Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
31 Reviews
1234.903235
Write A Review
September 11, 2013

more

September 11, 2013

Given my love of reading and for education overall, the ability to assist children, who have not had the opportunities, guidance and motivation we have had, to learn to read, is a very strong inherent desire. Seeing children begin to appreciate new concepts and to realize a whole new world beyond what, for them, might otherwise be a most somber and negative existence, is extremely gratifying.

LitWorld maintains a tireless commitment to children in many places in the world, including right here in our backyards in the USA and continues to see fabulous levels of growth in the numbers of children so much benefitting from their programs. The staff and leadership are entirely selfless in providing such wonderful literacy opportunities to those who otherwise would be condemned to a life without hope or opportunity.

We look forward to continuing to support this fine organization and encourage all those who care about future generations in less fortunate areas of the world, who absolutely can have an impact on all of us, both good and/or bad, to take a look at what these folks are doing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Cannot think of anything we would change....

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 15, 2013

more

August 15, 2013

I have volunteered at two LitWorld galas and attended several of LitWorld's advocacy events as a participant. From these experiences, I can confidently recommend LW as an organization worth getting involved with.

LitWorld's mission is inspiring, their events are well organized, and
their staff welcomes volunteers with warmth and gratitude. In managing our group of volunteers and interns, the LW staff came prepared with every detail planned and every task thoughtfully delegated. And yet, the staff was also very trusting of volunteers, allowing us to take initiative and act on instinct when faced with unexpected challenges. Overall, a great volunteer experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 15, 2013

more

August 15, 2013

Volunteering at the Litworld Gala this year was a great experience. The Litworld staff were incredibly well-organized ... they held a training session for volunteers before the event, they had mapped out where every volunteer would be stationed, they had materials ready on the night of the gala to help volunteers, personal instructions for individual volunteers.... the works! They made volunteering at the gala easy and fun!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 15, 2013

more

August 15, 2013

LitWorld is a fantastic nonprofit that helps bring literacy to many underserved illiterate groups worldwide, and spreads a genuine love of reading. The enthusiasm of the employees is infectious and they are doing great work in NYC and abroad. I volunteered at their annual fundraising gala and was blown away by their level of organization and transparency-- not to mention their total commitment to their mission, to instill a love of reading in those who previously never had the chance to let it grow.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more funding and attention!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 10, 2013

more

August 10, 2013

My experience working for LitWorld was beyond anything I would have expected. I was based in their offices in midtown NYC part time and at their partner site in Harlem. I felt immediately welcomed into a community of the most loving, driven, and passionate young women. The work we did together felt so meaningful. In harlem we ran a literacy camp for children from the community. I felt so fulfilled and really felt like I was making a difference. This summer internship has inspired me to keep working toward LitWorlds goal of literacy.
LitWorld is more than an organization it's a culture. I learned a new way to interact with people, share stories, and show passion. Though my summer internship is done I really feel like I can rely on the people I worked with and will constantly have a connection to this place.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 10, 2013

more

August 10, 2013

I interned with this organization this summer and had an excellent experience. The LitWorld staff is organized, passionate, thoughtful, and dedicated to doing good domestically and internationally. Each individual has clearly internalized the mission to advocate for literacy as a human right. I was astounded by how collaborative the organization is; staff were constantly meeting with potential collaborators and fostering partnerships to achieve common goals.

As a camp counselor for LitWorld's Harlem Litcamp, I witnessed first-hand how the programming provided at no cost to the attendees brought learning, joy, and personal growth. As an intern, I felt quickly and deeply absorbed into the LitWorld culture. My time was not spent running errands, nor was I excluded during board meetings. I was assigned meaningful tasks and my input was valued. The staff worked hard in thoughtfully planning the internship, as they do for all of their programming, to ensure an excellent experience

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

upgrade them to a larger office. However, they are indeed moving to a bigger office in mid August.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 9, 2013

more

August 9, 2013

This summer I interned with LitWorld. My main responsibility was to help plan and execute their annual 5-week LitCamp in Harlem, NY. Throughout the course of the internship the staff went out of their way to help me understand the work of the organization and feel like a member of the LitWorld family. They exposed me to other aspects of their work that interested me besides the LitCamp and truly wanted my input on different projects and proposals. As a college student, I felt that this internship went above and beyond a typical internship in that I had a clearly-defined and important role, I received a lot of attention, and my time was always structured and well-used. LitWorld does beautiful and inspiring work in a creative way and I adored my time with them this summer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

add more men to the staff.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 5, 2012

more

December 5, 2012

LitWorld is transforming the lives of Children and Girls in Ghana. LitWorld has formed Girls Clubs in 3 Regions in Ghana. Namely Greater Accra,Ashanti Region and Brong Ahafo Region. GADeF has learnt many lessons from LitWorld through it collaboration in the project. It is no doubt that, in the years ahead LitWorld clubs will be established in all the 10 regions in Ghana. We believe in the future of these children and will use this platform to share the success stories of LitWorld works in Ghana. With your support to LitWorld, Ghana and Africa will be transformed with brighter future for Girls and Children as a whole.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I interned with LitWorld this past summer and have not stopped bragging about the organization since then. The duality of my internship introduced me to both the administrative side of LitWorld as well as engaged me in the organization's physical mission of promoting literacy as I spent time in both the office as well as at a partner site with children in Harlem. As a workplace, LitWorld is what I consider a safe space in that it fosters an inclusive environment that encourages self-expression in order to cultivate creativity. This atmosphere reflects LitWorld's commitment to everyone's right to tell his or her own story. Perhaps the most appealing part of LitWorld is that every one of its staff members truly believes in the organization's purpose which is how such a small nonprofit has been so effective and inspiring.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I absolutely loved my time working with LitWorld. They have an amazing staff, amazing programs, and an incredible vision. Each and every one of the people who work with LitWorld and the partners they bring in to work with them are committed 100% to spreading literacy skills and literacy rights around the world. It was so inspiring working with LitWorld, one of the greatest experiences of my life! Pam Allyn, the Executive Director, is such a visionary and her excitement, passion, and dedication to LitWorld's staff and the children they work with is truly awe inspiring. Please make LitWorld on of 2012's Top-Rated Nonprofits! They truly deserve it!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers