Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
May 2, 2013

more

May 2, 2013

The Loft provides education, encouragement, and community to local writers in the Twin Cities and those around the world via its online classes. I'm a better writer thanks to the classes and instructors at the Loft.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

I found a writing community at the Loft by attending classes, specialized workshops, the annual children's literature conference, and by applying for award opportunities. While meeting with my critique group, I've seen many field trips of wide-eyed children pass through on the way to writing or bookmaking activities. The Twin Cities area is richer for having this literary center for writers of all ages and abilities.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

The Loft is the most incredible resource nationally for young and older writers and creative thinkers alike. Its leadership, expansive programs and focus on education and creativity have made it a model for similiar writing centers nationally. While new to the Board, it has brought to me in a short amount of time a renewed focus and passion on the written word and the importance of that to our society.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Loft has given me a physical space, a community, and confidence--all of which I've had in short supply. I've tucked myself into quiet corners to write. I've sat through readings by local and nationally known writers. This year I've been chosen as a mentee for an emerging writers competition. (Jarod Santek is the logistical genius that handles the support on many levels.) Through the mentor program I'll work with local and national writing mentors, receive reading and conference information, grant writing advice, and more. Not only do I feel validated to continue to work with words, I'm filled with a gratitude that makes me want to return the generosity. The Loft doesn't just train and empower writers, it must certainly create mentors. I don't think it's overstating to say The Loft is the reason Minnesota has such thriving and giving literary community. If you believe James Baldwin that, “You write in order to change the world ...” than it's fair to say the Loft is changing my life and countless others.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

The Loft gave me a space to write when my son was an infant. The space is so open and welcoming. I am thankful for the events, conferences, and readings I have been able to attend.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

The Loft serves a vital role in the life of our broader community. it provides a place for writers - whether or not published - to learn, to create, to brainstorm, to learn, to connect. Personally, each time I participate at the Loft, I leave feeling more competent, more confident, and more courageous. I encourage all who like to read and those who are driven to write or even just curious about doing so to visit the Loft; to participate in activities there; to open up to the community that it nurtures; and to share it with others.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Without the supportive environment, classes, and programs at the Loft, I would have never had the courage to choose writing as my profession. I wanted to be a writer from the time I was five, but once I graduated from college, I abandoned that because I thought I could never make it financially. When I had my first child and decided to stay home, I realized that that was the moment to try my hand at writing. I took a few classes at the Loft and continued to work on my writing. When my child was old enough to go school, I was reviewing law school applications when the phone rang. It was like something from a movie -- I was told by a Loft administrator that I had won an award that allowed me to study for one year with 6 nationally-renowned authors (The Loft Mentor Series). During that year, I wrote my first novel, SPLIT. I revised it the following year and it sold at auction in three weeks and has received a number of honors and awards. My career path really started at the Loft. The Loft was also the first place that provided me the opportunity to teach creative writing and I am now a professor of creative writing. It is an exceptional organization and I consider it one of the most important factor in why Minneapolis is a center for the literary arts and why I am a writer.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

I’ve had the great pleasure of being on both sides of the desk at the Loft. Inspiring teachers such as Dale Gregory Anderson and Robert Voedisch taught me to craft compelling fiction. Through the Loft Mentor Series, lead by the amazing Jerod Santek, I was able to work closely with distinguished writers such as Pete Hautman, Jim Moore, and Mary Rose O’Reilly. Now, having moved to Pennsylvania, I’m lucky to still be tied to the Loft through teaching online classes. Kurtis Scaletta’s terrific work to develop this program means I have students from across the nation. Just as my Loft teachers have inspired me, my students now inspire me. At a time when the arts have been the first programs to be cut, The Loft community fosters and fuels a love of writing and expands an ever-growing support for the written word.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

The Loft has been instrumental in my development as a writer, entrepreneur and human being. The community there is incredible. The teachers inspiring. The staff out of this world. I am deeply committed to the Loft's mission and have seen first hand the impact the classes have on the people who take them. From published authors to healed hearts, the Loft gives to the writing community like no other institution I know of.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

The Loft has changed my life! It's an oasis, a safe haven...a gathering place where writers and readers and art-appreciaters can gather and learn and share. Minnesota has a tremendous support system for writers, and the Loft is the catalyst. It is fabulous!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers