Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
1234.945
Write A Review
October 28, 2014

more


3 previous reviews - show all
September 7, 2013

"The Depot" has been serving not only the Long Beach community but all of SoCal for over 5 years now and there's a reason for this...It has and continues to be a much needed resource for teachers, stu... more

October 28, 2014

This is absolutely the best little shop that teaches us how to creatively reuse items that would otherwise ended up in our landfills. A must see place to visit when in the downtown area and definitely a Beach treasure!
September 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

"The Depot" has been serving not only the Long Beach community but all of SoCal for over 5 years now and there's a reason for this...It has and continues to be a much needed resource for teachers, students and our community! Please continue to support their efforts by donating funds to especially help cover rent which is $1500 a month! Thank you Depot for educating and inspiring me to Upcycle!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help them to find a larger space that would be low-cost or no cost.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This is a wonderful resource that really helps "build unity in the community". It not only provides unique materials at low-cost for artists, teachers, students and anyone who believes in helping the earth, but also provides excellent service by cross-promoting other businesses as well. It is an inspiring shop filled with ideas for any DIY project and the prices are unbelievable (many items at 25 cents or less!). They also have a Thank You from The President and Mrs. Obama and hosted 2 awesome events (Pepsi Refresh Creative Reuse Day and Really Really Free Day). This is truly a Long Beach treasure and deserves your support!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

This is a wonderful resource that really helps "build unity in the community". It not only provides unique materials at low-cost for artists, teachers, students and anyone who believes in helping the earth, but also provides excellent service by cross-promoting other businesses as well. It is an inspiring shop filled with ideas for any DIY project and the prices are unbelievable (many items at 25 cents or less!). They also have a Thank You from The President and Mrs. Obama and hosted 2 awesome events (Pepsi Refresh Creative Reuse Day and Really Really Free Day). This is truly a Long Beach treasure and deserves your support!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

This is my go-to place first whenever I'm searching for something random to add to my artwork.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ask them to get more support in order to open up more similar shops in SoCal.

October 26, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

This is a great stop for inspiration - they have a great assortment of everything under the sun and they have examples of ways to use it. They hold workshops and demonstrations to show you how to upcycle and they are also a great community hub - stop by to find out what's going on the LBC.
If
you need something for an Art Project, School Project, or any DIY Project. Find stuff to make cards and gifts, or just go on a treasure hunt for something interesting that catches your eye.
Always so affordable - and you are being green, because they collect all the stuff that would be thrown out or discarded without a thought... and they hold it for you to come find your inspiration.
Bring your kids - or the kid in you.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them into a bigger space so they could do more of what they do. They get so many donations sometimes they can't keep up ... if they had the room to collect even more and also room to rock out more workshops - that would be great.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I love this place! It is a great concept that makes everyone feel good! Our family loves donating just as much as finding treasures in the store!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 16, 2012

The Depot and the people who run it (Lisa and Yoshino) practice true stewardship. They have created this beautiful non-profit to help create a paradigm shift. Through their guidance they help people... more

August 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I first met Lisa in 2009, when we were in the midst of planning the first Green Long Beach Festival, she was this spunky and intelligent woman with a huge heart. From that point on, I witnessed her dedication and sincerity in serving the community of Long Beach. She has been a pillar of resources and inspiration to the local art community here along with teachers, youth and general public. I personally have been able to donate items that would otherwise end up in a landfill and benefited as a client. As a customer I found items for my DIY Wedding and to use in the classes I teach. She is always there with a smile on her face, promoting local artists and community events and shifting the perspective of how we view the world. This place is a true gem in our big city.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

clone it, to make it available to every one.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The Depot and the people who run it (Lisa and Yoshino) practice true stewardship. They have created this beautiful non-profit to help create a paradigm shift. Through their guidance they help people look at their world differently. Ordinary items that for many would appear as trash and end in landfills have now taken new light and serve as treasures for parents, artists, teachers, crafters and the general public. This is no ordinary business. The founders empower the community on a daily basis by hosting special events, classes, activities, supporting artists, partnering with neighboring businesses and like-minded organizations. They inspire us all to be more active citizens by engaging in the political process and always looking at how to make Long Beach a better place to live. Lisa Hernandez is a true leader and visionary. There isn’t anything quite like the Long Beach Depot For Creative ReUse. As a resident I have been able to donate items from my household and as a business owner, I have had the luck to work with Lisa on various projects and am so proud to have this great resource as part of our “Green City.” I wish them many more years of growth and success.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
August 26, 2013

