Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
53 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
September 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Great organization from top to bottom. All are welcome both disabled and able body athletes. Competitive without being exclusive. Pass the word to any and all friends looking for something to do out of the ordinary. I'm sure if you help out you will get more out of your experience than you could ever put in.
See You at Practice,
ERIC STREZENEC

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more people to give it a try

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 29, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 18, 2012

My son has Down Syndrome and would normally not get an opportunity to participate in the exciting sport of hockey. This organization gives him that chance. He feels accomplished and happy when he p... more

September 29, 2013

LI Sled hockey allows my son with Down Syndrome to participate in competitive sports. It strengthens his body and mind and brings him immense joy. It is something he looks forward to with great anticipation and that includes practices.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2012

My son has Down Syndrome and would normally not get an opportunity to participate in the exciting sport of hockey. This organization gives him that chance. He feels accomplished and happy when he participates. He has learned teamwork, patience, skills, and made many friends. It keeps him healthy and gives him a great deal of satisfaction. I am so thankful for the hard work that goes on behind the scene of fund raising, scheduling games, travel plans, and coaching.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 22, 2012

this is an extremely unique program. it combines both mentally and physically challenged athletes and allows them to compete as a team. although challenged these athetes play on a regulation rink with... more

September 5, 2013

this is an amazing organization which combines fun, sportsmanship and competition for its differently abled athletes. they have traveled as a team to compete in Canada and florida affording these players an experience they might not otherwise have been exposed to. all work for this group is done exclusively by volunteers and no salaries are paid to anyone. it is a wonderful experience for anyone to watch these athletes play and enjoy this sport.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

wouldn't change a thing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2012

this is an extremely unique program. it combines both mentally and physically challenged athletes and allows them to compete as a team. although challenged these athetes play on a regulation rink with the same rules and full contact as stand up hockey. the team plays in tournaments both home and away which allow its members a true feeling of camaradie. being part of a team is something many special athletes have not been allowed to experience before. this team is run by a dedicated all volunteer staff. no salary is paid to any coach or board member. all money raised goes directly to the athletes for equipment, travel expences and tournament fees. the only thing more impressive than how the team is run is the smiles of the the athletes, win or lose.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 21, 2012

Long Island Sled Hockey RoughRiders - the best! This is a team composed of athletes, who despite mental and/or physical challenges, have been given the opportunity to participate in the sport of ice ... more

September 5, 2013

Long Island Sled Hockey has been a wonderful part of our lives for over 15 years. Our "differently-abled" son has been part of a team that brings him joy and accomplishment as he plays in an action packed sport!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2012

Long Island Sled Hockey RoughRiders - the best! This is a team composed of athletes, who despite mental and/or physical challenges, have been given the opportunity to participate in the sport of ice hockey. They amaze everyone when their DISABILITY becomes their ABILITY to compete on the ice, demonstrate good sportmanship with a competitive edge and show their electrifying team spirit. As a parent volunteer for over 15 years l have watched every athlete who joined this team develop a personal best. I am proud to have the honor of volunteering with Long Island Sled Hockey and see how this organization has improved the lives of many disabled people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 3, 2013

more

September 3, 2013

I have been attending fund raisers for LI Sled Hockey for 17 years and I am always impressed with the dedication and concern of the volunteers and staff. Having seen this team in action on the ice, it is hard to believe that any of the players are at all physically or mentally challenged. LI Sled Hockey is to be highly commended for providing an opportunity for these players to not only play a sport, but to travel with the team for tournaments.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 29, 2013

more

August 29, 2013

This is an incredible organization. The athletes enjoy playing and competing. LI Sled Hockey provides an opportunity that can be found no where else. See a game if you can - you will be an instant fan. Can't say enough about Bryan Bloomquist and his fellow volunteers. Keep up the great work!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 27, 2013

more

August 27, 2013

This organization has changed my son's life and as a result, brought such pride and happiness into our home. Despite Christopher's significant physical disability, he is able to participate in an organized sport (with hockey happening to be his favorite) and be part of an actual team. Never would we have expected our son to experience the same comradery that the non disabled athlete would feel. Playing sled hockey takes Chris out of his disabled world and allows him to feel like a regular guy. The expectation for him to be a responsible player is a great character builder for Chris and the experience of winning, losing and earning playing time will help prepare Chris for the real world. There is not a negative thing that can be said about this organization or its coaches and volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 25, 2013

more

August 25, 2013

It has been a truly wonderful experience to be a small part of this organization. The commitment of the athlete's, parents, and coach's is something you have to see to believe. They have over the years developed into a fine tuned machine. They offer a chance for people with disabilities to be envolved in something that takes them away when they are on the ice or just being a part of a team. They have a tireless leader and coach, whose fund raising soley supports this wonderful progam.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 25, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 8, 2012

I've been a part of this organization for close to 11 years now and it has truly changed my life. My teammates and the everyone else who makes the organization tick have became a big family and every... more

August 25, 2013

I've been a part of this organization for close to 11 years now and it has truly changed my life. My teammates and the everyone else who makes the organization tick have became a big family and every one is willing to help. The RoughRiders hold a special place in my heart ~Vinny

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2012

I've been a part of this organization for close to 11 years now and it has truly changed my life. My teammates and the everyone else who makes the organization tick have became a big family and every one is willing to help. The RoughRiders hold a special place in my heart ~Vinny

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 24, 2013

more


1 previous review
December 9, 2012

I joined The Long Island Sled Hockey RoughRiders 3 years ago and it has brought back all of the memories and love I felt for the game of hockey I played before I became disabled. Bryan, Frank and th... more

August 24, 2013

The Long Island Sled Hockey RoughRiders is the best organization that I have been involved with since I became disabled. The support staff of voulenteers and parents are amazing. I am proud to wear their jersey and insignia across my chest. They have treated me like family since the first time I hit the ice and have given back to me a sport I loved playing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 9, 2012

I joined The Long Island Sled Hockey RoughRiders 3 years ago and it has brought back all of the memories and love I felt for the game of hockey I played before I became disabled. Bryan, Frank and the rest of the team since the very first day has made me feel like I am part of a family as well as a team. The structure of the organization is fantastic besides all of the outreach that they do for the community they offer amazing opportunities to their players and parents. I cannot say enough good things about this program, if you ever though you could not accomplish something in your life come out and watch the kids and adults play this amazing game and you will see that anything is possible just as long as you try. Thank you Bryan and the rest of the Long Island Sled Hockey RoughRiders, you truly have changed my life for the better.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help sell raffle ticket books for four big-screen Samsung HD TV;s, winners drawn at our holiday party on 12/13