Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
51 Reviews
1234.941185
Write A Review
October 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
August 26, 2013

Since 2008, "The Depot" continues to serve the Southern California community as the ONLY Creative Reuse shop open to the public 6 days a week. Infusing Environmental Education + Art = Creative Reuse, ... more

October 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Founded in 2008, "The Depot" is still the ONLY Creative Reuse shop serving the Southern California area that inspires the equation "Environmental Education + Art = Creative Reuse & Up-Cycling!"
August 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Since 2008, "The Depot" continues to serve the Southern California community as the ONLY Creative Reuse shop open to the public 6 days a week. Infusing Environmental Education + Art = Creative Reuse, their mission has expanded to include "Up-Cycling" During this past year, the Mayor of Long Beach proclaimed June 2, 2013 as "Creative Reuse Day" in honor of "The Depot's" 5th Anniversary. Your contributions directly help cover operating costs in order to continue as a low-cost resource for reusable items along with hosting free creative reuse workshops for the local kids.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Founded in 2008, "The Depot" has been serving our community as the ONLY Creative Reuse shop open to the public in Southern California. Their mission: To encourage & inspire creative reuse of throwaway items that typically end in our landfills while also promoting "unity in our community" through sharing."The Depot" is a recognized City of Long Beach Green Business and a 2011 Grantee of the Pepsi Refresh Project for Environmental Stewardship. Your contributions help them to continue being open (6 days a week) as a low-cost resource for reusable items along with hosting free creative reuse workshops.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 30, 2012

As the resident artist of "The Depot", I can honestly say that growing up in the vicinity of so many interesting (and random) scraps and collections of "junk" has really influenced my view as an artis... more

October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As the resident artist of "The Depot", I think that being around so many interesting people and their collections of "junk" has really influenced my view as an artist. The only thing we should throw away is the mindset that everything is disposable. This shop takes all those extra beads, fabric remnants, broken jewelry, half-used notebooks, and lonely buttons and sells them for a VERY affordable price to artists, teachers, students, neighborhood kids, etc. I believe that creative reuse is a survival skill that everyone needs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 30, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

As the resident artist of "The Depot", I can honestly say that growing up in the vicinity of so many interesting (and random) scraps and collections of "junk" has really influenced my view as an artist. The only thing we should throw away is the mindset that everything is disposable. This shop takes all those extra beads, fabric remnants, broken jewelry, half-used notebooks, and lonely buttons and adopts them out to the loving and creative hands of artists, teachers, students, neighborhood kids, etc. I believe that creative reuse is a survival skill that everyone, today's youth especially, should have. "The Depot' eliminates half if not all of the dumpster-diving. I feel that the neighborhood has truly blossomed in the 5 years that the shop has been here.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

2 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...