For over 5 years now, the Creative Reuse depot continues to be the only place where you can not only be inspired to reuse items that might otherwise end up in the trash, but is a terrific role model f... more

October 29, 2014

A Long Beach gem, this little store has some new and gently used items that can be reused for fun creative projects without having to spend a lot of money. It really is the only place where you can actually find items beginning at .01 cents like old postage stamps to unique local artists' work where they receive 100% proceeds! Support and donate generously, all monies go to literally help pay the rent of the space!
August 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

For over 5 years now, the Creative Reuse depot continues to be the only place where you can not only be inspired to reuse items that might otherwise end up in the trash, but is a terrific role model for small businesses. The fact that they are still surviving especially during this economy shows that this type of business is a necessity in our community, if not the entire U.S.! Whenever I need just that little something to finish one of my pieces, they always have it or something even better. They always "far exceed" and deserve 100 stars for all of their efforts in educating us to be more "green".

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help them secure a rent free location so that they wouldn't have to stress about paying rent all the time.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The Creative Reuse Depot has become quite the Long Beach Treasure and such a wonderful model for others to follow. Lisa, her daughter Yoshi and the supporting artist team really do build unity in the community through their collective efforts of sharing their "up-cycling" talents and generosity. They have actually educated me in how to reduce through reuse and now I hardly throw anything away! I absolutely love the various creative displays and Yoshi's workshops are wonderful, especially the art of Yarn bombing (I even learned how to finger crochet!). Their work is simply fantastic and truly deserving of a Top Rated Non-Profit award.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My 'other' names for The Long Beach Depot for Creative ReUse are "The Little Shop Around the Corner" and "The Clubhouse." It is not only an East Village Arts District phenomenon, but it also draws in the larger creative community, the whole City of Long Beach and beyond. One can find thingamajigs and buttons, gizmos and fabric, doodads and paint. You can also rummage around in "The Box of Awesomeness." Then you go home and make something wonderful with your stuff! I personally buy beads, yarn, and these wonderful little formica pieces that come in different finishes like granite, malachite, marble and wood. The joy of creating is enhanced by the knowledge that worthwhile items, already in the consumer world, are being reinvented or redesigned into something else that is useful, decorative or both. It's a win/win/win and a warm, welcoming and fun place.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

The Depot has become a bellwether in downtown Long each, a place where the public can find the most unusual items for - as the name explains - creative reuse, as well as everyday tools (wrapping paper cards, sage, toilet paper rolls, corks) for creative re-manufacture. A place where preconceptions should be left at the door and where everyone is welcome, The Depot is my home away from home.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 2, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

August 2, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

This is an amazing creative and political hub in a downtown that desperately needs it! I have received wonderful ideas from Lisa and Yoshino for how to integrate art into the classroom. These dynamic women are so inspiring and really setting up a business model that should, and really MUST, be replicated. They are in my head every time I walk to my trash can, which is actually a compliment! I have to ask myself when I spend money or throw things away- do I have to buy this new? Can this be reused? How can I look at this another way? What will it mean for my children and our future if I buy this or toss that? Support this business!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 3, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 3, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

LBDCR is a really unique place to find gift ideas, all the knick-knacks and doo-dads are cool to assemble into your own fun idea. My friends 40th b-day was getting close and I found little gold 4's and 0's, along with puzzle pieces, polished stones, glittery tubes and a hand made card from a local artist. I put them all together in a big red envelope I also found in the store and sent it off to my friend...when she got it in the mail she wrote and said it was the most fun present she'd gotten from anyone! Thanks to everyone at the depot-)

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

how the community is able to think of recycling in artistic ways.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing.

January 27, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 27, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

It's true that a place in your dreams can actually exist! You have to go there in person to understand that it really is beyond words alone. They carry all the little stuff that you can't really find any place else and cheap! For a small place, it packs a lot and you can spend hours there so if you drive, watch your meter! They are really helping the public and artists with their service and support. I go there whenever I'm stressed and need a positive place to hang out in. Thank you Creative Reuse depot.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

whenever I go there's always people in there and some of them are new to the area and get so excited at seeing all of the stuff in the store. I like to see the kids making crafts outside too.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

ask them to open up more places.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

2 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...