Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
72 Reviews
1234.986115
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
May 20, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 22, 2012

Last January i tried out sled hockey. i had so much fun the first time i was on the ice... after that i enjoy going to the rink on tuesdays and saturdays for pracitce to see my teamates and have fun p... more

May 20, 2014

Ive been apart of this organization for about 5 years now and i know i can tell my self that i will not stop playing this sport because i feel like each day I'm growing closer and closer to all the players and family. Speaking of the word Family I feel like this team is just one gigantic family as it grows bigger day in and day out.
October 22, 2012

Last January i tried out sled hockey. i had so much fun the first time i was on the ice... after that i enjoy going to the rink on tuesdays and saturdays for pracitce to see my teamates and have fun playing the sport. since i started playing sled hockey ive acquired more friends on and off the team. when i started, i said to my self im not stoping.....this sport has shown alot of what handicapped people and able-bodied people can do to while only being in a seated position. like i said i love the organization and the team and i will not stop playing this amazing sport

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 19, 2014

more

May 19, 2014

This is a wonderful program and sport for the differently -abled athlete. It's always exciting to attend a game and watch the sportsmanship and skill of these athletes. It takes tremendous dedication and heart to achieve what the Rough Riders has over the years! I can't say enough good things about the organization and the confidence and joy it brings to everyone involved. It truly has had such a big impact on everyone!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change not one thing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 16, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
September 5, 2013

Long Island Sled Hockey has been a wonderful part of our lives for over 15 years. Our "differently-abled" son has been part of a team that brings him joy and accomplishment as he plays in an action p... more

May 16, 2014

Sled Hockey is a unique and exciting sport, i.e. USA GOLD MEDAL at the 2014 Paralympics. The Long Island Sled Hockey Rough Riders team is also unique and exciting at the hometown level. It offers athletes of varying ages and disabilities the opportunity to play in a sport they may never have thought possible. I am proud to be a volunteer in this organization for many years and continue to be amazed at the differently-abled athletes on the team.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 5, 2013

Long Island Sled Hockey has been a wonderful part of our lives for over 15 years. Our "differently-abled" son has been part of a team that brings him joy and accomplishment as he plays in an action packed sport!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2012

Long Island Sled Hockey RoughRiders - the best! This is a team composed of athletes, who despite mental and/or physical challenges, have been given the opportunity to participate in the sport of ice hockey. They amaze everyone when their DISABILITY becomes their ABILITY to compete on the ice, demonstrate good sportmanship with a competitive edge and show their electrifying team spirit. As a parent volunteer for over 15 years l have watched every athlete who joined this team develop a personal best. I am proud to have the honor of volunteering with Long Island Sled Hockey and see how this organization has improved the lives of many disabled people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 13, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 22, 2013

I have had the honor and pleasure of serving as the webmaster for LI Sled Hockey since they were founded. The hard work of the volunteers who keep this wonderful organization operating like a well oil... more

May 13, 2014

LI Sled Hockey is terrific organization with a long rich history of helping the differently-abled athletes reach their full potential, instilling pride, determination and sense of team to a group of very talented sled hockey players. The staff have hearts bigger than themselves.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Like Mary Poppins they are practically perfect in every way.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 22, 2013

I have had the honor and pleasure of serving as the webmaster for LI Sled Hockey since they were founded. The hard work of the volunteers who keep this wonderful organization operating like a well oiled machine is truly inspirational. The differently-abled athletes are amazing to watch!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a thing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Great organization from top to bottom. All are welcome both disabled and able body athletes. Competitive without being exclusive. Pass the word to any and all friends looking for something to do out of the ordinary. I'm sure if you help out you will get more out of your experience than you could ever put in.
See You at Practice,
ERIC STREZENEC

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more people to give it a try

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 22, 2012

this is an extremely unique program. it combines both mentally and physically challenged athletes and allows them to compete as a team. although challenged these athetes play on a regulation rink with... more

September 5, 2013

this is an amazing organization which combines fun, sportsmanship and competition for its differently abled athletes. they have traveled as a team to compete in Canada and florida affording these players an experience they might not otherwise have been exposed to. all work for this group is done exclusively by volunteers and no salaries are paid to anyone. it is a wonderful experience for anyone to watch these athletes play and enjoy this sport.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

wouldn't change a thing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2012

this is an extremely unique program. it combines both mentally and physically challenged athletes and allows them to compete as a team. although challenged these athetes play on a regulation rink with the same rules and full contact as stand up hockey. the team plays in tournaments both home and away which allow its members a true feeling of camaradie. being part of a team is something many special athletes have not been allowed to experience before. this team is run by a dedicated all volunteer staff. no salary is paid to any coach or board member. all money raised goes directly to the athletes for equipment, travel expences and tournament fees. the only thing more impressive than how the team is run is the smiles of the the athletes, win or lose.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 19, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 27, 2013

This organization has changed my son's life and as a result, brought such pride and happiness into our home. Despite Christopher's significant physical disability, he is able to participate in an org... more

May 19, 2014

This program has changed our son's life. Chris' significant physical disability makes it nearly impossible to participate in any sports programs. We were introduced to sled hockey and could not believe it was a sport Chris could actually play. His sled and equipment were designed and adjusted to accommodate the limited range of motion Chis has in his arms. Thanks to the wonderful volunteers who push Chris on the ice, he is able to focus on managing the puck. Most importantly, Chris is actually part of a team and has developed friendships, responsibility and personal pride. We could never thank Bryan B and Frank M enough for giving Christopher this amazing opportunity and bringing so much pride and happiness to his life.
August 27, 2013

This organization has changed my son's life and as a result, brought such pride and happiness into our home. Despite Christopher's significant physical disability, he is able to participate in an organized sport (with hockey happening to be his favorite) and be part of an actual team. Never would we have expected our son to experience the same comradery that the non disabled athlete would feel. Playing sled hockey takes Chris out of his disabled world and allows him to feel like a regular guy. The expectation for him to be a responsible player is a great character builder for Chris and the experience of winning, losing and earning playing time will help prepare Chris for the real world. There is not a negative thing that can be said about this organization or its coaches and volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 25, 2013

more

August 25, 2013

It has been a truly wonderful experience to be a small part of this organization. The commitment of the athlete's, parents, and coach's is something you have to see to believe. They have over the years developed into a fine tuned machine. They offer a chance for people with disabilities to be envolved in something that takes them away when they are on the ice or just being a part of a team. They have a tireless leader and coach, whose fund raising soley supports this wonderful progam.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 25, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 8, 2012

I've been a part of this organization for close to 11 years now and it has truly changed my life. My teammates and the everyone else who makes the organization tick have became a big family and every... more

August 25, 2013

I've been a part of this organization for close to 11 years now and it has truly changed my life. My teammates and the everyone else who makes the organization tick have became a big family and every one is willing to help. The RoughRiders hold a special place in my heart ~Vinny

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2012

I've been a part of this organization for close to 11 years now and it has truly changed my life. My teammates and the everyone else who makes the organization tick have became a big family and every one is willing to help. The RoughRiders hold a special place in my heart ~Vinny

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 24, 2013

more

August 24, 2013

It is a privilege to work with this organization.
Seeing the participants with mental and/or physical challenges play at practices and games at a high level of performance then come off the ice with the biggest smiles is very rewarding.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a Corporate sponsor.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help sell raffle ticket books for four big-screen Samsung HD TV;s, winners drawn at our holiday party on 12/13