Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
1234.945
Write A Review
December 12, 2014

more

December 12, 2014

Not really a fan. Nothing especially helpful that you couldn't find yourself for free with a little effort or calling a couple friends. I'm an artist and big fan of greener re-use, and I had high hopes for this outfit when I arrived in LB 5 years ago, but it's a little underwhelming. Besides the owner tends to give me the hairy eye whenever I walk in, even though she doesn't really know me and has never really introduced herself to me - probably has something to do with when she and her friends tried to run the arts nonprofit that my studio is in out of town on a rail.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have them be a little kinder to their nonprofit neighbors.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 15, 2012

I love this store!! I'm a teaching artist in schools (puppetry) and I always find the best materials here to help inspire my students. Lisa and her daughter are so committed to the notion of creativ... more

October 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I teach puppetry in schools and find the Depot to be a GREAT source for materials and inspiration! The store always has a great selection and I look forward to popping over there to see what's new! Lisa's vision and dedication to the recycling cause is awe-inspiring! Kudos from "the Puppet Lady"...ellen schulze
November 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I love this store!! I'm a teaching artist in schools (puppetry) and I always find the best materials here to help inspire my students. Lisa and her daughter are so committed to the notion of creative recycling that I am always re-inspired everytime I walk through the door! Keep up the great work!...Ellen Schulze, The Puppet Lady :)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This place helped me out so much during college. I was Child and Family Development Major and would create projects for children either for presentations in a classroom or for the children to participate and learn. Being able to buy miscellaneous items that I would not have been able to find some where else is amazing. Also it helped that I didn't have to spend to much money on the product, and for a struggling college student, that is a life savor.
All the items that are reusable can help people create so many things that are beautiful pieces of art. Not only has it helped me, but it has also helped my nieces express their creativity by opening their minds to the possibilities they can create. They have made items such as beds for dolls, harry potter wands, and many things they use to play with and they are always very proud to say they built them.
October 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

It's a great recycle, reusable and all around green creative store for awesome DIY projects. These ladies always greet you with a sincere and happy smile and their willingness to help is beyond compare. They have tons of creative ideas for anything you would like to make. And best of all they're promoting a greener planet by leading by example.
October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I work at another non profit down the street from The Long Beach Depot For Creative ReUse, and I give this concept and the owners a long Standing Ovation.
They are smart, green, community oriented , welcoming, extremely creative, and believe in giving back. If you have kids or are a teacher or
a student needing to create a science project, or just a creative person in general, The Long Beach Depot for Creative ReUse should become your number 1 resource for filling your needs. The inventory changes all the time, and you can shop with confidence knowing that your purchase is going to a great non profit. The prices are Better than reasonable and the cause is even better. LOVE the Depot!!!! Stop by you will too!
October 29, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
August 26, 2013

For over 5 years now, the Creative Reuse depot continues to be the only place where you can not only be inspired to reuse items that might otherwise end up in the trash, but is a terrific role model f... more

October 29, 2014

A Long Beach gem, this little store has some new and gently used items that can be reused for fun creative projects without having to spend a lot of money. It really is the only place where you can actually find items beginning at .01 cents like old postage stamps to unique local artists' work where they receive 100% proceeds! Support and donate generously, all monies go to literally help pay the rent of the space!
August 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

For over 5 years now, the Creative Reuse depot continues to be the only place where you can not only be inspired to reuse items that might otherwise end up in the trash, but is a terrific role model for small businesses. The fact that they are still surviving especially during this economy shows that this type of business is a necessity in our community, if not the entire U.S.! Whenever I need just that little something to finish one of my pieces, they always have it or something even better. They always "far exceed" and deserve 100 stars for all of their efforts in educating us to be more "green".

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help them secure a rent free location so that they wouldn't have to stress about paying rent all the time.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The Creative Reuse Depot has become quite the Long Beach Treasure and such a wonderful model for others to follow. Lisa, her daughter Yoshi and the supporting artist team really do build unity in the community through their collective efforts of sharing their "up-cycling" talents and generosity. They have actually educated me in how to reduce through reuse and now I hardly throw anything away! I absolutely love the various creative displays and Yoshi's workshops are wonderful, especially the art of Yarn bombing (I even learned how to finger crochet!). Their work is simply fantastic and truly deserving of a Top Rated Non-Profit award.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I love this store, it's variety of reusable items and amazing recycling idea's. It also supports it local artist and surrounding communities. I love Liza and her daughter., their dedication and amazing customer service, not to mention their amazing kindness and generosity. Love them, love them, love them.....
October 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 15, 2012

I love this place! My children and I frequently find ourselves here out of adventure. You never know what you might find. A few weeks ago we stopped by and I found dried gourds that I took home and pa... more

October 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

You will never find another store like this! It is amazing how many different things you can find here. Need something to finish that craft you started, they got it here trust me! The owner and her daughter are so sweet and always helpful. We go here and it's like a wonderland for crafters and artists.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None!!!! Stay who you are!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I love this place! My children and I frequently find ourselves here out of adventure. You never know what you might find. A few weeks ago we stopped by and I found dried gourds that I took home and painted for the Autumn center piece on our table. I bought corks to make into Christmas gifts and even found some AMAZING findings to use in my jewelry making. Lisa, the owner and her daughter are always on hand for help finding things or just a good chat. They are very familiar with the goings on in the neighborhood as well and have tipped me off to a few awesome events that we attended. I find myself relying on them for not only inexpensive up-cycling but also very useful in finding that hard to find little thing I might need to finish a piece.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This place is truly magical. I was just in there the other day looking for some scrap thread to finish the last few inches of hem I needed on a skirt I was making. I didn't expect to find anything in the same shade as my fabric, but I thought I would give it a try anyway. The Depot has saved me many times before on other projects. Lisa was very helpful and let me use a couple of trays to sort through the thread bin so I could separate the more favorable shades from everything else. I ended up finding the exact shade I needed and it cost way less than I would have spent if i went anywhere else.
This kind of result is typical at The Depot. Other customers I've talked to have the same life (or project)-saving experience. I absolutely love this store and I feel that it's existence greatly benefits the community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had the money I would pay Lisa to open more little shops like this allover the country!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

When you think of the Long Beach community, you think of support. Lisa and Yoshino both are a great example of this. They support their neighbors, local artists, other nonprofits, and businesses. Most of all I really admire their passion to also spread the word on how precious the environment is by educating on how to reuse waste. They see the big picture and I am forever grateful for having such responsible, kind and proactive neighbors!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get a bigger store ans storage!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

2 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...