Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
31 Reviews
1234.903235
Write A Review
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

LitWorld is a great organization with amazing staff and volunteers who have been working tirelessly to cultivate literacy skills in the world’s most vulnerable children. LitWorld’s proven model for improving literacy allows children to feel comfortable, safe and excited about reading, writing and learning in ways that are not taught at school.

I have had the pleasure of partnering with LitWorld to establish an after-school enrichment center in Prishtina, Kosovo – and the LitClub program we adopted has been so effective and well received by everyone, that within a week, the number of children attending grew from 9 to over 50.

I am excited to be a member of this community and am looking forward to help grow the LitWorld movement. Everybody should join us!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

The LitWorld organization has amazing staff and volunteers that work very hard to provide tools that allow people to share their stories around the world. Their tireless efforts can be seen in the events they throw and most importantly within the LitClubs around the world and Litcamps. I had the pleasure of volunteering at their World Read Aloud Day event and Stand Up for Girls event where I witnessed first hand the enthusiasm and joy of the kids that attended. All of their events are well organized and ran smoothly because the LitWorld staff prepares the volunteers beforehand with the logistics and program information. Every year Litworld continues to strive to be better than the year before with new ideas and embraces the benefits of new technology. No matter what changes they make, the LitWorld programs continue to empower youth to be confident and provide them with hope, strength, and a sense of belonging.
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

The folks at LitWorld bring so much love and enthusiasm to what they do and it really shows in their programming and interactions with the communities they serve. My recent experience volunteering for their Stand Up for Girls event was wonderful and it was great to see so many young girls tell their own stories and learning to describe themselves with the language of empowerment. Working with LitWorld gives me a lot of hope for the future and Pam Allyn is an incredibly inspiring person!
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

After reading about LitWorld online, I felt passionate about getting involved. As a volunteer, I quickly grew to love spending time with the LitClub girls in Harlem, as well as the staff. I remember vividly the first LitClub I attended and how impressed I was with the courage, love and support that radiated throughout the room as the high school girls exchanged stories about their lives, from personal triumphs and defeats to college applications. At this year's Stand Up for Girls event, I was happy to be a part of the friendship and community being built among the elementary and grade school girls. Now, as a member of LitWorld's Young Professionals Group, I look forward to being involved in more events and helping to grow the LitWorld movement. I'm thrilled to be a part of the LitWorld team!
August 23, 2014

more

August 23, 2014

My experience as a LitWorld Intern was positive and educational. I first had the opportunity to work in the office, primarily planning lessons for a summer LitCamp, and then worked as a LitCamp counselor. Throughout both experiences, the LitWorld staff was supportive, and took steps to help me grow as an educator.The organization works toward a very important mission with passion and care for all involved.
August 21, 2014

more

August 21, 2014

I had a wonderful internship experience with LitWorld this summer, working both in the office with the full-time staff and in one of their LitCamp programs. Both work environments were serious but also loving and supportive. Each person's voice, from that of the youngest camper to that of most senior staff member to those of the summer interns, was valued, listened to, and honored. The work LitWorld does is important, and they do it with uncommon passion, sensitivity, and enthusiasm.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 20, 2014

more

August 20, 2014

Working with LitWorld was a completely new and different experience for me, and one that I learned so much from. The collaboration among all the employees is astounding and makes the entire LitWorld family feel connected and united. Though the work is urgent and serious, the attitude is joyful, and this propels a spirit of kindness, love, and confidence into all their work, creating the atmosphere children need to keep reading, learning, and gaining strength.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 3, 2013

more

October 3, 2013

My internship with LitWorld provided me with anything but the average intern experience. For the first month my peers and I had the opportunity to try our hands in many meaningful tasks and interact with incredible individuals involved in many aspects of social change. One of my favorite things about LitWorld is how collaborative they are, realizing where their talents are best suited and recognizing the talents of others in order to team up to create meaningful change. Beyond this, their commitment to authenticity and ensuring that their work takes on an organic form within the communities they are a part of is an integral part of who LitWorld is as an organization. The LitWorld staff is comprised of some of the most committed, compassionate, and thoughtful individuals I have ever had the pleasure to work with.

As a LitCamp intern I had the chance to work as a counselor for LitWorld’s Harlem LitCamp, which runs for 5 weeks during the months of July and August. My time as a LitCamp counselor was simply unforgettable. I was able to see the love for literacy and confidence of all of the campers soar within such a seemingly small period of time. Everything that LitWorld did was done with the best interests of the campers in mind, in order to create unforgettable experiences that many of them eagerly await each year. Seeing the campers’ transformations revealed to me that LitWorld has an incredible capacity to empower people in a way that all individuals and communities deserve.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 15, 2013

more

August 15, 2013

I have volunteered at two LitWorld galas and attended several of LitWorld's advocacy events as a participant. From these experiences, I can confidently recommend LW as an organization worth getting involved with.

LitWorld's mission is inspiring, their events are well organized, and
their staff welcomes volunteers with warmth and gratitude. In managing our group of volunteers and interns, the LW staff came prepared with every detail planned and every task thoughtfully delegated. And yet, the staff was also very trusting of volunteers, allowing us to take initiative and act on instinct when faced with unexpected challenges. Overall, a great volunteer experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 15, 2013

more

August 15, 2013

Volunteering at the Litworld Gala this year was a great experience. The Litworld staff were incredibly well-organized ... they held a training session for volunteers before the event, they had mapped out where every volunteer would be stationed, they had materials ready on the night of the gala to help volunteers, personal instructions for individual volunteers.... the works! They made volunteering at the gala easy and fun!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers