Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
38 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
June 19, 2013

more

June 19, 2013

Minnesota is not flyover land in the publishing world thanks in part to The Loft. To walk into the Open Book, where the Loft is housed along with the Minnesota Center for the Book Arts and Milkweed Press, is to enter the real world of writing--at least as real as it gets. Taking classes is easy with sliding scale fees and member prices, great instructors and fellow students who want to take a part of their day, a part of their lives and discover ways to be better writers of poetry and of prose, of plays and of mysteries, of children's books and young adult novels. If you would rather just support writers, amazing readings are going on constantly both from local authors and from nationally known authors and of course often those two are the same. The Loft has an amazing library of literary journals, they have office space to rent and finish that novel, they have the Loft Mentor Series to foster emerging talent.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more parking available

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 19, 2013

more

June 19, 2013

I can't believe more people don't know about this organization!! I only recently realized (five years out of college) that I really love creative writing, so when I decided I wanted to take continuing education courses in it, I ended up doing so through a variety of institutions, including notable universities. So I have more than my fair share of places with which to compare it. Not only does the Loft offer high-quality writing classes, but it does so at a remarkably (or should I say ridiculously?) low rate and with an astounding array of subjects. You could take a course that lasts several months or you could come in for a one-time class on the one weekend you have available. You could take classes online or you could take them in-person. There's also the fact that the Loft then offers all kinds of other opportunities for writers, like contests and awards, free readings, publicity, networking events...seriously, the list goes on.

Sometimes it feels like everyone (and their mom) is a wannabe-writer, but writers are still part of an underserved community. So, truthfully, I cannot say enough good things about this place. They help writers. As simple as that.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Better parking?

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 7, 2013

more

June 7, 2013

Minnesota winters may be long but we have the Loft. On the sometimes thorny journey into publication, the Loft has aided me every step of the way -- I've taken classes and workshops, attended a conference, held a book reading, learned about funding opportunities from their newsletter, attended book events... If I lived a bit closer than I do, I'd be at the Loft every day!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 2, 2013

more

May 2, 2013

The Loft provides education, encouragement, and community to local writers in the Twin Cities and those around the world via its online classes. I'm a better writer thanks to the classes and instructors at the Loft.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

I found a writing community at the Loft by attending classes, specialized workshops, the annual children's literature conference, and by applying for award opportunities. While meeting with my critique group, I've seen many field trips of wide-eyed children pass through on the way to writing or bookmaking activities. The Twin Cities area is richer for having this literary center for writers of all ages and abilities.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

The Loft is the most incredible resource nationally for young and older writers and creative thinkers alike. Its leadership, expansive programs and focus on education and creativity have made it a model for similiar writing centers nationally. While new to the Board, it has brought to me in a short amount of time a renewed focus and passion on the written word and the importance of that to our society.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Loft has given me a physical space, a community, and confidence--all of which I've had in short supply. I've tucked myself into quiet corners to write. I've sat through readings by local and nationally known writers. This year I've been chosen as a mentee for an emerging writers competition. (Jarod Santek is the logistical genius that handles the support on many levels.) Through the mentor program I'll work with local and national writing mentors, receive reading and conference information, grant writing advice, and more. Not only do I feel validated to continue to work with words, I'm filled with a gratitude that makes me want to return the generosity. The Loft doesn't just train and empower writers, it must certainly create mentors. I don't think it's overstating to say The Loft is the reason Minnesota has such thriving and giving literary community. If you believe James Baldwin that, “You write in order to change the world ...” than it's fair to say the Loft is changing my life and countless others.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

The Loft gave me a space to write when my son was an infant. The space is so open and welcoming. I am thankful for the events, conferences, and readings I have been able to attend.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

The Loft serves a vital role in the life of our broader community. it provides a place for writers - whether or not published - to learn, to create, to brainstorm, to learn, to connect. Personally, each time I participate at the Loft, I leave feeling more competent, more confident, and more courageous. I encourage all who like to read and those who are driven to write or even just curious about doing so to visit the Loft; to participate in activities there; to open up to the community that it nurtures; and to share it with others.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Without the supportive environment, classes, and programs at the Loft, I would have never had the courage to choose writing as my profession. I wanted to be a writer from the time I was five, but once I graduated from college, I abandoned that because I thought I could never make it financially. When I had my first child and decided to stay home, I realized that that was the moment to try my hand at writing. I took a few classes at the Loft and continued to work on my writing. When my child was old enough to go school, I was reviewing law school applications when the phone rang. It was like something from a movie -- I was told by a Loft administrator that I had won an award that allowed me to study for one year with 6 nationally-renowned authors (The Loft Mentor Series). During that year, I wrote my first novel, SPLIT. I revised it the following year and it sold at auction in three weeks and has received a number of honors and awards. My career path really started at the Loft. The Loft was also the first place that provided me the opportunity to teach creative writing and I am now a professor of creative writing. It is an exceptional organization and I consider it one of the most important factor in why Minneapolis is a center for the literary arts and why I am a writer.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers