Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
34 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3 4 |
Write A Review
November 3, 2012

more

November 3, 2012

Loft personnel and mentors have provided me with new skills and lots of confidence. When I see my prose in print, my first comment is, “Thank you Loft!”

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

The Loft is one of my artistic homes. It's where I first took a poetry class that would eventually lead me to graduate school and an MFA. It's where I've been able to work with outstanding mentors from here in Minnesota and around the country. It's where I've been able to listen to gorgeous, potent, and alive readings by writers from all walks of life. It's an invaluable community resource that brings together both published and emerging writers, young and mature. The Loft is a local and national treasure.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

After I graduated with a BA in English, I began to panic: What on earth do I do post-undergrad? This flailing about led me to acquire an M.Ed and teach high school for a number of years, forgetting my original, long held life goal of going for an MFA and writing. Soon, I was sucked into the duties of a high school teacher, with five co-curriculars and some of the most emotionally and energy draining preps, as one is wont to receive as a first-year teacher. My husband gave me a gift certificate to take courses at the Loft in 2007, and that changed everything for me. It went from an institution where I'd attended readings and admired from a distance to a place that helped re-energize me and remind me of my original and deepest passions. Now, five or so years later, and I've taught in the youth program, and am currently a mentee in the program the connects emerging writers with local and national writers. It's a heady feeling, and I have had nothing but excellent support from the staff and instructors. Minneapolis is a startlingly lucky city to have such a thriving community in its midst.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I love everything about The Loft, from the building to the classes to the readings and events! I started taking classes there about seven years ago, and now I volunteer for a reading series. There's a home for every writer here.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

The Loft is the only literary center of its kind in the country and it has become my literary home. Four years ago, I decided it was time to pursue my dream of being a writer. I began taking classes at The Loft and my first fiction teacher, Donna Trump, became my first mentor. This was not an official mentorship. Donna took me under her wing, because, she said, “I saw something in your writing." There was no compensation, but this is the sort of experience people tend to have with folks affiliated with The Loft. Not only is The Loft an amazing literary center, the writers and artists associated with it help to create and build a supportive literary community. Writing is a difficult and solitary endeavor. In a world where books and technology and the publishing world are forever in flux, I doubt I would be where I am today without The Loft and a teaching artist like Donna. I went on to take classes from other talented writers such as Robert Voedisch, Kate St. Vincent Vogel, and Dale Gregory Anderson and began publishing my work. After three years, I applied for The Loft’s Mentor Series Award and was accepted. Under the tutelage of the program’s outstanding writers and teachers such as Lan Samantha Chang, Marlon James, Leslie Adrienne Miller, and John Hildebrand, I took my writing and my projects to the next level. With the help of my fellow program participants and The Loft’s extremely talented Program Director, Jerod Santek, I applied for and was awarded a Minnesota State Arts Board Grant as well as a Jerome Foundation Travel and Study Grant. Without The Loft, these opportunities would not have been possible for me. My experience with The Loft Literary Center set me on a trajectory toward attainable goals, a new and exciting career path, and MFA in Creative Writing, and a place within an outstanding literary community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Loft is an amazing place. Over the last five years the Loft has provided me with a novel writing class, a year-long Mentor Series award, a writing group, numerous conferences and readings, member happy hours, friendships, and a building that feels like a vocational home. In a world that often pushes writers and artists to the margins, the work of the Loft returns writing to the center of what we do and who we are. I am so grateful.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

I took my first poetry class at the Loft ten years ago, and I've been participating in classes and programs there pretty regularly ever since. Over all this time (and the many changes in my life and growth as a writer), the Loft has impressed me over and over by striking a balance between smart, challenging teaching and a truly nurturing environment for writers. I've become more confident as a writer; I know more; and I've become part of a community of writers. I can't imagine what my writing life would be today without the Loft.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

As a writer in the Twin Cities, it's difficult to overstate the importance of the Loft. Seriously. It just defies hyperbole. Imagine an aspiring guitar player whose freshman roommate turned out to be Jimi Hendrix, a painter who found that she went to same laundromat as Picasso, or a paper-folding enthusiast who lived upstairs from the World Champion of Competitive Origami. The Loft is like that. It's so vital. I've taken classes there, attended readings, entered contests, gone to conferences, and tucked myself into a corner when I needed a quiet place to write. The Loft is truly a spiritual center for the Minnesota writing community and beyond. I can't recommend it highly enough.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

When I moved to Minnesota, the thing I was MOST looking forward to was taking a writing class at the Loft. It is an amazing institution that has supported me as a person and a writer and enriched my life in so many ways. I recommend the Loft to anyone interested in any kind of writing or personal expression from children to retirees. I am so grateful for this place.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

Writing is a lonely occupation: You're out there trying to make beautiful books for children, and much of the time it's just you and your screen. The Loft Literary Center has made a safe, beautiful, educational space where writers of all types can gather, learn from each other, and return to the creative process restored and renewed. It's a creative haven.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers