Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
72 Reviews
1234.986115
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
May 23, 2014

more

May 23, 2014

I have been fortunate enough to have played on the Rough Riders almost since inception. The team has given me so many gifts for which I am grateful and I'm not just referring to sticks or sleds. (though all of those items & more are provided) After being paralyzed in a car accident the Rough Riders have given me back the great game of ice hockey! It has allowed me to be part of a team and has helped me to achieve my dream of becoming a paralympian. My teammates are my friends and we support each other. I have learned lessons about hard work, teamwork, comittment, dedication and LIFE! I can honestly say my adjustment to life with a disability has been dramatically improved by being a member of the LISH Rough Riders!
Fitzy #93
May 22, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 4, 2012

We have been a part of this wonderful organization for 4 years. My son is a differently-abled athlete. I can not say enough good things about this organization not only has it given my son that team... more

May 22, 2014

This organization does not only change the lives of it's athletes but the athletes' families as well. The feeling of confidence and independence it gives is amazing. We are all one big family.
November 4, 2012

We have been a part of this wonderful organization for 4 years. My son is a differently-abled athlete. I can not say enough good things about this organization not only has it given my son that team feeling it has also given all of us parents, grandparents, aunts, uncle, cousins and friends that same feeling. We are all in it together no matter what! The older athletes on the team show my son that he can still achieve his goals of independence regardless of the obstacles that lay ahead.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 22, 2014

more

May 22, 2014

LISH is a very unique organization. It allows people with a broad range of disabilities and ages to participate in a great sport. In my 18 years of disability sport experience, I rarely see an organization with this level of acceptance and integration. It is evident by the smiles on every face you see that this organization is really worth it! You will find that players and everyone else involved work and learn together, and learn the true meaning of comraderie.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More volunteers to spread the word!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 22, 2014

more

May 22, 2014

The Long Island Rough Riders Sled Hockey Organization has been one of the most amazing programs I have ever had the honor of being a part of. Right from the start, they took me in and treated me like one of their own. Being a part of this team is about much more than simply playing hockey, it's about being a part of a family that never gives up and helps one another through thick and thin. Throughout the years I have been with the Rough Riders, I have had the blessing of watching this family grow to include many more players and change lives for the better. I know it has changed mine, and I can't thank those who have made this possible enough.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't make a single change I love it just the way it is! :-)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 21, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 22, 2012

Long Island Sled Hockey is the best "pass" time for my son. This nonprofit organization is unique for athletes with both physical and mental disabilities. LISH gives these athletes a chance to excel... more

May 21, 2014

My son has been a participant of the Long Island Sled Hockey team because not only does he enjoy the sport but also the friendships that he has formed. Having ADHD playing has improved his concentration and coordination. It is a fun team with lots of comraderie and positive enforcement. No matter what level player you are it is a "team" and no one is left out during practice or games.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If it's not broke, you don't fix it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 22, 2012

Long Island Sled Hockey is the best "pass" time for my son. This nonprofit organization is unique for athletes with both physical and mental disabilities. LISH gives these athletes a chance to excel in a sport that is geared to them along with the feeling that they can do it and have fun doing it!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 21, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
August 24, 2013

The Long Island Sled Hockey RoughRiders is the best organization that I have been involved with since I became disabled. The support staff of voulenteers and parents are amazing. I am proud to wear ... more

May 21, 2014

The Long Island Sled Hockey Organization has given me so much in the past 5 years and in return has only asked for me to have fun when I am out on the ice, or playing in the many tournaments they take us to in the United States and Canada. Their selfless devotion to the players and parents are easily witnessed by anyone coming to watch or play for the first time. I have never seen them turn away anyone asking to play this great sport, they only ask how can we get you on the ice? Since I have been involved with the organization they have given me everything to succeed at being a sled hockey player not just the equipment but most importantly the support that you can only get from a family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 24, 2013

The Long Island Sled Hockey RoughRiders is the best organization that I have been involved with since I became disabled. The support staff of voulenteers and parents are amazing. I am proud to wear their jersey and insignia across my chest. They have treated me like family since the first time I hit the ice and have given back to me a sport I loved playing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 9, 2012

I joined The Long Island Sled Hockey RoughRiders 3 years ago and it has brought back all of the memories and love I felt for the game of hockey I played before I became disabled. Bryan, Frank and the rest of the team since the very first day has made me feel like I am part of a family as well as a team. The structure of the organization is fantastic besides all of the outreach that they do for the community they offer amazing opportunities to their players and parents. I cannot say enough good things about this program, if you ever though you could not accomplish something in your life come out and watch the kids and adults play this amazing game and you will see that anything is possible just as long as you try. Thank you Bryan and the rest of the Long Island Sled Hockey RoughRiders, you truly have changed my life for the better.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 21, 2014

more

May 21, 2014

As an athlete, I could not recommend this group any higher. I've gotten progressively and markedly better since joining the team, and am excited to see more and more members join in. The kindness and gratitude I have simply playing on the team is immeasurable.

This organization's greatest
benefit is removing the barrier of playing sport for people with disabilities. The costs associated with having a player just to be on the ice is over $1000. This cost is simply out of reach for many people already dealing with the high costs of living with a disability. I cannot explain how much this is a blessing and a gift.

LI Sled Hockey Inc. works to ensure that this cost is never absorbed by the player. There is plentiful ice time, and the athletes work their hearts out to get to be better and better. The representatives also work hard to get the name out and known in the community, which helps grow the program even more.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 19, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 27, 2013

This organization has changed my son's life and as a result, brought such pride and happiness into our home. Despite Christopher's significant physical disability, he is able to participate in an org... more

May 19, 2014

This program has changed our son's life. Chris' significant physical disability makes it nearly impossible to participate in any sports programs. We were introduced to sled hockey and could not believe it was a sport Chris could actually play. His sled and equipment were designed and adjusted to accommodate the limited range of motion Chis has in his arms. Thanks to the wonderful volunteers who push Chris on the ice, he is able to focus on managing the puck. Most importantly, Chris is actually part of a team and has developed friendships, responsibility and personal pride. We could never thank Bryan B and Frank M enough for giving Christopher this amazing opportunity and bringing so much pride and happiness to his life.
August 27, 2013

This organization has changed my son's life and as a result, brought such pride and happiness into our home. Despite Christopher's significant physical disability, he is able to participate in an organized sport (with hockey happening to be his favorite) and be part of an actual team. Never would we have expected our son to experience the same comradery that the non disabled athlete would feel. Playing sled hockey takes Chris out of his disabled world and allows him to feel like a regular guy. The expectation for him to be a responsible player is a great character builder for Chris and the experience of winning, losing and earning playing time will help prepare Chris for the real world. There is not a negative thing that can be said about this organization or its coaches and volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 19, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 19, 2012

I first became involved with the Long Island Sled Hockey program when I was 10 years old. Now 19 years old, I truly see the impact that LISH has had on my life. Born with a physical disability that ha... more

May 19, 2014

Not only has LISH given me the chance to play hockey like my able bodied peers but it has also helped shape me to be the person I am today. By being a member of the team for 10+ years, I have learned so much about acceptance, determination, and teamwork. I was only 10 years old when I discovered the program and was so excited that I found a sport that I could really compete in and maybe excel in. Now I attend the University of New Hampshire and play on their nationally ranked sled hockey team and also played for the United States Junior National Team during the 2010-2011 season. Without LISH, I would not have been able to do either of these things. LISH has given me and continues to give me the tools needed to see how far I can go in this sport, including ice time and new equipment. I am so grateful for LISH and all it has done for me.
October 19, 2012

I first became involved with the Long Island Sled Hockey program when I was 10 years old. Now 19 years old, I truly see the impact that LISH has had on my life. Born with a physical disability that has caused me to rely on crutches or a wheelchair to get around, I grew up thinking I could never play ice hockey, a sport that I always loved. That all changed when my best friend introduced me to LISH. After I got in a sled for the first time I was hooked. The only major difference between sled hockey and standard ice hockey is that we play in the seated position. The rules are the same, the same net and puck are used, and there is full checking. Not only has Long Island Sled Hockey allowed me to play hockey compete at a high level, but it has also allowed me to travel to various places and to meet countless numbers of incredible individuals. LISH has also offered me the tools to become the sled hockey player I am today. I currently play sled hockey for the University of New Hampshire and was a member of the United States Junior National Team for the 2010-2011 season. Without the Long Island Sled Hockey program, I would not be the person I am today and I am eternally grateful for everything the program has done for me.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 29, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 18, 2012

My son has Down Syndrome and would normally not get an opportunity to participate in the exciting sport of hockey. This organization gives him that chance. He feels accomplished and happy when he p... more

September 29, 2013

LI Sled hockey allows my son with Down Syndrome to participate in competitive sports. It strengthens his body and mind and brings him immense joy. It is something he looks forward to with great anticipation and that includes practices.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2012

My son has Down Syndrome and would normally not get an opportunity to participate in the exciting sport of hockey. This organization gives him that chance. He feels accomplished and happy when he participates. He has learned teamwork, patience, skills, and made many friends. It keeps him healthy and gives him a great deal of satisfaction. I am so thankful for the hard work that goes on behind the scene of fund raising, scheduling games, travel plans, and coaching.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help sell raffle ticket books for four big-screen Samsung HD TV;s, winners drawn at our holiday party on 12/13