Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
1234.518525
Write A Review
December 9, 2011

more

December 9, 2011

Overall it was very good. The people there were nice and were extremely welcoming. They told us what we needed to do and helped us put if we had any issues.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 8, 2011

more

December 8, 2011

When I came in the Soup Kitchen, it looked like a habitat. Some people in there were homeless or lost their ability. This place provides food, drink, and clothes for free. What’s more, the most interesting thing was that, there was a priest (not really a priest, maybe just a speaker) who wear a casual T-shirt and read the Bible loudly to those people.
What I did was carried some boxes of can, filled up drink in plastic cup and hang out those drink for people who sitting in there. These jobs were pretty easy for me, and it funny because I can hear the Bible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 8, 2011

more

December 8, 2011

Doing volunteer work for the soup kitchen was a very interesting experience which opened my eyes to things I take for granted. Going there made me feel that I am making some kind of a difference.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 8, 2011

more

December 8, 2011

I chose to volunteer at Lombard soup kitchen because some of my friends told me it was a great opportunity. I worked in the kitchen to help the personnel to cook for the poor people. I really enjoy it. I didn't know that a simple meal (chicken and soup) can give to so many people a smile and make their day. I will definitely recommended it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 8, 2011

more

December 8, 2011

The soup kitchen provides me with a source of nutrition as well as a place to be in touch with the people in and around my community. It proves me with a sense of camaraderie. I can see that there is hope in America for the underclass and the spirit of giving is still alive. The volunteers from the various schools and organizations is impressive. I feel that it is a positive part of the neighborhood. I enjoy coming to the kitchen which also provides spiritual input to those who are down on their luck.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 7, 2011

more

December 7, 2011

The way the church and the food cupboard helped me is giving the Lord's word. That helps me through the days of my life. They give you food for your body. But the main thing is giving the Lord's word. And they help you in any kind of way that they can help you with. And the people who work in the soup kitchen they all are very nice people to be dealing with the public.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 6, 2011

more

December 6, 2011

Myself and a few of my colleagues from the Drexel University Department of Athletics came together and volunteered at the Lombard Soup Kitchen. For me personally it was a great experience and it felt so nice to know we were helping others!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Spruce the place up a little, possibly a scrub down and a paint job. I would also organize the number of volunteers groups better, by not scheduling too many on one particular day.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

It would be more beneficial to spread out the volunteer groups over specific days of the week. There were more volunteers there than needed. So, if each volunteer group had scheduled days then there be too many people there at one time.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes, I saw first hand how a soup kitchen is beneficial to those in need.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

This experience made me feel helpful, and appreciated.

December 6, 2011

more

December 6, 2011

I really enjoyed volunteering here. The people were nice and friendly, and the work wasn't difficult at all, though it wouldn't have been a problem if it was.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 6, 2011

more

December 6, 2011

I work in the Athletics Department at Drexel. We have decided to team up with the Lombard Soup Kitchen once a month for our staff members to volunteer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would re-paint the facility and do a thorough clean of the floors.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Ask for less volunteers

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

It just made me feel better knowing I was helping others

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Good

December 5, 2011

more

December 5, 2011

I really enjoyed working with the people at the Lombard Soup Kitchen. I volunteered two times and each time I went, I did different things. I swept the leaves off the porch and the walkways, cleaned one of the back rooms, set up tables and chairs for a service, swept the basement floor and distributed the meals to the people. My favorite part was being able to talk to the people. We could have down time to just talk, eat and see what kinds of experiences the people had. It was great hearing their stories and where they've been throughout the years. One thing that I would say that could be improved would be to have an actual "to-do" list or a schedule of the things we do there. At times I would stand around and not really know what to do next. I would have liked to know before hand what we can do that way I can use my time efficiently and get work done as much as possible to help as best I can. Other than that, I really did enjoy volunteering there and I would volunteer again. Denney definitely added to my experience because he is a very friendly, helpful person with the program and the experience itself. He helped me realize certain things about Drexel that I would not ordinarily have noticed. He is a great leader for this program and he has a great personality that can work with all types of people which I noticed when I volunteered with him. The Lombard Soup Kitchen is a great program if you want to give back to the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist in the daily operation of the Soup kitchen such as preparation, serving and clean-up