Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
1234.925935
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
August 10, 2013

more

August 10, 2013

My experience working for LitWorld was beyond anything I would have expected. I was based in their offices in midtown NYC part time and at their partner site in Harlem. I felt immediately welcomed into a community of the most loving, driven, and passionate young women. The work we did together felt so meaningful. In harlem we ran a literacy camp for children from the community. I felt so fulfilled and really felt like I was making a difference. This summer internship has inspired me to keep working toward LitWorlds goal of literacy.
LitWorld is more than an organization it's a culture. I learned a new way to interact with people, share stories, and show passion. Though my summer internship is done I really feel like I can rely on the people I worked with and will constantly have a connection to this place.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 10, 2013

more

August 10, 2013

I interned with this organization this summer and had an excellent experience. The LitWorld staff is organized, passionate, thoughtful, and dedicated to doing good domestically and internationally. Each individual has clearly internalized the mission to advocate for literacy as a human right. I was astounded by how collaborative the organization is; staff were constantly meeting with potential collaborators and fostering partnerships to achieve common goals.

As a camp counselor for LitWorld's Harlem Litcamp, I witnessed first-hand how the programming provided at no cost to the attendees brought learning, joy, and personal growth. As an intern, I felt quickly and deeply absorbed into the LitWorld culture. My time was not spent running errands, nor was I excluded during board meetings. I was assigned meaningful tasks and my input was valued. The staff worked hard in thoughtfully planning the internship, as they do for all of their programming, to ensure an excellent experience

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

upgrade them to a larger office. However, they are indeed moving to a bigger office in mid August.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 9, 2013

more

August 9, 2013

This summer I interned with LitWorld. My main responsibility was to help plan and execute their annual 5-week LitCamp in Harlem, NY. Throughout the course of the internship the staff went out of their way to help me understand the work of the organization and feel like a member of the LitWorld family. They exposed me to other aspects of their work that interested me besides the LitCamp and truly wanted my input on different projects and proposals. As a college student, I felt that this internship went above and beyond a typical internship in that I had a clearly-defined and important role, I received a lot of attention, and my time was always structured and well-used. LitWorld does beautiful and inspiring work in a creative way and I adored my time with them this summer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

add more men to the staff.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 5, 2012

more

December 5, 2012

LitWorld is transforming the lives of Children and Girls in Ghana. LitWorld has formed Girls Clubs in 3 Regions in Ghana. Namely Greater Accra,Ashanti Region and Brong Ahafo Region. GADeF has learnt many lessons from LitWorld through it collaboration in the project. It is no doubt that, in the years ahead LitWorld clubs will be established in all the 10 regions in Ghana. We believe in the future of these children and will use this platform to share the success stories of LitWorld works in Ghana. With your support to LitWorld, Ghana and Africa will be transformed with brighter future for Girls and Children as a whole.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I interned with LitWorld this past summer and have not stopped bragging about the organization since then. The duality of my internship introduced me to both the administrative side of LitWorld as well as engaged me in the organization's physical mission of promoting literacy as I spent time in both the office as well as at a partner site with children in Harlem. As a workplace, LitWorld is what I consider a safe space in that it fosters an inclusive environment that encourages self-expression in order to cultivate creativity. This atmosphere reflects LitWorld's commitment to everyone's right to tell his or her own story. Perhaps the most appealing part of LitWorld is that every one of its staff members truly believes in the organization's purpose which is how such a small nonprofit has been so effective and inspiring.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I absolutely loved my time working with LitWorld. They have an amazing staff, amazing programs, and an incredible vision. Each and every one of the people who work with LitWorld and the partners they bring in to work with them are committed 100% to spreading literacy skills and literacy rights around the world. It was so inspiring working with LitWorld, one of the greatest experiences of my life! Pam Allyn, the Executive Director, is such a visionary and her excitement, passion, and dedication to LitWorld's staff and the children they work with is truly awe inspiring. Please make LitWorld on of 2012's Top-Rated Nonprofits! They truly deserve it!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I worked with one of LitWorld's Girls Clubs in Kibera, Kenya, and then at their offices in New York as an intern. I first fell in love with LitWorld because of the girls that I met in Kibera--girls who were confident, funny, and inspirational despite the hardships they face every day. But working at the offices in New York allowed me to see what really makes this organization incredible: the passionate people who work there. I cannot say enough good things about every person who works at LitWorld. Each person uses their own talents to make the organization so dynamic. Over the summer, I Skyped with children in Kibera, worked with teens at the Polo Grounds, and met young children at Broadway Housing in Harlem. All of these kids had an excited, immediate answer to the question: What is your favorite book? That is a rare and incredible thing, I think.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

LitWorld is an incredible organization. Not only is LitWorld extremely effective and well organized, the staff and volunteers are some of the most caring and intelligent people I have ever worked with. As an intern there, I truly felt like I was part of the team and that my input was valued. I highly recommend this organization!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

I was a summer intern for LitWorld in 2011. LitWorld is a true family, and welcomed me and all of the other interns with (literally) open arms. I truly felt like a part of the LitWorld team and was treated with the same level of respect and professionalism as those who had been working there for years. Becoming a part of the LitWorld family has changed the way I look at the literacy as more than a statistical component of development, but also as an essential human right and a true joy. I love LitWorld!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

Litworld is an amazing, truly inspiring organization that I hope to always be a part of. My time there this past summer taught me about the power of reading, writing, teamwork, courage, and passion. The power of being able to share one's own story and learn those of others is unmatched. Litworld understands and promotes this idea and with its bright vision, will truly change the world through words.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers