Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
1234.916675
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
May 10, 2013

more

May 10, 2013

This is my favorite charity. It reaches out to at risk kids from the inner city that may not ever have the chance to sail on the water, and learn the team work it takes to sail a Tail Ship. For some of the kids this may be the 1st time they have been out of a gang area. The crew member Tiny is as good as they come, and he has sailed on several Tail Ship in several seas.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 14, 2013

more

May 14, 2013

As a volunteer-in-training, I am impressed with the importance placed on the educational aspect of this program. I have not yet had the opportunity to make a sail with a group of kids, but I have seen the Youth Crew in action. The Youth Crew are a number of kids who are following up on their initial experience aboard the tall ships and learning to become actual crew members. They are skilled, dedicated and have found a purpose in life, thanks to this program. Without the program, I'm sure a number of them would be languishing in the streets with little or no ambition or hope.
I am proud to be associated with this organization and I hope to become a fixture within the volunteer ranks.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 13, 2013

more

May 13, 2013

The volunteers get as much out of this as the kids do!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 12, 2013

more

May 12, 2013

I've been volunteering at LAMI almost since the begining. I could write volumes, uplifting stories about lives changed, sad stories about the everyday world our target kids must endure and accounts of how our volunteers come away fulfilled in exchange for their hard work. Consider kids who have never seen the ocean, 90 minutes after getting off the bus, causing sails 80ft over their heads to move from one tack to the other. It's real, and the kids get it. Consider how easily we level the playing field when a young lady or the most timid young man is the first to climb the rig. Climbing is a personal choice and the big tough guys are almost always the last to go up. Please click on the links to videos on this site to get a view of the power of the Tall Ship venue. The founder of Los Angeles Maritime, Captain Jim Gladson, describes himself as "a recovering school teacher". While that may be true, his vision has created something unique, priceless and magical. Please consider joining us as a volunteer and/or a donor.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 11, 2013

more

May 11, 2013

I recently started volunteering and did my first trip to Catalina with kids last week. It was amazing how the crew and the youth bonded during the period. By the end of the trip all the youth participated in the chores that needed done on the ship. Some of the kids have never been out at sea or had to work as teams to accomplish a task. It was a great experience as a volunteer to see the benefit to the youth.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 11, 2013

more

May 11, 2013

I had several opportunities to sail with the LAMI ships and I am always impressed with everyone involved in this organization. All the kids seem very happy and eager to learn. The mentors are very skilled and know exactly how to transfer their knowledge to those kids. I hope LAMI will be around for at least another 20 years and triple the amount of kids helped by their program....

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 11, 2013

more

May 11, 2013

I witnessed the most amazing transformation in a couple of angry, volatile middle schoolers while accompanying them on a three day voyage to Catalina Island. On the first day, even before leaving the dock, they were physically attacking each other over a very minor issue. By the end of the voyage, the two boys had accepted each other, not as friends, but as teammates. They still disliked each other, but they were willing to work together.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 11, 2013

more

May 11, 2013

I have seen with my own eyes the difference the LAMI program makes in the lives of children who are at the most difficult ages of 12 - 14. I have also had the privilege of being part of that program and working with dedicated LAMI crew/educators and the children. It is truly amazing to watch the transformation that takes place, sometimes subtle, sometimes more overt. The kids who participate in the LAMI TopSail program may not ever set foot on a boat again but their experience stays with them. The LAMI model should be studied, adapted, and applied to more programs that target this age group. These kids are taken out of their comfort zone, away from the familiar, and then challenged in such a way that they are made to feel that they can succeed. They are introduced to the concept of working as a group, with the rewards of accomplishment or the consequences when one person does not or cannot contribute. They also learn to trust others when it counts. The faces of those who come on board are not the faces of those who step ashore...they are the faces of confident and more driven individuals who have a clearer understanding of the choices they face and the decisions they must make. I can't say enough wonderful things about this truly wonderful organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 11, 2013

more

May 11, 2013

Fabulous organization that matches volunteers and sail training with at-risk-youth!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 11, 2013

more

May 11, 2013

Strictly speaking, it's my father Ed who has been with this absolutely astounding organization for many years. As I now live in Colorado with my family, we've had just one opportunity to go on a youth sail, so call us "volunteers-for-a-day". To say we were staggered by the effect on those young people would be a colossal understatement. We saw virtually every one of them come to the realization that they can accomplish a thing -- maybe anything -- they would never have bet upon, and each of those kids left the Exy Johnson beaming and walking taller. Utterly astonishing; I could choke up again these years later at the memory. Must be seen to be believed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help keep our beautiful ships shipshape! Come down for a maintenance day and work with our crew dockside. Or, volunteer for a special event.