Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
123.445
Write A Review
November 19, 2014

more

November 19, 2014

I donated my daughter's hair. It was also her first time cutting it. I never received a certificate. That says it all. I will never donate again to them.
September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

Locks of Love is an unselfish charity that has had personally aided my Daughter with Aloepecia since 2005 and stayed with her until now a college senior! My Daughter is confident, self assured and smart. We met the staff starting with Rhonda years ago, as my Daughter Lauren became a first time recipient. Lauren was thrilled to receive her first hairpiece, it gave her strength. She has recognized many local kids of all ages along the way that became unselfish donors, by sending cards or calling the parents to say thank you it makes a difference . As a parent I can not tell you how my heart swells when I see that boy or girl, holding that ponytail in the paper with a smile a mile wide. I want all of them to know that Lauren has a smile a mile wide when Locks of Love provides her with a hairpiece made from love...Lauren is ready to graduate and Locks of Love not only provided multiple hairpieces throughout the years, they unselfishly repaired them along the way, they kept in contact with Lauren as if she was part of a special family. Locks of love truly care about the recipients. Lauren, truly appreciates everyone that is involved from the donations, to the awareness Locks of Love brings to communities. We will forever be grateful for all of the ponytails that are donated to a great Foundation like Locks of Love. Lauren S. Recipient 2005 -2014 Lifelong LOL supporter

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 31, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 31, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I dont know why everyone is so bent on if a thank you card was received or not. Isnt this a charity where you unselfishly donate? I dont think a thank you card is needed...that is selfish to expect one. Does anyone get a thank you card from a church org or donating clothes? Dont donate if you are expecting something back.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I started growing my hair especially for a little girl I met that was really never going to be able to grow her own, her whole family has this defect. What an easy wonderful thing to do ,Now at 58 years of age, And in need of some surgery ,I decided that 22 inches was way to long for me ,Plz Grow and share, You can always get it back. God bless all those who give and care . I love my new hairstyle. God bless all the readers .Teresa marchand

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Tell everyone to grow ,grow, grow, you'll NEVER be sorry

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 19, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

more

July 19, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

My SON donated his hair a couple of years ago. I sent a note with the hair explaining that his hair has never been cut and this was a first time ever haircut...I got a post card thanking my daughter...I sent them another note and said please send a proper thank-you card to my SON...NEVER RECEIVED ANYTHING. I feel that they take the hair and run..and they make a lot of money selling this hair... I think they are mostly a sham. I feel they should be scrutinized closely.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

May 16, 2012

I donated my hair about a year ago - the stylist cut my hair, but I completed the donation form and mailed the hair & form myself, so I know the information was complete & correct. A few weeks later, I got a thank-you postcard.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Why did you make your donation at this time?

I had really long hair and wanted to change the style. I decided it would be nice if it could go to a good cause instead of ending up in a trash can.

March 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have donated four times. People do need to know that Locks of Love does NOT make wigs. Locks of Love makes prosthetic hair pieces, which are different from wigs. I am tired of people knocking the charity because they know that Locks of Love doesn't make that many wigs.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 26, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 26, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

My daughters and their friends regularly donate their hair to Locks of Love. They fill out the donation form and receive a thank you card each time. Locks of Love prefers hair that is 10 inches long or longer, but they separate the shorter strands and sell them to offset the cost of wig production. This is all clearly stated on their web site. I do know one child who has received a wig from Locks of Love. She and her family were very pleased with it. I am very satisfied with this organization.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the fact that my daughters and their friends donate their hair to this organization

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I am satisfied with the organization at this time.

June 19, 2011
12 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
June 19, 2011
12 people found this review helpful

There's certainly a flaw in how charities are evaluated, if they aren't judged by the their stated goals.

Locks of Love says they collect hair to make wigs which they give to children who have lost hair through illness, but most of the hair they collect they sell (Locks of Love says it's
"unusable" but the buyers use it to make wigs) and they actually sell or give away very few wigs.

You might do much better to sell your hair yourself and give the money to cancer research.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Accepting donations

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Require audited transparency -- how many hair donations did they accept, how many were sold and how many were made into wigs, how many wigs did they distribute, what did they charge for those wigs?

April 5, 2011

my daughter has donated four times now. She feels wonderful about her role in helping another child who is less privaledged, either with health or financial issues, than she is. Of those four donations, two received a thank you post card and two did not. I think it has to do with what information the salon sends in, not with the organization itself. Even without thanks, though, my daughter continues to look forward to the day when her hair is long enough to donate again.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the pride my daughter feels having done something good for someone she has never even met.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change a thing!

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers