Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
72 Reviews
1234.986115
| 1 ... 4 5 6 |
Write A Review
October 27, 2012

more

October 27, 2012

This. Organization is wonderful group of people! I have enjoyed watching the youth, young adults , and adults play this game. They are truly gifted people!,

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

Long Island Sled Hockey is a wonderful organization playing a great sport. It allows both physically and mentally challenged people to play hockey and be competive in tournaments. Anyone watching these athelets during a game will see the hard work and determination they exhibit.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

Long Island Sled Hockey is an organization dedicated to providing an athletic, competitive experience to those who are mentally or physically handicapped. The program has fielded a medal winning sled hockey team for the past several seasons, competing successfully on an international level including hosting an annual international invitational tournament. The entire program is operated by unpaid volunteers, mostly parents or other relatives of participants and concerned friends of the program. These people serve tirelessly and with great sacrifice to present participants with the opportunity to be a part of organized sports and to know the satisfaction of competing, both on an individual and team level, as able athletes do. Older team members also serve as mentors, role models and real-life touchstones for the younger and novice members working on learning and improving not only hockey skills but social and relationship skills, as well. For many team members, Long Island Sled Hockey is the first, if not only, such experience afforded to them. The success and true value of the program is easily recognizable by the dedication of the participants and the smiles that jump to their faces at the mere mention of the sport and "their" team.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

I first was introduced to Long Island Sled Hockey around 6 years ago and I was extremely impressed with the amount of support they receive from the local community. There are so many people who dedicate their time to assist and support this great organization and just seeing it once is enough to pull you in and want to be part of this family. Yes, I called it a family because that is exactly how we act, everything that needs to get done just gets done with no questions or bickering, we all work together to reach any goal we set because it is all done for the members of which this organization was founded for.

There are handicapped and able-bodied people members from all ages in this organization and to see them on the ice is a must see experience, and if you don’t I feel you are truly missing something in life. They are out there playing with such great joy and they are so competitive you would know they are playing with any sort of handicap and truth be told they always win the games we play against people who do not have a handicap because this is what sets them aside from everyone else, this is their time and no one will ever beat them at it.

You should make time and visit one of the games, you will be amazed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2012

more

October 22, 2012

Over the summer I took a quick trip to Long Island to watch my cousin Tommy's sled hockey game at the 8th Annual RoughRiders Invitational Tournament. Tommy plays for the Rough Riders through Long Island Sled Hockey, an organization that supports sportsmanship and athleticism for mentally and physically handicapped youth and adults. Tommy has been playing for years, and his mom, my Aunt Sheila, is an able-bodied member of the team, acting as a pusher, assisting players who cannot maneuver their sleds alone.

​Sled hockey, if you have never experienced a game, is quite something. The speed at which the players move themselves and a large sled across the ice, solely with their upper body strength, is unbelievably impressive. Their shots towards and into the net have such force, that I ducked a few times at the crack of a stray one against the glass. It's clear by the amazing effort the players put into each game that they take great pride in the sport. Long Island Sled Hockey provides so many youth and adults with an opportunity to experience team camaraderie and be athletes, something that they many may have not has without participation in the organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2012

more

October 22, 2012

My brother is a member of the team and always has fun playing on the team and traveling to different tournaments. This is a great organization that instills confidence and comradiere amongst the team members. Although winning is important Brian instills the team approach across the board and teaches the members the importance of teams not only on the ice but in life and that when we work together anything can be accomplished.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 21, 2012

more

October 21, 2012

After 3 grueling years fighting off cancer and the loss of my leg, the farthest thing from my mind was ever getting back on the ice to compete again. Thank God for Brian, Frank and the Roughriders organization. I've since gotton back on the ice and competed once again. Believe me, sled hockey is much more demanding than stand up hockey ever was. Our team is an everchanging special family that my own four children have joined and caught the Roughrider fever. If you have any questions how great this organization is, just come out on tues or sat to watch the team play. You will be inspired as much as I am every time I have the priviledge to take the ice with these amazing athletes. There is no can't on this team, only to try and succeed!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2012

more

October 20, 2012

This is the most amazing team I have ever had the privilege of watching. My nephew is physically disabled and unable to play all sports. It was so heartbreaking to see him watch other children play sports he was unable to participate in. Then my sister and brother in law found the rough riders. Being on this team has given my nephew the opportunity to play sports and be a part of a team. I am amazed by everyone on this team. I as a physically able person could not play this sport the way they all do. I love watching them play. I love that the coaches treat the members of the team as if they do not have a disability. They push them and encourage them to do their best. Thank you to Bryan, the team members, volunteers and the family and friends that come out to support this amazing team of individuals. Most of all...Thank you for giving my nephew the opportunity to play a sport he may otherwise have not been able to play!! With love and admiration Lisa KJ's proud aunt!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012

more

October 19, 2012

We have know Bryan Blomquist and his family for many years. This organization that he heads is wonderful! This group spends so much of thier personal time giving these wonderful kids the chance to play ice hockey. It is a truely amazing organization. We hope you consider giving this team the reward they deserve! Sincerely, Krista and Thomas Clancy

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012

more

October 19, 2012

It is so hard to describe Long Island Sled Hockey and it's impact on the people involved without seeing it firsthand. This is truely a wonderful organization allowing physically and mentally challenged kids to be a part of a team and have a sense of comradery and sportsmanship. Going to the games in person is almost as if you're attending an NHL game with all of the screams and cheering from the fans in the stands. Bryan Blomquist, who runs the LI Rough Riders is the heart behind the organization and puts a tremendous amount of time into his team and this shows in the spirit of each player on the team, their opponents and the fans. The Long Island Sled Hockey team, the Rough Riders should certainly be considered for your award as it has changed the lives of many people; children and adults alike. Thank you for your consideration. Sincerely, Tara Baglietto

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help sell raffle ticket books for four big-screen Samsung HD TV;s, winners drawn at our holiday party on 12/13