Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
1234.925935
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
August 23, 2014

more

August 23, 2014

My experience as a LitWorld Intern was positive and educational. I first had the opportunity to work in the office, primarily planning lessons for a summer LitCamp, and then worked as a LitCamp counselor. Throughout both experiences, the LitWorld staff was supportive, and took steps to help me grow as an educator.The organization works toward a very important mission with passion and care for all involved.
August 21, 2014

more

August 21, 2014

I had a wonderful internship experience with LitWorld this summer, working both in the office with the full-time staff and in one of their LitCamp programs. Both work environments were serious but also loving and supportive. Each person's voice, from that of the youngest camper to that of most senior staff member to those of the summer interns, was valued, listened to, and honored. The work LitWorld does is important, and they do it with uncommon passion, sensitivity, and enthusiasm.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 20, 2014

more

August 20, 2014

Working with LitWorld was a completely new and different experience for me, and one that I learned so much from. The collaboration among all the employees is astounding and makes the entire LitWorld family feel connected and united. Though the work is urgent and serious, the attitude is joyful, and this propels a spirit of kindness, love, and confidence into all their work, creating the atmosphere children need to keep reading, learning, and gaining strength.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 3, 2013

more

October 3, 2013

My internship with LitWorld provided me with anything but the average intern experience. For the first month my peers and I had the opportunity to try our hands in many meaningful tasks and interact with incredible individuals involved in many aspects of social change. One of my favorite things about LitWorld is how collaborative they are, realizing where their talents are best suited and recognizing the talents of others in order to team up to create meaningful change. Beyond this, their commitment to authenticity and ensuring that their work takes on an organic form within the communities they are a part of is an integral part of who LitWorld is as an organization. The LitWorld staff is comprised of some of the most committed, compassionate, and thoughtful individuals I have ever had the pleasure to work with.

As a LitCamp intern I had the chance to work as a counselor for LitWorld’s Harlem LitCamp, which runs for 5 weeks during the months of July and August. My time as a LitCamp counselor was simply unforgettable. I was able to see the love for literacy and confidence of all of the campers soar within such a seemingly small period of time. Everything that LitWorld did was done with the best interests of the campers in mind, in order to create unforgettable experiences that many of them eagerly await each year. Seeing the campers’ transformations revealed to me that LitWorld has an incredible capacity to empower people in a way that all individuals and communities deserve.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

LitWorld is and will always be our favorite organization making a "world of difference"!! As parents and grandparents what could be more important to us than supporting and investing in an organization repairing the world through literacy.

Our LitWorld story begins while reading R.J.
Palacio's WONDER. In a recent TV interview with Pam
Allyn, the reporter concluded with the question, what was her favorite current children's book - - the answer, the #1 New York Times Bestseller, WONDER!! Shortly thereafter, we read that beautiful book and discovered the perfect expression of our thoughts on the amazing work of LitWorld:

Do all the good you can,
By all the means you can,
In all the ways you can,
In all the places you can,
At all the times you can,
To all the people you can,
As long as you can.

__ John Wesley's Rule

Sincerely,

Deborah and Warren Clayman

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 16, 2013

more

September 16, 2013

LitWorld is an idea that has grown from a conversation into a movement. The dream of spreading literacy around the world is becoming a reality. With new technology LitWorld is able to share its methods of teaching reading and writing to children everywhere. LitWorld trains community leaders to give children an opportunity to create a great and hopeful future for themselves through literacy and to tell their story to the world, no matter where they grew up or how poor they may be.
LitWorld is a well managed organization with big ideas that it effectively implements and turns into reality. The money raised is not used to pay a large administrative staff but primarily goes directly to promote education in underserved populations from Harlem to countries like Kenya, The Phillipines and Rwanda.
From the LitClubs where young girls share their stories and build strength to the Innovation Hubs where generations partner to improve their lives through reading and writing to LitCamps which provide a learning environment for the summer recess, education is thriving. Through literacy young people will be able to then tell their stories to their children who will be healthier both mentally and physically as they join the literate world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it even more.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013

more

September 11, 2013

Given my love of reading and for education overall, the ability to assist children, who have not had the opportunities, guidance and motivation we have had, to learn to read, is a very strong inherent desire. Seeing children begin to appreciate new concepts and to realize a whole new world beyond what, for them, might otherwise be a most somber and negative existence, is extremely gratifying.

LitWorld maintains a tireless commitment to children in many places in the world, including right here in our backyards in the USA and continues to see fabulous levels of growth in the numbers of children so much benefitting from their programs. The staff and leadership are entirely selfless in providing such wonderful literacy opportunities to those who otherwise would be condemned to a life without hope or opportunity.

We look forward to continuing to support this fine organization and encourage all those who care about future generations in less fortunate areas of the world, who absolutely can have an impact on all of us, both good and/or bad, to take a look at what these folks are doing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Cannot think of anything we would change....

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 15, 2013

more

August 15, 2013

I have volunteered at two LitWorld galas and attended several of LitWorld's advocacy events as a participant. From these experiences, I can confidently recommend LW as an organization worth getting involved with.

LitWorld's mission is inspiring, their events are well organized, and
their staff welcomes volunteers with warmth and gratitude. In managing our group of volunteers and interns, the LW staff came prepared with every detail planned and every task thoughtfully delegated. And yet, the staff was also very trusting of volunteers, allowing us to take initiative and act on instinct when faced with unexpected challenges. Overall, a great volunteer experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 15, 2013

more

August 15, 2013

Volunteering at the Litworld Gala this year was a great experience. The Litworld staff were incredibly well-organized ... they held a training session for volunteers before the event, they had mapped out where every volunteer would be stationed, they had materials ready on the night of the gala to help volunteers, personal instructions for individual volunteers.... the works! They made volunteering at the gala easy and fun!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 15, 2013

more

August 15, 2013

LitWorld is a fantastic nonprofit that helps bring literacy to many underserved illiterate groups worldwide, and spreads a genuine love of reading. The enthusiasm of the employees is infectious and they are doing great work in NYC and abroad. I volunteered at their annual fundraising gala and was blown away by their level of organization and transparency-- not to mention their total commitment to their mission, to instill a love of reading in those who previously never had the chance to let it grow.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more funding and attention!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers