Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
123.4615445
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 19, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

July 19, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

My SON donated his hair a couple of years ago. I sent a note with the hair explaining that his hair has never been cut and this was a first time ever haircut...I got a post card thanking my daughter...I sent them another note and said please send a proper thank-you card to my SON...NEVER RECEIVED ANYTHING. I feel that they take the hair and run..and they make a lot of money selling this hair... I think they are mostly a sham. I feel they should be scrutinized closely.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

June 19, 2011
7 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
June 19, 2011
7 people found this review helpful

There's certainly a flaw in how charities are evaluated, if they aren't judged by the their stated goals.

Locks of Love says they collect hair to make wigs which they give to children who have lost hair through illness, but most of the hair they collect they sell (Locks of Love says it's
"unusable" but the buyers use it to make wigs) and they actually sell or give away very few wigs.

You might do much better to sell your hair yourself and give the money to cancer research.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Accepting donations

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Require audited transparency -- how many hair donations did they accept, how many were sold and how many were made into wigs, how many wigs did they distribute, what did they charge for those wigs?

December 26, 2008
12 people found this review helpful

more

December 26, 2008
12 people found this review helpful

I contacted Locks of Love to ask if I might be able to use their services for my little girl who has lost all her hair due to chemo and radiation. They never responded. I took a close look at their Web site and it turns out that most of their clients are kids with alopecia (an auto immune disorder, which causes hair loss and no other symptoms). While I think kids with alopecia deserve all the help they can get, I'm not sure why Locks of Love would shun cancer kids -- who after all suffer plenty of nasty physical symptoms as well as hair loss (which can last years and years depending on the type of chemo and location of the radiation). So this organization gets my thumbs down. I'd recommend the group Wigs for Kids for parents whose kids are bald due to cancer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ensure that cancer kids facing long-term baldness are also eligible for this nonprofit's services.

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Invite all cancer parents to contact the group.

Ways to make it better...

I'd have received a response from this organization.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

August 25, 2008

more

August 25, 2008

This is a great organization that helps out kids in a unique way. It provides an invaluable service by giving children back their childhood. If you're thinking about chopping off your long hair, donate it!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

how happy the kids are when they receive the hairpieces.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More feedback...

Ways to make it better...

I didn't have to wait to grow out my hair!

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers