Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
49 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 15, 2012

I love this place! My children and I frequently find ourselves here out of adventure. You never know what you might find. A few weeks ago we stopped by and I found dried gourds that I took home and pa... more

October 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

You will never find another store like this! It is amazing how many different things you can find here. Need something to finish that craft you started, they got it here trust me! The owner and her daughter are so sweet and always helpful. We go here and it's like a wonderland for crafters and artists.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None!!!! Stay who you are!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I love this place! My children and I frequently find ourselves here out of adventure. You never know what you might find. A few weeks ago we stopped by and I found dried gourds that I took home and painted for the Autumn center piece on our table. I bought corks to make into Christmas gifts and even found some AMAZING findings to use in my jewelry making. Lisa, the owner and her daughter are always on hand for help finding things or just a good chat. They are very familiar with the goings on in the neighborhood as well and have tipped me off to a few awesome events that we attended. I find myself relying on them for not only inexpensive up-cycling but also very useful in finding that hard to find little thing I might need to finish a piece.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

This is a great stop for inspiration - they have a great assortment of everything under the sun and they have examples of ways to use it. They hold workshops and demonstrations to show you how to upcycle and they are also a great community hub - stop by to find out what's going on the LBC.
If
you need something for an Art Project, School Project, or any DIY Project. Find stuff to make cards and gifts, or just go on a treasure hunt for something interesting that catches your eye.
Always so affordable - and you are being green, because they collect all the stuff that would be thrown out or discarded without a thought... and they hold it for you to come find your inspiration.
Bring your kids - or the kid in you.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them into a bigger space so they could do more of what they do. They get so many donations sometimes they can't keep up ... if they had the room to collect even more and also room to rock out more workshops - that would be great.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This place is truly magical. I was just in there the other day looking for some scrap thread to finish the last few inches of hem I needed on a skirt I was making. I didn't expect to find anything in the same shade as my fabric, but I thought I would give it a try anyway. The Depot has saved me many times before on other projects. Lisa was very helpful and let me use a couple of trays to sort through the thread bin so I could separate the more favorable shades from everything else. I ended up finding the exact shade I needed and it cost way less than I would have spent if i went anywhere else.
This kind of result is typical at The Depot. Other customers I've talked to have the same life (or project)-saving experience. I absolutely love this store and I feel that it's existence greatly benefits the community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had the money I would pay Lisa to open more little shops like this allover the country!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I love this place! It is a great concept that makes everyone feel good! Our family loves donating just as much as finding treasures in the store!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 16, 2012

The Depot and the people who run it (Lisa and Yoshino) practice true stewardship. They have created this beautiful non-profit to help create a paradigm shift. Through their guidance they help people... more

August 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I first met Lisa in 2009, when we were in the midst of planning the first Green Long Beach Festival, she was this spunky and intelligent woman with a huge heart. From that point on, I witnessed her dedication and sincerity in serving the community of Long Beach. She has been a pillar of resources and inspiration to the local art community here along with teachers, youth and general public. I personally have been able to donate items that would otherwise end up in a landfill and benefited as a client. As a customer I found items for my DIY Wedding and to use in the classes I teach. She is always there with a smile on her face, promoting local artists and community events and shifting the perspective of how we view the world. This place is a true gem in our big city.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

clone it, to make it available to every one.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The Depot and the people who run it (Lisa and Yoshino) practice true stewardship. They have created this beautiful non-profit to help create a paradigm shift. Through their guidance they help people look at their world differently. Ordinary items that for many would appear as trash and end in landfills have now taken new light and serve as treasures for parents, artists, teachers, crafters and the general public. This is no ordinary business. The founders empower the community on a daily basis by hosting special events, classes, activities, supporting artists, partnering with neighboring businesses and like-minded organizations. They inspire us all to be more active citizens by engaging in the political process and always looking at how to make Long Beach a better place to live. Lisa Hernandez is a true leader and visionary. There isn’t anything quite like the Long Beach Depot For Creative ReUse. As a resident I have been able to donate items from my household and as a business owner, I have had the luck to work with Lisa on various projects and am so proud to have this great resource as part of our “Green City.” I wish them many more years of growth and success.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This place is fantastic! All I had to do was call and make an appointment to donate. Sometimes they get too many unscheduled donations and I have to wait until they have room again, but it's a great feeling when I get to drop off a bag of wine corks or paper rolls or old game pieces. My friends think I'm nuts for keeping all that stuff, but no one looks at me funny over there. Donating stuff also gives me an excuse to walk around the store and get some ideas for art projects. The ladies there are really helpful and I love seeing what other people do with my stuff.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change the organization, but I wish someone would give them a bigger space... For FREE! They work so hard to sort out the items and put them on the shelves so other people can donate. Maybe if they had some reliable volunteers to help them?

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

When you think of the Long Beach community, you think of support. Lisa and Yoshino both are a great example of this. They support their neighbors, local artists, other nonprofits, and businesses. Most of all I really admire their passion to also spread the word on how precious the environment is by educating on how to reuse waste. They see the big picture and I am forever grateful for having such responsible, kind and proactive neighbors!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get a bigger store ans storage!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The Depot is a precious gem here in our city. I've definitely cherished the level of knowledge, skills, and expertise both Lisa & Yoshi have in strengthening creativity and collaboration in our community. We're lucky to have a great avenue to share with family, friends, and neighbors! I always recommend visiting the Depot to my friends and visitors!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Long Beach Depot is part of the Upycling movement - they play a key role in accepting donations of items that other organizations will not take - especially arts and crafts supplies and than distributing them to those in need for very little or for nothing. We all need to do our part but LBDFCR led by Lisa Hernadez and her daughter are doing great things for the Long Beach Community as they seek to Upcycle waste and divert from landfills. jeffrey s. lemanksy UPcycler in Chief @ Upcyclity.com

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My 'other' names for The Long Beach Depot for Creative ReUse are "The Little Shop Around the Corner" and "The Clubhouse." It is not only an East Village Arts District phenomenon, but it also draws in the larger creative community, the whole City of Long Beach and beyond. One can find thingamajigs and buttons, gizmos and fabric, doodads and paint. You can also rummage around in "The Box of Awesomeness." Then you go home and make something wonderful with your stuff! I personally buy beads, yarn, and these wonderful little formica pieces that come in different finishes like granite, malachite, marble and wood. The joy of creating is enhanced by the knowledge that worthwhile items, already in the consumer world, are being reinvented or redesigned into something else that is useful, decorative or both. It's a win/win/win and a warm, welcoming and fun place.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

2 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...