Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
51 Reviews
1234.941185
Write A Review
April 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Long Beach Depot is part of the Upycling movement - they play a key role in accepting donations of items that other organizations will not take - especially arts and crafts supplies and than distributing them to those in need for very little or for nothing. We all need to do our part but LBDFCR led by Lisa Hernadez and her daughter are doing great things for the Long Beach Community as they seek to Upcycle waste and divert from landfills. jeffrey s. lemanksy UPcycler in Chief @ Upcyclity.com

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My 'other' names for The Long Beach Depot for Creative ReUse are "The Little Shop Around the Corner" and "The Clubhouse." It is not only an East Village Arts District phenomenon, but it also draws in the larger creative community, the whole City of Long Beach and beyond. One can find thingamajigs and buttons, gizmos and fabric, doodads and paint. You can also rummage around in "The Box of Awesomeness." Then you go home and make something wonderful with your stuff! I personally buy beads, yarn, and these wonderful little formica pieces that come in different finishes like granite, malachite, marble and wood. The joy of creating is enhanced by the knowledge that worthwhile items, already in the consumer world, are being reinvented or redesigned into something else that is useful, decorative or both. It's a win/win/win and a warm, welcoming and fun place.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 19, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Well organized and super friendly! This is a such a fun place to spend time treasure hunting in! It's so great that they are recycling art supplies and other items to be used creatively and offering them at such affordable prices. If you are anywhere near Long Beach I highly encourage you to come check it out!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 19, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Not only does the Creative ReUse Depot have a wonderful selection of trinkets, they offer services to the community so creative projects can happen as well as fairs and workshops to make trash into treasures! I have learned creative ways to reUse grocery bags into purses and cardboard into bus pass holders, business cards, and so much more. The part of this store that impressed me the most was when I took a group of artists with mental disabilities to the creative reuse depot and we were embraced with open arms. The staff patiently showed the group idea's for art projects and help supply items that we sold at our Farmer's Market Booth. THANK YOU CREATIVE REUSE!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I found the Creative Depot for ReUse while walking around Long Beach and entered a world of infinite imagination. Everything you thought could not be put to use but can is found here. Both Lisa and Yoshi have a smile that lights up a room greet you making you comfortable and family. The Depot brings the community together and inspires everyone who enters.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

The Creative Depot for ReUse is one of my favorite stores to visit in Long Beach. I love their mission and think every city in the world should have one or more. The owner, Lisa and her daughter are always so friendly and helpful. The store is so organized and always is an enjoyable experience to find amazing reused items for art and craft projects.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

The Depot inspires and builds unity in our community. It's a place where people of all ages meet and discuss projects and ideas together. My sister, a supporting artist of The Depot introduced me to them at the end of 2009. Since then, I have also been a supporting artist. They have made it possible for me, in these hard times, to make clothing and artwork, without having to spend a lot of money on materials, therefore allowing me to sell my products for a fair price. For the past few years I have made it one of my goals to have as low of an impact as possible on the environment. One of the things I have taken on is the challenge of reducing as much as possible the amount of trash and recyclable items I consume. The Depot does this quite well and in an organized manner, making it possible for visitors to find all sorts of colorful items. Therefore for me, The Depot is a planet saver, because they help "would be thrown away items" stay out of our landfills, keeping our city more and more eco-friendly and birthing environmental consciousness within our community. If I could, I would put one on every block. We humans consume too much and we need to wake people up before it's too late. The Depot has changed my life in such a positive way. I recommend The Depot to all my students, friends and family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

The Depot has become a bellwether in downtown Long each, a place where the public can find the most unusual items for - as the name explains - creative reuse, as well as everyday tools (wrapping paper cards, sage, toilet paper rolls, corks) for creative re-manufacture. A place where preconceptions should be left at the door and where everyone is welcome, The Depot is my home away from home.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I LOVE The Depot! The shop itself is organized, colorful, creative and I always discover something new and interesting...it might be on the wall, an odd item among the shelves or the latest community news from Lisa. And did I mention it's cheap? I never have to worry about breaking the bank with this place. I can fill my basket with artistic goodies and only pay three dollars! Besides art, my main passion is sewing and The Depot is a wonderful supplier of fabric--from childish to vintage--I will find exactly what I need. I also love sharing The Depot with friends. Their excited faces are only a reflection of my own. I feel so blessed to live near this special store!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I can't think of another non-profit offering so much REAL change in the field of environmental stewardship education and support of the local art community. The Depot also provides the larger community with an amazing option to donate their creative "waste," knowing that it is valuable and will be put to great use. The co-founders are true leaders:: Lisa is a fire-starter, constantly engaging the community and creating opportunities for greater awareness and fun; Yoshino is an incredibly talented artist and frequently shares her gifts for free to students of every age. I absolutely reap some of the tremendous amount of love that goes into and spills out of the Depot... It's an invaluable resource for our city and an example for our greater world community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

2 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...