Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
6 Reviews
123.6666745
Write A Review
July 18, 2014

more

July 18, 2014

I would not trust this rescue to care for a senior horse or any horse with special needs. While most animals seem to do okay there, their approach to specialty care leaves others with little hope. A mare surrendered to them in decent weight and with a clean bill of health was dead in under 4 months. They blamed heaves - which they knew the horse had before intake - yet posted a picture of the horse being ridden in a dirt arena. That alone means they were NOT taking proper steps to care for the horse. When questioned about it they became defensive and nasty. I made the decision to halt all donations to them. They took in another TB mare and then put her down when they determined she had cancer, but took almost two weeks to say so, and only did so after I posted a RIP post on their Facebook wall. If the horse had cancer then why the secrecy? There are just too many red flags with this rescue for me to feel comfortable supporting them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Downsize. Or ensure the personnel taking care of special needs horses are better trained. Make a MUCH bigger effort at keeping webpages and social media sites current. They are the primary way donors stay current. Improve communication skills. Every horse isn't a seizure case, and a horse surrendered with love should qualify the previous owner a little respect and consideration.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

July 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Live and Let Live Farm has no doubt helped a lot of horses over the years. However, they seem to take a "one size fits all" approach to equine care as evidenced by the death of Pride only 3 1/2 months after arrival. Pride was a Saddlebred cross mare, in her early 20's, who was surrendered to LLLF because her owner suffered hardships that prevented her caring for her horse any longer. Pride was given a clean bill of health by her vet when the Coggins was done; only health condition was a mild case of heaves for which she needed daily medication and soaked hay.

Pride arrived at LLLF on March 3 and was euthanized around the middle of June. Not a lot is known about her time at this rescue except that a picture taken in late March shows Pride looking over a fence, noticeably thinner than her intake photos, blanketless in the cold even though she clearly did not have enough fat to keep herself warm. Whatever she was fed was not sufficient to maintain her weight and the conditions to which Pride was subjected caused her health to fail.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make LLLF transparent to the public as required by their nonprofit, 501c status. They claim to have as many as 70 horses at a time and yet spend an average of $50/head on vet bills. Despite repeated requests by the previous owner, LLLF has refused to provide any evidence that Pride was treated by a vet at any time during the last 3 1/2 months of her life. They will not answer any questions about the care they provide to their animals, in fact.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 17, 2012

more

January 17, 2012

I have a lot of health problems and was looking for someplace I could just go and actually feel like I was making a difference. I started at a different shelter but feel like I was making a difference. Then I found the Live and Let Live Farm. It has changed my life so completely, not only do I feel like I am actually making a difference when I go, but the farm makes a difference in my life as well. It has made me so much happier and given me something to look forward to. I don't know what I would have done if I hadn't found the Live and Let Live Farm; and I don't know how I got along before I found the farm! The farm has become an important part of my life I am so glad I found it!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 30, 2011

more

July 30, 2011

I have been a volunteer at Live and Let Live Farm for over a year now, and it's such a rewarding experience to help the animals that come here: mostly horses, but also goats, sheep, pigs, cows, all different kinds of birds and fowl, bunnies, kittens, cats, puppies, and dogs. If it weren't for Teresa taking these animals in, some of them would be in the most horrid condition, if not dead. We've had horses come to the farm on the verge of death, so emaciated and starved they can barely stand up, and thanks to the tireless work of the innumerable volunteers, now the horses are healthy, happy, and loved. My fondest dream would be to see as many horses as possible in forever homes with experienced horse people, so they can all have all the attention they need every day.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

There were three horses that came from a Premarin farm in Canada, and they hadn't had much, if any, positive human interaction in their lives. They were very skittish and it wasn't even possible to touch the male. After about 4 months of consistent and caring attention, I was finally able to not just groom all of them, including the male, but walk them as well. Now, over a year later, they are sweet, friendly, and always greet me with "hugs" whenever I stop in to see them. What a great feeling!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would bring in tons more volunteers, especially hardy people who don't mind heavy work. A lot of the paddocks need to be cleaned more often, but there just isn't the manpower to accomplish this on a daily basis.

January 26, 2011

more

January 26, 2011

Donor and volunteer
The rescue is a very enjoyable place to volunteer and be part of all the animals lives that you help in rehabilitation and to help feed, care for, socialize and train.
Love them all but we all end up with favorites.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

volunteering and making a difference in the lives of the animals and the humans that also experienced the joy of adopting them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would help find more money so there is no worry about how to feed the animals that need help and the outreach program helping animals that are in loving homes but the people need help to feed and care for them through the struggling economy of bad circumstances. Than they can remain with the people they love and that love them. Also with more money staff could be hired to make it easier for all who volunteer endless hours.

July 29, 2010

more

Review from Guidestar
July 29, 2010

Live and Let Live Farm rescue is like a large family in a very comforting environment that the animals even become calm at and enjoy Very close to nature and wildlife it is a very spiritual and fulfilling place to volunteer

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the rehabilitation process of starved and abused animals and it is a life fulfilling and heart warming experience

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find them more money to help them do their work in rescuing as many animals as life would allow and wish I didn't have a regular job so I could volunteer all my time and also help recruit other volunteers

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the family environment of working together to help as many animals as life will allow and the growth and improvement physically and mentally in the abused animals that come to Live and Let Live Farm Rescue in need of help.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Pleasant, caring and family like environment. Willing to share their knowledge and experience in the handling and care of animals of agriculture, mostly horses

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Oh, my God, I could not even imagine what that would mean to this organization to even have 1 million, 10 million would buy more surrounding land, rebuild old facilities, hire some staff, and not have to worry how the next dollar would feed the animals

Ways to make it better...

I could spend even more time at the rescue instead of having to work.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

the lack of donations in this awful and challenging economy which makes it hard for the rescue to care for and help more animals in need as large animals are alot of work and very costly to feed and care for.

One thing I'd also say is that...

I have learned to feel really good about myself in making a difference in such needy and caring lives.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers