Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
1234.518525
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
March 14, 2013

more

March 14, 2013

Fantastic and friendly staff. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to make a difference in their community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 27, 2013

more

February 27, 2013

I must admit, I had no idea what was in store for me when I agreed to go with my friend to the Lombard Soup Kitchen. Needless to say I wasn't exactly excited, but WOW. The people that work there are amazing, and the community members being served are fantastic. I've been making weekly trips to help out and am never disappointed. Everybody should make their way down, and if you don't, do something for the community. Volunteer somewhere, donate money to some foundation, do an event for a cause, go out and make the world a better place.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 22, 2013

more

February 22, 2013

Lombard soup kitchen is life changing. Both those who serve and those being served are the most gracious people I have ever met. Lombard put the world in perspective for me and showed me how even though times can be hard (and I mean really hard) there are always reasons to be thankful. Starting my Friday mornings off with Lombard starts my day off right and is always a great way to wrap up a stressful week at school. Thank you Lombard!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 20, 2013

more

February 20, 2013

The people that are running the kitchen are wonderful. They make you feel welcome, and they are providing a great service to the people of Philadelphia. I would definitely recommend volunteering there to friends.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 3, 2012

more

May 3, 2012

This is a great service to the persons in need of the West Philadelphia area. They not only offer food, but medical information and limited screening, a warm place to be and even kinder individuals to staff it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 4, 2012

more

January 4, 2012

This charity was a wonderful soup kitchen. The food was wonderful and the people were so friendly. The group leader, Danny, was great. Though there was not much to do, I feel we helped a lot. We also got the chance to talk to the people coming for a meal there and that is very important to me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 9, 2011

more

December 9, 2011

This was my first time volunteering at Lombard Central Presbyterian Church soup kitchen, and I felt so welcomed. It was very lively and fun to volunteer here, and if you asked about something, there's always someone helping you. The people and atmosphere made the experience so much better, and I know that this volunteer service was going for a good cause. I would definitely come back.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 9, 2011

more

December 9, 2011

In the several trips I have made to Lombard so far this year, I have been extremely impressed. To be honest, interacting with the individuals (both those serving and those being served) at the soup kitchen was probably just as beneficial to me as it was to those I tried to help. Though the wealth gap in America is startling, and I have always known about it, one cannot truly understand the severity of the problem of hunger until one witnesses it firsthand. On my first day at Lombard, I heard a woman proclaim, "Jesus is so good! I thought I was going to have to wait till Tuesday to eat!" (this was on the preceding Friday). I was blown away. I must admit, I wish I had gotten to do more interacting with the individuals at the soup kitchen instead of just cleaning, but that was likely due to the scheduling difficulties on my end of the volunteering experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 9, 2011

more

December 9, 2011

I think this is a great service to the community. I feel we had a few to many volunteers the day I volunteered, so we did all have something to do the whole time. I know that it is hard to know how many volunteerers are going to show up each day.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 9, 2011

more

December 9, 2011

Overall it was very good. The people there were nice and were extremely welcoming. They told us what we needed to do and helped us put if we had any issues.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist in the daily operation of the Soup kitchen such as preparation, serving and clean-up