Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
72 Reviews
1234.986115
| 1 2 3 4...6 |
Write A Review
September 29, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 18, 2012

My son has Down Syndrome and would normally not get an opportunity to participate in the exciting sport of hockey. This organization gives him that chance. He feels accomplished and happy when he p... more

September 29, 2013

LI Sled hockey allows my son with Down Syndrome to participate in competitive sports. It strengthens his body and mind and brings him immense joy. It is something he looks forward to with great anticipation and that includes practices.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2012

My son has Down Syndrome and would normally not get an opportunity to participate in the exciting sport of hockey. This organization gives him that chance. He feels accomplished and happy when he participates. He has learned teamwork, patience, skills, and made many friends. It keeps him healthy and gives him a great deal of satisfaction. I am so thankful for the hard work that goes on behind the scene of fund raising, scheduling games, travel plans, and coaching.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 22, 2012

this is an extremely unique program. it combines both mentally and physically challenged athletes and allows them to compete as a team. although challenged these athetes play on a regulation rink with... more

September 5, 2013

this is an amazing organization which combines fun, sportsmanship and competition for its differently abled athletes. they have traveled as a team to compete in Canada and florida affording these players an experience they might not otherwise have been exposed to. all work for this group is done exclusively by volunteers and no salaries are paid to anyone. it is a wonderful experience for anyone to watch these athletes play and enjoy this sport.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

wouldn't change a thing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2012

this is an extremely unique program. it combines both mentally and physically challenged athletes and allows them to compete as a team. although challenged these athetes play on a regulation rink with the same rules and full contact as stand up hockey. the team plays in tournaments both home and away which allow its members a true feeling of camaradie. being part of a team is something many special athletes have not been allowed to experience before. this team is run by a dedicated all volunteer staff. no salary is paid to any coach or board member. all money raised goes directly to the athletes for equipment, travel expences and tournament fees. the only thing more impressive than how the team is run is the smiles of the the athletes, win or lose.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 3, 2013

more

September 3, 2013

I have been attending fund raisers for LI Sled Hockey for 17 years and I am always impressed with the dedication and concern of the volunteers and staff. Having seen this team in action on the ice, it is hard to believe that any of the players are at all physically or mentally challenged. LI Sled Hockey is to be highly commended for providing an opportunity for these players to not only play a sport, but to travel with the team for tournaments.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 29, 2013

more

August 29, 2013

This is an incredible organization. The athletes enjoy playing and competing. LI Sled Hockey provides an opportunity that can be found no where else. See a game if you can - you will be an instant fan. Can't say enough about Bryan Bloomquist and his fellow volunteers. Keep up the great work!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 25, 2013

more

August 25, 2013

It has been a truly wonderful experience to be a small part of this organization. The commitment of the athlete's, parents, and coach's is something you have to see to believe. They have over the years developed into a fine tuned machine. They offer a chance for people with disabilities to be envolved in something that takes them away when they are on the ice or just being a part of a team. They have a tireless leader and coach, whose fund raising soley supports this wonderful progam.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 25, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 8, 2012

I've been a part of this organization for close to 11 years now and it has truly changed my life. My teammates and the everyone else who makes the organization tick have became a big family and every... more

August 25, 2013

I've been a part of this organization for close to 11 years now and it has truly changed my life. My teammates and the everyone else who makes the organization tick have became a big family and every one is willing to help. The RoughRiders hold a special place in my heart ~Vinny

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2012

I've been a part of this organization for close to 11 years now and it has truly changed my life. My teammates and the everyone else who makes the organization tick have became a big family and every one is willing to help. The RoughRiders hold a special place in my heart ~Vinny

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 24, 2013

more

August 24, 2013

It is a privilege to work with this organization.
Seeing the participants with mental and/or physical challenges play at practices and games at a high level of performance then come off the ice with the biggest smiles is very rewarding.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a Corporate sponsor.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 21, 2013

more

August 21, 2013

My son plays with the roughriders and he loves it. He can not play regular hockey so this organization has been fantastic thank you

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 18, 2012

I have know Bryan Blomquist for a number of years. The organiztion that he heads is truly unbelievable. He and his staff spend countless hours on and off the ice with these kids and gives them the o... more

August 20, 2013

I have been involved with this organization for a number of years basically as and aide in the fundraising end. The people who run this organization somehow have endless hours of concern for the members of this team. They not only teach but support everyone who plays for them and their parents. They never turn anyone away and actually add to the program every year. No matter what the disability the athlete has when he or she starts the program you would never know it by seeing them on the ice. The athletes all seem to enjoy playing and do work together as one. It give me great pleasure seeing them play and makes me ever so thankful of the ability that I have and my sons who have played ice hockey who were fortunate to be healthy and able to play this game. The heart that these athletes have is great and is shown in their faces and on the faces of the caching staff and volunteers who help make this all possible. Great organization. Thank God there is still people in this world who care about others who are less fortunate to be healthy.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NON WHATSOEVER

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2012

I have know Bryan Blomquist for a number of years. The organiztion that he heads is truly unbelievable. He and his staff spend countless hours on and off the ice with these kids and gives them the opportunity to play ice hockey. These are all handicapped players be it physically challenged or mentally chanllenged to play in a sprot that they all adore. To see these players on the ice is something you would never forget. The intensity and heart that they show on the ice is unforgetable the happiness on their faces shows it all. One would never think these people were handicapped with the way they play. Watching them opened up my eyes the first time I saw them. Playing and coaching hockey myself I never saw such intensity and smiles on players faces as these players. Bryan and his staff has never turned anyone away from the chance of playing, Go see one of their games if you ever get a chance. See them play and then see them get off the ice, It will make you thank God for the abilities that you have and the never ending heart that these players have. GREAT ORGANIZAION !!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 20, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 19, 2012

I have known Bryan for many years. When he first came to me for support for the Long Islan Sled Hockey team I jumped at the chance to help this wonderful organization, little did I know the profound ... more

August 20, 2013

I have seen the wonderful things this program does for ""The Kids". It give me great pleasure to continue supporting this fine organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2012

I have known Bryan for many years. When he first came to me for support for the Long Islan Sled Hockey team I jumped at the chance to help this wonderful organization, little did I know the profound effect this organization would have for so many families. The players, families, voluteers and donors are truely a family which I am proud to be a part of. Throughout the years I have seen the team spirit thrive within the athletes - an opportunity most of these kids wouln't have. This is a model program that should be emulated in more communities. Fast forward to the present and I still look forward to supporting the "Rough Riders" at each and every opportunity presented to me.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help sell raffle ticket books for four big-screen Samsung HD TV;s, winners drawn at our holiday party on 12/13