Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
1234.518525
| 1 1 2 3 | Next
Write A Review
December 5, 2011

more

December 5, 2011

Great place to volunteer. Good atmosphere and also filled with very generous people. It really puts life into perspective and is a great volunteering opportunity for anyone interested.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 5, 2011

more

December 5, 2011

During my time at the Lombard Soup Kitchen, I was able to witness a level of gratitude and joy that is hard to come by. Everyone from the chefs preparing the food, the owner of the church, and the recipients of the the meal were friendly and open. I was able to sit down and talk with the people there and they accepted me instantly with smiling eyes. The whole process was life-changing. I was glad to be able to satisfy the needy by simply serving them food. Everything was well organized and the environment was welcoming.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 4, 2011

more

December 4, 2011

Basically, I was donating time to help cleaning and serving food there. It’s quite simple.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 4, 2011

more

December 4, 2011

I really enjoyed my experience volunteering at Lombard. Although my schedule required arriving after food had actually been distributed, I still got a chance to talk to some of the visitors to the soup kitchen. It was nice to hear a little of their stories and visit with them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 1, 2011

more

December 1, 2011

I assisted serving people in need of this West Philadelphia shelter. When I heard about this kitchen, I was a bit skeptical of soup kitchens, especially in West Philly. This place changed my whole view of soup kitchens. The staff was great, the daily people that came in were great, and working with a volunteer team definitely brightens everyone's day. After going once, I went back at least two more times, because I enjoyed helping out wherever I could. It was a great way to interact with not only my friends, but talk to people who can really use a hand in this neighborhood.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 30, 2011

more

November 30, 2011

Before attending Lombard's soup kitchen service as a volunteer, I had only seen one other soup kitchen. The other kitchen was great, but what I really like about Lombard was the incorporation of the religion into the meal. It is not a quick line-up, eat, and leave, rather volunteers come together twice each week to prepare meals for any and all while taking time to reach out spiritually to guest and volunteer alike. The organization provides civic engagement opportunities open to many thousands of students in the University City, Philadelphia, area. All around, this organization does well in aiding the community in multiple ways.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

During a pre-meal spiritual session, I was able to connect with the subject matter though my creed is different. It was that everything was planned out before any of us were even born, and that everything that will ever happen is part of the plan.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would give the organization more publicity and support in the public eye.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

At this time, I cannot think of ways to improve my volunteer experience. I was very satisfied with my service there, as I did not expect to come away from it with the peace of mind that I did.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I met several members of my own university as well as students from other schools in Philadelphia.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

In my hectic schedule with school, it gave me a few hours of escape and a chance to relax and be around some good people. It helped me feel at peace in my otherwise stressful day.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 16, 2010

more

November 16, 2010

This Soup Kitchen has been in the community for many years and has touched the lives of so many. They turn no one down - no questions asked - you are a child of God and you are welcome in your father's house! Wonderful program - can not say enough about the volunteers and church members who give their time to run this program.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

in helping out a friend that had a house fire

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them more funding and food - with the economy the way it is today - more lives are hit with hardship and the need is great for assitance - food, clothing, tolietries, etc.

| 1 1 2 3 | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist in the daily operation of the Soup kitchen such as preparation, serving and clean-up