Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
71 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
May 19, 2014

more

May 19, 2014

This is a wonderful program and sport for the differently -abled athlete. It's always exciting to attend a game and watch the sportsmanship and skill of these athletes. It takes tremendous dedication and heart to achieve what the Rough Riders has over the years! I can't say enough good things about the organization and the confidence and joy it brings to everyone involved. It truly has had such a big impact on everyone!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change not one thing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 19, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 19, 2012

I first became involved with the Long Island Sled Hockey program when I was 10 years old. Now 19 years old, I truly see the impact that LISH has had on my life. Born with a physical disability that ha... more

May 19, 2014

Not only has LISH given me the chance to play hockey like my able bodied peers but it has also helped shape me to be the person I am today. By being a member of the team for 10+ years, I have learned so much about acceptance, determination, and teamwork. I was only 10 years old when I discovered the program and was so excited that I found a sport that I could really compete in and maybe excel in. Now I attend the University of New Hampshire and play on their nationally ranked sled hockey team and also played for the United States Junior National Team during the 2010-2011 season. Without LISH, I would not have been able to do either of these things. LISH has given me and continues to give me the tools needed to see how far I can go in this sport, including ice time and new equipment. I am so grateful for LISH and all it has done for me.
October 19, 2012

I first became involved with the Long Island Sled Hockey program when I was 10 years old. Now 19 years old, I truly see the impact that LISH has had on my life. Born with a physical disability that has caused me to rely on crutches or a wheelchair to get around, I grew up thinking I could never play ice hockey, a sport that I always loved. That all changed when my best friend introduced me to LISH. After I got in a sled for the first time I was hooked. The only major difference between sled hockey and standard ice hockey is that we play in the seated position. The rules are the same, the same net and puck are used, and there is full checking. Not only has Long Island Sled Hockey allowed me to play hockey compete at a high level, but it has also allowed me to travel to various places and to meet countless numbers of incredible individuals. LISH has also offered me the tools to become the sled hockey player I am today. I currently play sled hockey for the University of New Hampshire and was a member of the United States Junior National Team for the 2010-2011 season. Without the Long Island Sled Hockey program, I would not be the person I am today and I am eternally grateful for everything the program has done for me.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 18, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 8, 2012

My son has been playing sled hockey for many years with the program. It gives differently abled athletes of all ages and issues to be able to play a game they love and NEVER thought they would be abl... more

May 18, 2014

My son started playing sled hockey when he was still very ill when it was part of a handicapped sports group. We broke away to focus this program only on sled hockey. With Bryan B. as our president, he has been able to raise funds and bring this sport and our team to places we NEVER thought we could go. But most of all, what it has done for the players, their self estreem, being part of a team and being able to play hockey, no matter what their challenges are, has been unbeleivable. No matter what a -person is facing,if they want to play, we WILL find a way. The journey so far has been amazing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 8, 2012

My son has been playing sled hockey for many years with the program. It gives differently abled athletes of all ages and issues to be able to play a game they love and NEVER thought they would be able to play. They come off the ice all sweated and tired but you will NEVER see bigger smiles and their happiness to be able to play. The program is well run and the money that is raised goes to travel, equipment and other necessities of the game. If you or someone you know that is "differently abled" likes to play, come on down and see if you like it. No matter what the issue, if you want to play, we NEVER say NO and will find a way!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 18, 2014

more

May 18, 2014

Long Island sled hockey is an organization that permits handicapped individuals of all ages to play the great sport of hockey it teaches teamwork and help with the physical conditioning and sense of accomplishment that otherwise is hard for people with these disabilities to achieve.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 16, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
September 5, 2013

Long Island Sled Hockey has been a wonderful part of our lives for over 15 years. Our "differently-abled" son has been part of a team that brings him joy and accomplishment as he plays in an action p... more

May 16, 2014

Sled Hockey is a unique and exciting sport, i.e. USA GOLD MEDAL at the 2014 Paralympics. The Long Island Sled Hockey Rough Riders team is also unique and exciting at the hometown level. It offers athletes of varying ages and disabilities the opportunity to play in a sport they may never have thought possible. I am proud to be a volunteer in this organization for many years and continue to be amazed at the differently-abled athletes on the team.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 5, 2013

Long Island Sled Hockey has been a wonderful part of our lives for over 15 years. Our "differently-abled" son has been part of a team that brings him joy and accomplishment as he plays in an action packed sport!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2012

Long Island Sled Hockey RoughRiders - the best! This is a team composed of athletes, who despite mental and/or physical challenges, have been given the opportunity to participate in the sport of ice hockey. They amaze everyone when their DISABILITY becomes their ABILITY to compete on the ice, demonstrate good sportmanship with a competitive edge and show their electrifying team spirit. As a parent volunteer for over 15 years l have watched every athlete who joined this team develop a personal best. I am proud to have the honor of volunteering with Long Island Sled Hockey and see how this organization has improved the lives of many disabled people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 15, 2014

more

May 15, 2014

What a great organization! Bryan Blomquist and his players are dedicated to the sport and to every differently-abled athlete they meet--teamwork that extends far beyond their time together on the ice.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it bigger!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 14, 2014

more

May 14, 2014

The kids are dedicated to their team, and work very hard. They learn to participate as athletes strengthening their bodies, and make strong friendships. They learn to trust team mates and have fun while playing a sport.
May 13, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 22, 2013

I have had the honor and pleasure of serving as the webmaster for LI Sled Hockey since they were founded. The hard work of the volunteers who keep this wonderful organization operating like a well oil... more

May 13, 2014

LI Sled Hockey is terrific organization with a long rich history of helping the differently-abled athletes reach their full potential, instilling pride, determination and sense of team to a group of very talented sled hockey players. The staff have hearts bigger than themselves.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Like Mary Poppins they are practically perfect in every way.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 22, 2013

I have had the honor and pleasure of serving as the webmaster for LI Sled Hockey since they were founded. The hard work of the volunteers who keep this wonderful organization operating like a well oiled machine is truly inspirational. The differently-abled athletes are amazing to watch!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a thing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Great organization from top to bottom. All are welcome both disabled and able body athletes. Competitive without being exclusive. Pass the word to any and all friends looking for something to do out of the ordinary. I'm sure if you help out you will get more out of your experience than you could ever put in.
See You at Practice,
ERIC STREZENEC

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more people to give it a try

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 29, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 18, 2012

My son has Down Syndrome and would normally not get an opportunity to participate in the exciting sport of hockey. This organization gives him that chance. He feels accomplished and happy when he p... more

September 29, 2013

LI Sled hockey allows my son with Down Syndrome to participate in competitive sports. It strengthens his body and mind and brings him immense joy. It is something he looks forward to with great anticipation and that includes practices.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2012

My son has Down Syndrome and would normally not get an opportunity to participate in the exciting sport of hockey. This organization gives him that chance. He feels accomplished and happy when he participates. He has learned teamwork, patience, skills, and made many friends. It keeps him healthy and gives him a great deal of satisfaction. I am so thankful for the hard work that goes on behind the scene of fund raising, scheduling games, travel plans, and coaching.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help sell raffle ticket books for four big-screen Samsung HD TV;s, winners drawn at our holiday party on 12/13