Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
34 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
September 1, 2013

more

September 1, 2013

The Loft is a place that truly nurtures the writer's soul. I am so very grateful for this amazing organization, and for all of the opportunity and encouragement it has provided me and so many other aspiring writers. Thank you Loft! Thank you! Thank you!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 3, 2013

more

July 3, 2013

I have been a member of The Loft Literary Center for over two years. I currently work in communications and have also worked in PR and advertising. The resources, networking opportunities, classes, and venue itself consistently impress me. I have truly enjoyed being able to support such an organization.

I have also just loved the fact that the classes ACTUALLY help my writing!! It's hard to find good writing classes for people who work in communications and have studied writing in school. I've taken some other writing classes at other places, and they helped a little, but not even close to what The Loft has provided me. I really appreciate the expertise held by the class instructors. It is impressive. I have also greatly appreciated that the instructors have pursued writing professionally so I felt their advice and lessons were credible (at least the instructors I've had were writers) and also made themselves available to the students during and after the class. The classes have also provided wonderful networking opportunities with other writers.

Lastly, I have found The Loft to be just a great community of writers. It's hard to find such a large community of talented writers, and I believe The Loft makes that available.

So, needless to say, I am a fan of The Loft...and yes, I proudly sport my tote bag. :)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I usually have suggestions or ideas when asked this question, but I honestly don't when it comes to The Loft!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 3, 2013

more

July 3, 2013

Finding the Literary Loft is a dream come true! I have a life long passion for creative writing. When I looked at creative writing programs for my undergraduate and graduate degrees, I just could not financially justify pursuing the programs because I realized creative writing is very competitive and rarely pays well. So I made sure to pursue degree programs that lead to steady employment and I developed the philosophy that you really do not need any kind of class to be a writer. You just need to make the regular habit of reading and writing.

I still hold this philosophy that these are the habits that make someone a writer, but I also realized to be a great writer that I needed to have a teacher to guide me into directions I may not have thought about and that I needed a community that provided me with constructive criticism and support.
I have been a writer my whole life, but taking classes at the Literary Loft make me a better writer.
My teachers there have provided me with literature that expands my horizons and feedback on my writing that I really value!

While I have found that the classes that meet my needs best are not cheap, the Literary Loft has options to make this affordable. I took one class on a scholarship. I qualified for low income pricing when I started taking classes at the Literary Loft. The regular habit of taking classes at the Literary Loft are priceless because there are many other things that capture my attention around the Twin Cities. The space and the community that the Literary Loft provides me gives me a chance to make my writing a priority and to continue a life long journey into growth as a writer.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 3, 2013

more

July 3, 2013

I retired from a career in advertising as a writer and Creative Director. I was use to a busy and demanding schedule and wondered what I would do with myself in retirement. I volunteered, I did some free lance .... and then I remembered the Loft. I had taken a few classes at the Loft over the many years I lived in the Twin Cities and I decided this might be the key to my sanity! And it was. For the past seven years, I've been a student ... of all things ... in poetry. But the real challenge and beginning of another passion came after a class with Linda Back McKay called "Writing your own chapbook." It was the first class of its kind at the Loft and in 2007 I self-published "Eclipsing the Gray." It was the best thing I have ever done for myself. Since that time, I continued to take classes and with Linda's expert eye to help with editing and placement, I have self published two more books and also published a book called, "The Poetry of Prayer" for my church, with poems written by the congregation. It was sold as a fund raising project. I've had poems published in various periodicals and sold dozens of my books. And this past school year, in a 5th grade class where I volunteer, I helped the children put together a chapbook as a memory of their last year in grade school. What fun! At 75, I'm proud of myself and the work I do. The teachers at the Loft are outstanding. The Loft is outstanding! And I could not have survived retirement without them. They keep my brain stimulated and my self-esteem strong. What an organization!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ask them to make classes available in the outer regions of Minnesota. I taught Memoir Writing in some of those small towns for a few years through the Guthrie Theater and the Library System and I know people in those areas would love to take more classes. Their library grant ran out. And I'd asked them to hire me as one of the teachers!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2013

more

June 29, 2013

I attended a beginning writers' session that was conducted as a joint effort between The Loft and Hennepin County Library. Through this partnership, The Loft brings talented instructors to small community libraries. There, they teach classes in places people might not otherwise have access to such opportunities. The session I attended was free, and it was really beneficial. The instructor led us in a series of writing and brainstorming exercises in manner that felt safe and nonthreatening. For the first time in a long time, I read aloud to strangers words I had written. That was a pretty big step for me. I left feeling empowered and motivated to pursue my dreams of fiction writing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 28, 2013

more

June 28, 2013

The Loft Literary Center has been a cornerstone of the vibrant literary community in the Twin Cities for many years. They offer classes on a sliding fee scale that serve writers of every age and experience level, they sponsor readings and events that feature local, national, and international writers of all genres, aesthetics, and backgrounds. They also sponsor grants for writers, and their groundbreaking Mentor Series, which pairs emerging writers with established writers for intensive study. I have attended and presented at conferences sponsored by the Loft, readings held at the Loft, and meetings of literary community leaders hosted at The Loft. Its mission, staff, and space are unrivaled anywhere in the Midwest.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand its reach beyond Minneapolis and St Paul.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 19, 2013

more

June 19, 2013

Minnesota is not flyover land in the publishing world thanks in part to The Loft. To walk into the Open Book, where the Loft is housed along with the Minnesota Center for the Book Arts and Milkweed Press, is to enter the real world of writing--at least as real as it gets. Taking classes is easy with sliding scale fees and member prices, great instructors and fellow students who want to take a part of their day, a part of their lives and discover ways to be better writers of poetry and of prose, of plays and of mysteries, of children's books and young adult novels. If you would rather just support writers, amazing readings are going on constantly both from local authors and from nationally known authors and of course often those two are the same. The Loft has an amazing library of literary journals, they have office space to rent and finish that novel, they have the Loft Mentor Series to foster emerging talent.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more parking available

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 19, 2013

more

June 19, 2013

I can't believe more people don't know about this organization!! I only recently realized (five years out of college) that I really love creative writing, so when I decided I wanted to take continuing education courses in it, I ended up doing so through a variety of institutions, including notable universities. So I have more than my fair share of places with which to compare it. Not only does the Loft offer high-quality writing classes, but it does so at a remarkably (or should I say ridiculously?) low rate and with an astounding array of subjects. You could take a course that lasts several months or you could come in for a one-time class on the one weekend you have available. You could take classes online or you could take them in-person. There's also the fact that the Loft then offers all kinds of other opportunities for writers, like contests and awards, free readings, publicity, networking events...seriously, the list goes on.

Sometimes it feels like everyone (and their mom) is a wannabe-writer, but writers are still part of an underserved community. So, truthfully, I cannot say enough good things about this place. They help writers. As simple as that.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Better parking?

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 7, 2013

more

June 7, 2013

Minnesota winters may be long but we have the Loft. On the sometimes thorny journey into publication, the Loft has aided me every step of the way -- I've taken classes and workshops, attended a conference, held a book reading, learned about funding opportunities from their newsletter, attended book events... If I lived a bit closer than I do, I'd be at the Loft every day!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 2, 2013

more

May 2, 2013

The Loft provides education, encouragement, and community to local writers in the Twin Cities and those around the world via its online classes. I'm a better writer thanks to the classes and instructors at the Loft.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers