadet Programs. The PALS story along with the slide show of Pals kids, volunteers, and their families was so moving. Just knowing that at-risk youth have a safe place to learn and play made my heart melt. The statistics on gangs within the service area proved the absolute need for the PALS program. I was hooked. I had to get involved. I continue to play in the annual golf tournament and I now serve as a proud Board Member in an effort to help grow the programs and the center to benefit these great kids!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The LAPD Devonshire PALS has been, and will continue to be an incredible resource for at risk juveniles. It's successes and accomplishments are endless and include raising the test scores of its feeder schools by astronomical proportions. Its educational, athletic and cultural programs are second to none. The program is housed in a state of the art facility that includes a computer lab, a library, a multipurpose room, and a basketball court. There is nothing like it in the San Fernando Valley and it has served as a model for similar programs across the country. The program's executive director is exceptionally talented and dedicated and has a full grasp of the needs of Devonshire PALS and the community it serves.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

LAPD Devonshire PALS serves the youth of the community by providing them a safe haven to learn, play and get cultured. They provide homework help, tutoring, music lessons, exercise, sports and other enriching programs. Along with the staff and volunteers, LAPD Devonshire PALS has police officers in our newly built Youth Center that offer mentoring teaching kids to not fear, but respect law enforcement. They have over 150 kids go through the youth center and over a 1000 kids in total enrolled in the program. The goal of this amazing organization is to provide a brighter future for the youth in the community and truly believe in the philosophy "that it takes a village". I highly recommend this organization for any youth between the ages of 7-17 and encourage parents to enroll their kids and support their efforts.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Devonshire PALS is a wonderful organization that works with youth ages 7-17. PALS makes it possible for LAPD Officers, PALS staff, volunteers, and community members to work together to give the children in the Devonshire area and surrounding community a place to learn, grow and be a kid. The program has inspired many children to be more serious in school through tutoring and homework help while it has inspired others with art through guitar lessons and Folklorico dance classes. There is something for every child to get involved with including field trips to sporting events and the theatre. PALS scholarships have assisted many students in higher education as well as vocational programs. PALS is changing lives in our community through mentoring at the Youth Center and it is seen on a daily basis through individual and group successes. I have the honor and privilege to serve as the Board President and invite you to the Youth Center for a tour to see firsthand the impact this organization has on the community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers