Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.892865
Write A Review
February 15, 2014

more

February 15, 2014

ArtsView Children's Theatre has touched me in inexpressible ways. Currently, I am enrolled in a university with a double major in history and theatre with a concentration in performance. After I graduate I am hoping to obtain a masters in theatre and move on to work in the theatrical/film field professionally. ArtsView gave me the passion, courage, and opportunity to pursue this dream. I had never thought of myself as an actress or even considered theatre as a career opportunity until I became I involved at ArtsView. Quickly, I found myself falling in love with the craft and the people. ArtsView encourages kids in not only theatre, but also in practical skills such as public speaking, cooperation, and teamwork.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more money to pay their staff more.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 4, 2013

more

November 4, 2013

ArtsView is a company that I am in complete awe of and owe so much of my life to. When I first came to ArtsView, I was shy and defensive and unsure of myself. I could count people that I considered friends on one hand and I had very little to look forward to throughout the year. I never in my life would have guessed how quickly all of that could change, and how drastically. Within a couple of weeks I was standing taller, within months I was able to be more open with others. I've learned and grown in a way I can honestly say I would not have if I had done anything other than enter my name on an ArtsView audition sign-up at the end of last year. ArtsView's mission is to change lives, as has been said many times (as well as in their tagline). I firmly believe they achieve that, and in the best ways. Everyone that works and volunteers at ArtsView is professional and caring in the right measurements, and everyone I worked with has become like family in the truest sense. ArtsView and everyone involved deserves all the help that can be given. ArtsView is amazing, and I hope to return to it for much time to come.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2013

more

October 2, 2013

My daughter began "acting" at age 8 in an academy. Even though she only had about 3 lines, her first question to me after it was over, "when can I do another play?". Yes, my daughter still acts (flash forward 5 years). She tries out for every production that she can fit in. She has been in show choirs and even added apprentice work. I am simply amazed at how much she has grown as a person in self-confidence, maturity, and in her speaking skills. i credit ArtsView in helping her on that journey. She has experienced disappointment in not making a play, she has had great joy at all the roles she has played, and she has been successful at UIL activities. She continues to grow and learn at every ArtsView experience. The last play she does is always her favorite and she never wants that play to end.

No matter what part you have in a play (ensemble or lead), the kids and staff treat you like you are important. To us, ArtsView is not just a place, it is our Acting Family. i call it family because my child is accepted for she is. Older kids accept younger kids and "show them the ropes". If it is your first time in a play or a production, don't worry. the cast just welcomes you in. You are "one of us".

What started off has something for my child to do in the summer has turned into something that she loves. As a parent, I watch her face light up when it's ArtsView time.

Longview truly has a wonderful asset for the young people in this community. It is a huge blessing to my family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

ask for continued support from the community. It is a wonderful organization with a very caring and committed staff.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

I am impressed with this organization and I love how bold they are with their mission:
“Changing lives through education, outreach, and the performing arts!” They are changing lives - the children who are involved, the families, and the community at large. Artsview Children's Theatre is
making our world a better place.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

We have been involved as a family for many years and have seen first hand how my kids' lives have changed. ArtsView has been a place where both of my kids have a safe environment to grow and discover talents, abilities and confidence!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More classes for older kids. More intense theatre training

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2013

more

September 24, 2013

My son loves going to Artsview. His first play was ideal as he was able to learn to memorize lines and perform. His second experience was less exciting for him as he just sat and everyone read from scripts the whole time. The third time he was able to act but had no lines. I have to admit his first play was our favorite out of all of them because he felt like he got to put on a play but it was geared towards younger children. It is hard to drive back and forth every day for two weeks so we are limited to one week camps. I hope that spring time with bring more one week camps where the children get to put on a real play at the end (even if it is only for the family).

The people who work for Artsview are phenomenal. I cannot say enough good things about all of them and how excited they are to teach! What a blessing they are to the community!! My son feels like he has made life long friends there and we love to support the bigger productions as well by participating in the audience. :)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More "plays" for one week camps.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 26, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 26, 2011

I have be a parent with children involved in Artsview since 2006. I was impressed by Artsview from the first play my daughter was in. They are very professional while being child motivated. Artsview wants the children in their productions to learn as well as have fun. The children want to be involved and strive towards doing their best, because Artsview motivates them to be the best they can be.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing my children strive to do and be their best. My children were motivated and have fun at the same time.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have more productions through out the year.

February 26, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 26, 2011

ArtsView Children's Theatre has been an incredible blessing for both of my children. At age 13, my son auditioned for one of ArtsView's first performances, Alice in Wonderland, and got the part of Tweedledee. That was it--he was bit and bit hard by the acting bug. It was like a whole new world opened up for him. He was fortunate to have the opportunity to be in many ArtsView productions, which led to his participation in high school theater. Brett, now 20, is studying theater at Oklahoma City University, where he received one of the largest talent awards given by the university, in large part due to the skills he learned at ArtsView.

My daughter has also benefited from ArtsView Children's Theatre and continues to benefit. Regardless of whether she decides to pursue theater in college, she has learned life lessons and skills, like work ethic and self confidence, that will benefit her in whatever career she pursues. ArtsView Children's Theatre provides opportunities for adult/children productions. Through this opportunity, my daughter had the opportunity to work with Jason Richards, an accomplished actor. She was able to learn alot through this interaction.

ArtsView also allows students to participate as interns. My son, at the time in his early teens, had the privilege, under the direction of very competent and skilled adults, of designing the lighting for a produciton. Both of my children have gained significant leadership skills through their participation either as an intern, crew or actor with ArtsView.

Obviously, I am a HUGE fan of this wonderful organization. The positive energy, professionalism and caring spirit of this group permeates everything ArtsView does.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

If it had not been for ArtsView Children's Theatre, I really do not know what my son would be doing. When he stepped on to the stage, he found his place. That experience was an aha experience for him, and he knew what he needed to do with his life. My daughter has grown and matured through her experience at ArtsView. She has made wonderful friends through her experience. She experimented with piano, dance and gymnastics, but found her niche through ArtsView in acting.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

ArtsView has an incredible staff; however, the staff at ArtsView Children's Theatre is seriously underpaid. I would love to see ArtsView get to the point that the staff could be paid competitive wages.

February 22, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 22, 2011

ArtsView Children's Theatre- Longview, TX 75604
Alyssa Brazell- 12

ArtsView Children's Theatre is an amazing learning experience for young and old actors. This theater has many performances that have been performed from famous actors and actresses. I have been coming to ArtsView for 7
years straight. Each academy, full-stage production, traveling troop, and workshop I have been to has taught me so much about acting, blocking, stage lights and sounds, and how the theater works. We have outstanding directors and volunteers who work with each individual until they get it right. ArtsView Children's Theatre is full of fun games, great memories, and strong relationships.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

by participating in their productions

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do nothing! ArtsView is great! :)

February 21, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 21, 2011

Arts View is a wonderful organization that is a true asset to our community. Their work with our children is amazing. The quality of the shows that are done is amazing. All aspects of their program and productions are of a truly superior level-cutting, acting, direction, costuming, set design and construction, visual and audio effects and production. I have never been disappointed, but always impressed with the levels of performance, especially when you consider the age groups that are involved. The children that participate receive a wonderful and highly educational experience. My 7 year old has been in two productions, loves it, and has benefited greatly from the experience.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my complete enjoyment of its productions and the positive experience my child has had as a participant.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of any improvements, except to possibly add some productions for the youngest kids (6,7 yr olds).

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers