Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
1234.95
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
February 23, 2013

more

February 23, 2013

USVAA has become a home for our tight-knit group of veterans who make a living in the Arts. Through producing shows, hosting exhibitions, holding workshops, et al: we work to keep each other working.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 22, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
February 22, 2013

The theater space at the USVAA has been home to the writing classes I teach for nearly a year. The perfect home! Not just because of the warm, comfortable surroundings, but there's truly a creative energy in the air. Which I attribute to Executive Director, Keith Jeffreys, and his vision for helping veteran artists have a voice in the community. I really like being around Keith -- he inspires me with his passion. And I know I feel the spirit of all the great events and productions USVAA has nurtured every time I walk through that door.

Wendy Goldman
Professional Writer, TV and film

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 21, 2013

more

February 21, 2013

A few years ago I saw the USVAA's production of "Bug," and was completely impressed with it. As an actor and veteran, I wrote to Keith Jeffreys, who not only directed the show but is also the executive director, to let him know I was local and to perhaps keep me in mind for future productions. Not long afterwards, he called and we had a nice telephone interview. Keith's passion for helping veteran artists, including myself, is infectious. Over the past few years, getting to know Keith and everyone involved, volunteering and being a recipient for USVAA events for has been a wonderful experience. Their work bringing recognition to veteran artists is important and I'm so proud to be a part of this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 20, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
February 20, 2013

I first became aware of the US Veterans Artists Alliance through their production of Shakespeare's Othello back in 2010 and have followed their progress ever since. I continue to be impressed by the variety of programs USVAA provides and by the strength and integrity of the veterans it serves. From fine arts to dramatic arts, from beginners classes up through finished productions, the veterans served by USVAA never fail to inspire and impress.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 18, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
February 18, 2013

One beautiful summer afternoon, the US Veterans Artists Alliance revived the bard’s genius for me after many years. We were so moved by the genuine love these actors had for their art, for each other, for us, their audience, and for their cause, that my son and I followed the USVAA to many and varied artistic productions. My son went on to work with the USVAA and has become their director of special projects. Their founder, Keith Jeffreys, is, without a doubt, the soul of this wonderful organization and I am very proud to know and follow his and their progress.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 18, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
February 18, 2013

i came to know USVAA in 2006, when an organization of which i was a member, Los Angeles Classical Theatre Lab partnered with USVAA to produce a production of Bertolt Brecht's ARTURO UI with me playing UI. Leaving aside the merits of the production itself (which for me was transformative), our partnership with USVAA was an endeavor of which I was enormously proud. Keith proved time and again to be an artist of integrity, compassion and commitment with a theatre skill set deep and wide. I spend much of my time in NYC these days but take the opportunity to attend LAAVA events and performances when I am back in LA. I am always impressed by the informed, profoundly personal and enlightening point of view the members of the Veterans Artists Alliance bring to their work, particularly Shakespeare's tragedies of war and statesmanship. Some of the most moving theatre I've experienced in the past decade (and I see a lot of theatre all over the English-speaking world) has been presented by this fine group of theatre artists and veterans.- Nick Salamone, actor, playwright, current New York Classical Theatre board member.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 17, 2013

more

February 17, 2013

As a Veteran and Film Maker, USVAA has helped me heal and move forward professionally. My life came full circle and landed me at USVAA for the next chapter in my life...

Andrew Galves

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 16, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
February 16, 2013

I have worked with Keith at the USVAA, and it has has a lasting impact. Not only is Keith an amazing leader, but he has a knack to empower those around him. He has such a wonderful spirit for Vets, for the Arts, for Vets in the Arts! He and the USVAA do such positive things for the community. I am proud to know Keith and am delighted to work with him and the USVAA any time :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 14, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
February 14, 2013

The United States Veterans Artists Alliance is an excellent organization that is constantly improving the veteran community locally and nationally. Like any great organization, the USVAA benefits from incredible leadership. The Executive Director, Keith Jeffreys works tirelessly to improve and expand the influence of the organization.

An excellent example of the work done by USVAA and Mr. Jeffreys is his successful lobbying for a city wide day of appreciation of veterans in the arts.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 13, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
February 13, 2013

I support the USVAA, and the talented powerful voices of these veterans. This is an important organization, and it has been my privilege to attend many of their productions and events. Make no mistake; this program changes lives. It brings support, creativity, and opportunity to veterans, families, and the community through the arts. Keith Jeffreys, Executive Director, is talented and hard working; through his leadership this organization has expanded the awareness of veteran issues.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers