Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
1234.95
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
March 12, 2014

more

March 12, 2014

As a member of United States Veterans Artist Alliance, I've had my life, my veteranism and my professional entertainment career transformed several times over due in large part to Keith Jeffreys and USVAA. Early in my comedy career here in L.A. just a few years removed from active duty, my improv troupe was invited to do a comedy show that took place in veteran hall. Keith and his organization, then known as Los Angeles Veterans Artist Alliance, was our host for the evening. Before the show, Keith went on and talked to the audience and the performers about the goals and ambitions he had to make this non-for-profit, "A home for all artist. Not just veterans…" From improv performers like us to the thespians performing original works along with classic from Shakespeare and beyond; to the fine artist that have worked in stone, oils, acrylics, wire as well as film and photography. That spoke to me and I stayed to make USVAA my home theater for many years.

Through USVAA, Keith has given veterans, performers and artist a home, a venue and base that we were free to create in. And God bless him, he built every set, flat, stage and riser for those shows and exhibits with his own hands.

Again, it was Keith and USVAA that set me on the path I'm currently on now; when he sent me a flier for a program called PROMO PATHWAY and he wanted me to, “Go check it out and let me know if this would help us.” Us begin veterans trying to make it in TV… The program was fully paid and sponsored by several outreach organizations, the television networks and provided by their marketing organization. I was one of 300-plus applicants that applied. Industry professionals whittled that group down to 50 candidates for final interviews and review. I was selected as one of the 25 students that they sent to college and mentored into the television promotions field. I've just finished work for NBC-Universal as a Writer Producer in their marketing department for network programming. The opportunity has empowered me to provide above and beyond for my family and create some work that I'm quite proud of.

USVAA has been a crucial part of my many successes in life. And for that, I am truly grateful and indebted to serve others as they have so graciously served me.
March 6, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
March 6, 2014

I have known Keith Jeffreys for several years through mutual contacts within the veteran community. Keith's work with USVAA is groundbreaking and helps members of our community in the Los Angeles area further their connections to the entertainment industry. USVAA's work also includes original and cutting edge productions of veteran themed theater. I have had the privilege of attending USVAA's performances and they are very memorable. Keith is a great guy. He always has time to speak with fellow veterans and maintains professional relationships with veteran service organizations and other non-profits on both the local, state and national level. While an artist first and foremost, Keith is also an equally strong advocate for veterans. If you are veteran that is interested in the arts, I highly encourage you to visit with Keith and explore service opportunities with USVAA. You will find their membership friendly and resourceful. The organization is quite simply, amazing. As a veteran of the Iraq War, I am proud very proud to support their work.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

USVAA has been very supportive of our government-funded Veterans Employment and Workforce Investment Programs. The services provided by USVAA in the arts, humanities and entertainment are vital to the LA community, and we congratulate USVAA on its City-wide recognition. We look forward to continuing our work with Keith and USVAA on initiatives dedicated to improving the lives of our veterans

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 20, 2014

more

February 20, 2014

Magnus:
I would like to thank God for this organization 'MQOANs', for its little but unforgettable contribution in making me to become and to be what I am today. I pray that as my inspirations grow I may be able to work in partnership to realize its dreams and my dreams in the areas of
evangelization and education of the needy children and the entire people of God.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would recreate it to exist in all the dark corners of the earth in all districts.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 19, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
February 19, 2014

As a 12 yr Army Veteran and an Artist, I would completely recommend the USVAA to anyone who wants to deal with this organization. They have helped me with a number of projects and are always on hand to help. Any Veteran who has any dealing with the Arts should get in touch with the USVAA for advice and opportunities available. They have went over and beyond and Keith has listened on a personal basis for when times were rough for me as a returning Vet.

Way to go, 110%.......GREAT organization!




Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NOT!!!!!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 18, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
February 18, 2014

I've been to several events organized by the Los Angeles Area Veterans Artists Alliance. I seen plays at their venue and attended a few receptions there. It's a very welcoming and warm space that encourages mingling and conversation.

The events they host are always well-organized,
thought-provoking and enjoyable. I admire this organization and appreciate that they are working to nurture and showcase veterans' artistic talents. It is important for veterans to be given the opportunity to explore their creativity in a safe and supportive environment.

I'm not sure how it is structured as a nonprofit but it seems to be very well run - doing a lot with limited resources.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fund them/

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 18, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
February 18, 2014

This is an outstanding organization that embraces veterans from all eras -- WWII to today and forges links by providing support, inspiration and guidance to those who are exploring the arts and humanities. From theater to painting to film and more USVAA is filling a niche for expression that's sorely needed. This past year they workshopped and produced a revival of the Vietnam memory play "Tracers" that received universal plaudits from the critics and the public. They also host a screenwriting seminar run by professional writers for veterans who have stories to tell.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would donate more time and money and help them grow to do more of what they do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 17, 2014

more

February 17, 2014

As a Vietnam Vet and co/creator of Tracers, I was blown away by USAA's production of it, and John DeFu sco's moving performance of the History of the show and how he came to birth this play. This was the first time I met Keith and his fine staff. This is a place where any veteran instantly feels safe to explore any genre they might harbor. This is certainly a far cry from our time back in 79. John did find us a place to create Tracers through Shad Meshad in one of the old barracks at the Westwood VA. This was next to the psyc ward and those poor souls would wander in and out of rehersals freaked out by the loud and rukus improvs we were doing: however, not understanding what we were exploring by revisiting our experiences from the nam. Soooo...cudos to Keith and his staff for creating this safe haven and devoting so much time and energy to vets and receiving so little in return. A true labor of love. Thank you

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None at this point

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
April 8, 2013

As a proposal writer, researcher and developer of government and foundation funded initiatives, I've had the opportunity to work with USVAA on several projects. I am impressed with the organization's outstanding efforts to support veterans in the arts and humanities, as well as in all areas of civilian life. In addition to providing a vital service to all veterans, USVAA enriches the lives of community residents through a variety of educational and inspiring productions. Keith's vision, leadership and commitment to finding viable solutions to a broad range of issues that impact the lives of veterans through extensive collaboration and outreach to the public and private sectors is exceptional!

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization? Definitely How much of an impact do you think this organization has? Life-changing When was your last experience with this nonprofit? 2013

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 28, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
February 28, 2013

I've been involved with LAAVAA for five years. I've found Keith and all the folks there to be eager to create an understanding and partnership with anyone who has the gumption to get involved.
They uphold the highest quality in production, concept and people.
LAAVAA exists only to serve
the purpose of highlighting issues of concern to veterans and their families and producing and supporting individual artistic projects.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers