Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
1234.93755
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
August 28, 2014

more


1 previous review
May 13, 2013

The volunteers get as much out of this as the kids do! more

August 28, 2014

I've been volunteering for LAMI for over 4 years now and have found my time there to be an extremely rewarding experience, not only for myself but for the results I've seen with the youth the program serves. I really appreciate that I can learn to sail a tall ship and also help under-served youth in my spare time; even if I'm unable to regularly participate, the crew is patient with me and meets me where I am to continue my education. Being "part of the crew" is an amazing feeling!

I've also learned (and/or re-learned) the life skills that are being taught to the kids that come aboard the ships for this life-changing experience: teamwork, listening, challenging oneself on every level, and maritime skills such as navigation, physics of sail, mechanics, etc... and then there is the serenity you experience when you are under sail, gliding across the ocean with the wind through your hair, perhaps spotting wildlife such as dolphins, whales and sea lions, that really helps put everything into perspective. Thank you, LAMI!
May 13, 2013

The volunteers get as much out of this as the kids do!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 28, 2014

more

August 28, 2014

My entire family has been volunteering for the past 6 years. This program does wonders for kids age 12 and up. It teaches through education, how to become empowered, overcome fears, learn team work, communication skills and trusting others.
August 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My son was a bit of a lost soul. Didn't fit in with the "jocks" and just basically had no direction. He started to put on weight and retreated from the friends he had.... We had tried many sports, but none were a good fit for him. Team sports were a nightmare as he was always last to be picked a side, no one would throw him the ball - you get the picture... Heartbreaking for a parent to see..... We one day three years ago THANKFULLY was approached by a wonderful lady by the name of Sally B. She is one of LAMI's wonderful volunteers! She asked how old our son was and then suggested that on the weekend after we had met her, own son might want to try sailing for a day onboard one of the Brigantines LAMI has that take out kids (amongst many different groups) and teaches them to sail, how to work as a team/crew member, etc... OH MY GOODNESS, HIS WORLD (AND OURS) CHANGED FROM THAT MEETING AND THAT WEEKEND!!!!!!!!! So Josh has now been sailing/crewing/working maintenance for the past 3 years with the Los Angeles Maritime Institute's youth program. It blows my mind how much this program has changed Josh. He is so confident now, gregarious, stands straight and has gotten healthy (he wanted to get healthy to help him around the tall ship more and especially for when he got to climb the rigging)! He regards the crews and Captains from the Irving and Exy Johnson as a second family. They are patient and kind, and give the kids responsibilities that help them grow as individuals and to learn how to work as part of a team. The lessons and guidance Josh has received from his time over the past three years is INVALUBLE!!!!!! We are forever grateful for the day we happened to run into Miss Sally Braeden! As parents we are totally confident with leaving Josh in the expert hands of the LAMI crews. We know they will look after them (re safety), but also mentor and lead Josh to be a confident and proud young man! For this we are truly grateful. Plus it is fun for the kids (and adults)! I can say enough about this amazing program and cannot wait until Josh's younger siblings are old enough to take part in the wonderful experience LAMI offers. Thank you LAMI!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
August 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Let me start by saying this organization has been a very uplifting experience in the year that I have been volunteering with them. There is no doubt in my mind about how this group reaches out to the public/private sector of education. From the most prestige schools to inner city schools, they show so much enthusiasm to provide the best sailing experience for them. As an adult looking back more than 30 years or so, I wish that they had this program back then. I applaud all the effort Los Angeles Maritime Institute has provided from classroom learning to actually sailing the brigantines out in the open water. Volunteering with them has taught me the meaning of being a good role model for the youth of today. The staff and crew for this organization is wonderful all around, questions are answered, ideas are challenged and accepted. I have the up most respect for all they do....
May 14, 2013

more

May 14, 2013

As a volunteer-in-training, I am impressed with the importance placed on the educational aspect of this program. I have not yet had the opportunity to make a sail with a group of kids, but I have seen the Youth Crew in action. The Youth Crew are a number of kids who are following up on their initial experience aboard the tall ships and learning to become actual crew members. They are skilled, dedicated and have found a purpose in life, thanks to this program. Without the program, I'm sure a number of them would be languishing in the streets with little or no ambition or hope.
I am proud to be associated with this organization and I hope to become a fixture within the volunteer ranks.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 12, 2013

more

May 12, 2013

I've been volunteering at LAMI almost since the begining. I could write volumes, uplifting stories about lives changed, sad stories about the everyday world our target kids must endure and accounts of how our volunteers come away fulfilled in exchange for their hard work. Consider kids who have never seen the ocean, 90 minutes after getting off the bus, causing sails 80ft over their heads to move from one tack to the other. It's real, and the kids get it. Consider how easily we level the playing field when a young lady or the most timid young man is the first to climb the rig. Climbing is a personal choice and the big tough guys are almost always the last to go up. Please click on the links to videos on this site to get a view of the power of the Tall Ship venue. The founder of Los Angeles Maritime, Captain Jim Gladson, describes himself as "a recovering school teacher". While that may be true, his vision has created something unique, priceless and magical. Please consider joining us as a volunteer and/or a donor.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 11, 2013

more

May 11, 2013

I recently started volunteering and did my first trip to Catalina with kids last week. It was amazing how the crew and the youth bonded during the period. By the end of the trip all the youth participated in the chores that needed done on the ship. Some of the kids have never been out at sea or had to work as teams to accomplish a task. It was a great experience as a volunteer to see the benefit to the youth.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 11, 2013

more

May 11, 2013

I had several opportunities to sail with the LAMI ships and I am always impressed with everyone involved in this organization. All the kids seem very happy and eager to learn. The mentors are very skilled and know exactly how to transfer their knowledge to those kids. I hope LAMI will be around for at least another 20 years and triple the amount of kids helped by their program....

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 11, 2013

more

May 11, 2013

I witnessed the most amazing transformation in a couple of angry, volatile middle schoolers while accompanying them on a three day voyage to Catalina Island. On the first day, even before leaving the dock, they were physically attacking each other over a very minor issue. By the end of the voyage, the two boys had accepted each other, not as friends, but as teammates. They still disliked each other, but they were willing to work together.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 11, 2013

more

May 11, 2013

I have seen with my own eyes the difference the LAMI program makes in the lives of children who are at the most difficult ages of 12 - 14. I have also had the privilege of being part of that program and working with dedicated LAMI crew/educators and the children. It is truly amazing to watch the transformation that takes place, sometimes subtle, sometimes more overt. The kids who participate in the LAMI TopSail program may not ever set foot on a boat again but their experience stays with them. The LAMI model should be studied, adapted, and applied to more programs that target this age group. These kids are taken out of their comfort zone, away from the familiar, and then challenged in such a way that they are made to feel that they can succeed. They are introduced to the concept of working as a group, with the rewards of accomplishment or the consequences when one person does not or cannot contribute. They also learn to trust others when it counts. The faces of those who come on board are not the faces of those who step ashore...they are the faces of confident and more driven individuals who have a clearer understanding of the choices they face and the decisions they must make. I can't say enough wonderful things about this truly wonderful organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help keep our beautiful ships shipshape! Come down for a maintenance day and work with our crew dockside. Or, volunteer for a special event.