Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
80 Reviews
1234.91255
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
December 1, 2012

more

December 1, 2012

I am a volunteer at Lord's Pantry and has been touched by the help and caring I see given to so many families in our area. The way the Lord's Pantry is set up so that a family can come and shop for groceries and have a choice as to what their family likes is very different than other places who give what is available. I have new friends both in the other volunteers and the clients who I now know and am happy to share a part of their lives. Lord's Pantry is also so special in that each and every person involved is a volunteer - there are no paid positions. I truly consider this experience to be a blessing in my life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 1, 2012

more

December 1, 2012

I have been volunteering at the Lord's Pantry for two years. They have a dedicated team of volunteers to help the growing number of families that need food in our area. In addition, these families recently received thanksgiving dinner with all the trimmings and next week we will distribute the christmas gifts from generous companies and individuals that have adopted them for the holiday season. It has truly been a rewarding experience for me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

We have been volunteering at the Pantry for several years now, and it is an honor to participate among such as hard-working and caring all-volunteer staff. Clients are received warmly, just like valued customers, and, should their need continue, eventually come to feel more like beloved family members. The Pantry's cheerful, warm, inviting and compassionate tone is set by the Board members, leaders, and senior volunteers, many of whom devote very long hours to Pantry operations and outreach, while somehow not only maintaining top quality of work, but also devising creative solutions to meet unique client needs. We have personally seen clients lives change, as despair evolves to hope, based on the support (food, friendship, respect, and more) they receive from Lords Pantry of Downingtown.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

I volunteer at the Lord's Pantry on Monday and Thursday mornings. I'm so impressed with the efficiency, kindness and respect that this pantry is run. Also in our training, we are taught as volunteers to put our clients first. To be helpful, friendly and to treat them with dignity. It makes for a positive shopping experience for our clients and a good working experience for the volunteers. I have encouraged my friends to also become volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

I have been a volunteer for the Lord's Pantry for a little over a year. I am so impressed by the attention and the caring that is shown to all who come for assistance. The atmosphere is one of pleasantness and courtesy. It is a big undertaking and I am sure challenging at times. Everything is done in an efficient manner with everyone cooperating with one another. It has been a pleasure to be involved with such an important organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more


1 previous review
November 24, 2010

I have been a volunteer at the pantry over the last year. These folks do a great job providing a very needed service in our area. Jan Leaf, the director, and her team of volunteers are very organized ... more

November 29, 2012

I have been volunteering at the Lord's Pantry for the last couple of years. They do a great job of helping the less fortunate in our community. It is an honor to part of such a well meaning organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 24, 2010

I have been a volunteer at the pantry over the last year. These folks do a great job providing a very needed service in our area. Jan Leaf, the director, and her team of volunteers are very organized and committed. They continue to take care of an ever increasing volume of existing and new clients.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The clients are so grateful for our help. This organization is making a difference in our community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would ask everyone in the community to donate food or money or time to the Lord's Pantry.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

Everyone at the lords pantry of downingtown are extremely dedicated to providing the best services to their clients. They do not stop at anything, they must achieve greatness which they do. Everyone has a smile and is always willing to lend a helping hand.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

I have volunteered at the Lord's Pantry for several years now and find it rewarding. All of the volunteers work together to make sure our less fortunate neighbors don't suffer from hungry. The clients served are most gratful for all of the food they receive. I feel honored to be part of this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

The Lord's Pantry is an excellent organization that seeks to provide a crucial service to the Downingtown community. This organization is efficiently run and is committed to providing year round assistance to residents of Downingtown in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Lord's Pantry provides not only food assistance to almost 800 families a month but does it in a way that always honors the dignity of those who need the services. The level of organization in that process is at the highest level. Volunteers are trained in food handling protocals for repackaging fresh foods or shelf life of donated food to be stocked. When clients receive their food, they use a shopping cart and, with a volunteer, select from categorical areas for both canned or dry staples as well as "healthy choice" selections that include milk, two fresh meats, a fresh fruit and vegetable. Addtionally, clients may select eggs, sliced cheese and margerine. Fresh breads and desserts, additional meats, cheeses and other items donated by local grocers are available and are picked up by volunteers, date checked and stocked. When it was determined that bananas often became over-ripe and might be wasted, a volunteer printed a recipe for banana bread using those bananas and on an on-going basis, packages ziplock bags of the dry ingredients for making banana bread. Similarly, in the summer when fresh produce is abundant and brought from local gardens, nursing students demonstrate how to cook delicious dishes using fresh vegetables, provide the clients with the recipe and a bag of the ingredients to cook them at home. Counselling services are also offered by knowledgeable volunteers in additonal services available to clients of which they might otherwise be unaware, such as energy assistance, job counselling, food stamps, and medical clinics, to mention only a few. Throughout the year there are additional special distributions to clients, some of which include, Easter, cold and flu, back to school, Thanksgiving and Christmas. The building that houses all these services is mortgage free and ALL involved in providing the services, including the directors, are volunteers. I can not imagine a better organization or a better mission.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers