Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I have been associated with PALS since 2006, this organization is vital and important to the communities in-which they serve. If anyone out there would like to donate their time and money, this is the organization to do it for. Their Board and executives are passionate individuals that make up what Pals is today. I am honored to be associated with them and I would recommend them highly and admire all they do for the community. Janet D. Hartley, Vice President and Manager US Bank

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

Growing up in an "at risk" area myself as a child, I wish there had been a facility like this I could have gone to. Beyond all the wonderful programs, art, dancing, music lesson, etc., is the staff. They are unbelievably giving and caring. Truly selfless in making sure these children have what they need to not only learn but to have fun.
Most of the children in this area are latch key kids and would not have anywhere to go. PALS promotes trust and understanding between young people and police officers by bringing youth under the supervision and constructive influence of dedicated law enforcement professionals. The program is based on the conviction that young people—if they are reached early enough—can develop strong, positive attitudes toward police officers and the law.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

PALS is a great organization. I have been part of the PALS program in the past and i gained lifelong friendships. PALS not only helps kids stay out of trouble, but they also care about your future success. if you havent checked it out, stop by for a tour!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

Devonshire Pals programs serve children and youth, and encompass a broad range of focus areas including academic support, mentoring, youth development, arts, and sports and recreation. PALS also offer crime prevention education, field trips, leadership training, camping excursions, and career and college planning assistance. The PALS state-of-the-art facility is designed to foster education and growth.
The staff is friendly and inviting so if you’re ever in the Northridge area you must stop by the facility!!
Get a tour of the facility and learn more about Devonshire PALS!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I have visited the facility and was amazed at how great it really is. So many different activities for kids to be involved in and just have FUN. The goal was to provide a safe environment for kids in the community as an alternative, helping with their education, and keeping them out of trouble. In my opinion, LAPD Devonshire PALS has far exceeded this goal.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Greig Smith LAPD Devonshire Youth Center, the home of Devonshire PALS, is a community treasure. It is a busy place filled with children, teens, volunteers and valuable afterschool programming. The programs are supervised by local police officers who mentor and influence the young people of our community in positive and productive ways. They offer homework help, field trips, special events and a variety of fantastic classes- all at no charge in a large, beautiful and safe facility. Again, a community treasure!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

LAPD Devonshire PALS Youth Center provides kids in our neighborhood with a safe and nurturing environment to socialize, do homework, learn dance and guitar, tae kwon do, and all of this takes place in a state of the art center supported by magnificent volunteers and Police Officers. LAPD Devonshire PALS is providing life changing experiences and guidance for the kids.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

Devonshire PALS provides a safe place for at-risk youth to play and obtain educational instruction along side of their peers and police officers. I was introduced to PALS a few years ago by the then Immediate Past President, Lorraine New. The Board had launched their campaign to build the Youth Center. I was encouraged to participate in their annual Golf Tournament. Therefore, I did. I love Golf! As it turned out, golf that day was not the highlight. The volunteers’ stole the show. Their commitment to serve this population within the community impressed me greatly. There were scholarships awarded at the event to kids within the Pals and Cadet Programs. The PALS story along with the slide show of Pals kids, volunteers, and their families was so moving. Just knowing that at-risk youth have a safe place to learn and play made my heart melt. The statistics on gangs within the service area proved the absolute need for the PALS program. I was hooked. I had to get involved. I continue to play in the annual golf tournament and I now serve as a proud Board Member in an effort to help grow the programs and the center to benefit these great kids!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The LAPD Devonshire PALS has been, and will continue to be an incredible resource for at risk juveniles. It's successes and accomplishments are endless and include raising the test scores of its feeder schools by astronomical proportions. Its educational, athletic and cultural programs are second to none. The program is housed in a state of the art facility that includes a computer lab, a library, a multipurpose room, and a basketball court. There is nothing like it in the San Fernando Valley and it has served as a model for similar programs across the country. The program's executive director is exceptionally talented and dedicated and has a full grasp of the needs of Devonshire PALS and the community it serves.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

LAPD Devonshire PALS serves the youth of the community by providing them a safe haven to learn, play and get cultured. They provide homework help, tutoring, music lessons, exercise, sports and other enriching programs. Along with the staff and volunteers, LAPD Devonshire PALS has police officers in our newly built Youth Center that offer mentoring teaching kids to not fear, but respect law enforcement. They have over 150 kids go through the youth center and over a 1000 kids in total enrolled in the program. The goal of this amazing organization is to provide a brighter future for the youth in the community and truly believe in the philosophy "that it takes a village". I highly recommend this organization for any youth between the ages of 7-17 and encourage parents to enroll their kids and support their efforts.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers