Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
40 Reviews
1234.95
Write A Review
October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have watched "Little Smiles" grow from just a couple of guys that I met when Scott Anderson coached my son in ice hockey. From the Original "Video's for Kids" to what they have grown to become.....It's heartwarming to see the kids that have benefitted over the years. The true essence of what I look for in a charity!! They make a big difference in the lives of children in need. They fill a gap that may be otherwise overlooked , if not for the humane nurse's that bring them together .

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My name is Mengie M. and I'm 18 years young. I had the blessing of knowing the Little Smiles Organization when i was in the hospital. This experience happened about 3 years ago, and it's one that I will carry with me forever. This is Such a Loving and Caring group of people. They made my stay at the hospital so special.. and that may sound a little strange but that's just the effect they have.
Thanks so much Little Smiles

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change not one thing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Great cause. These kids need the love and support. The volunteers are great. The board and paid staff leave something to be desired.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Little Smiles... My daughter was diagnosed with cancer the first time at the age of 5. She is now 8 years old and a two time survivor. Little Smiles has been there since the first day. Especially Glenn. My daughter is very quiet and shy but he brought out the best in her and still does to this day. Times have been hard but they always made sure she was happy and that I was alright. Seeing Glenn was all that she ever needed to smile and he made sure he visited her as often as he could. Besides Glenn, Little Smiles has done so much not only for my daughter but for other children and families throughout the hospital. I will never forget the junk food runs where they would give all the kids junk food (which they loved) and the nerf gun fight while having chemo; just to get our minds off everything. From the Stars Ball that had my daughter feel like a princess to what they do everyday. They help kids. They help the families. They are there when you think no one else is. They are like family and I am grateful they have helped us and will forever support what they do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My name is Dottie McGinn, I am a pediatric nurse who started with the charity in the beginning stages. I was the founding nurse for Little Smiles at Bryn Mawr Hospital in Bryn Mawr, Pa. They have exceeded our expectations and brought many smiles to both our nurses and patients. I have since left Bryn Mawr Hospital, however, they continue to give to our children and grant our nurses their wishes. They never hesitate to fulfill their requests. I now work with children with Autism and love what I do. My husband, Joe McGinn, and I continue to go to the Star Ball and contribute to the cause. The smiles on these children's faces and the parents are amazing to watch. It truly is magical. I thank Little Smiles for all you do. These children have struggles no child should have to endure and this evening makes those troubles disappear for one night. The nurses who care for them are fulfilled and happy to see these children in this light. Thank you also for remembering and granting the nurses wishes. This helps us as nurses make our care for them so much easier and is comforting to us.
Thank you from the bottom of my heart and I'm sure I speak for all of the other nurses out there.
Dottie McGinn RN,BSN,CSN

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am very proud to be the sitting Vice President of this wonderful organization. It is far more than a Charity to me and for me because of the fact that we are involved, hands on and in my opinion, effective in bringing huge smiles to children who suffer the simplest of injuries that might require hospitialization, to the most serious. We interact with the Nurses, ChildLife Specialists, Staff and the kids and their families and I actually get to witness the impact of our donor's gifts, be they monetary or an actual gift. One day I met this amazing young man named Chip Donahue, the founder of Little Smiles who did a presentation at a club I was a member of. I was so intrigued that I couldnt wait to see what I could do to help. That turned into meeting some outstanding Nurses, Child Life Specialists and kids that maybe wouldnt have had such a great day were it not for the generosity of others. I met and got to know the families of these children, witness their struggles and had them share their concerns with me. I got to see true courage in children who through no fault of their own were born with dibiliating illness like Cancer. I have seen the smiles and shared them. I have seen the tears and shed them. But above all else, no matter what the outcomes were, I have seen the smiles and enjoyed them. I would not trade the experiences I have had as a friend of Little Smiles, a member of the Board of Directors and now the VP, for anything. I share my passion with some truly wonderful and giving people who give freely of their time and resources to just make a child smile. The greatest gift of all. Thank you for allowing me the opportunity to share this and for those of you who took the time to read it, I thank you more because of you and your gracious hearts, I know that we will create more smiles for more children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make us bigger! We are trying!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Little Smiles is one of the most amazing groups of people I have ever spent time with. They really care about the childrem, the nurses, and the families. They know, by making a child smile, you can make the parent smile even bigger, especially when they are affected by something medically. When my son is in the hospital, and they come to the doorway of his room, He lights up !! That makes my heart smile !! Thank you for all you do !!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I became a pediatric oncology nurse, after my daughter was successfully treated for leukemia. I have first hand seen the smiles brought by a much needed change in menu, during a pizza run. At one point, the only thing my daughter would eat was pizza! So, pizza is what she got! As a peds onc nurse, I have had the pleasure of waking mothers up from their slumber to announce that we have coffee provided by Little Smiles and fresh hot donuts. I have contacted them personally when we had a few basketball enthusiasts as patients during the last NBA finals, only to find a grand buffett complete with decorations and a "cheerleader" to the enjoyment of the patients and their families. Little Smiles brings BIG smiles to the patients and staff they serve. We are extremely lucky and proud to know them all! THANK YOU LITTLE SMILES! WE LOVE YOU!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

It is great to see both a child and a nurse smile.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2000

July 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I went to Palms West Hospital pediatric floor on a "Junk Run". We had loaded up a little red wagon full of ice cream choices and candy of all sorts. We traveled down the hall and one little girl sitting up in her bed, maybe 2 years old, hoses & wires attached to her, but for a moment she didn't know what we were doing, a little apprehensive, then the orange ice cream popsicle was unwrapped and her eyes got big and the Biggest Little Smile ever was revealed. You could see happiness in her eyes as she tasted the cold popsicle and for a moment she was having some fun. I had the privilege to visit several rooms that day with our team of volunteers. I think it was the best therapy for me as well as the children. God Bless Them and the folks at Little Smiles for the good work they do everyday!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help buy food for a Junk food run, help set up or break down an event, office work Volunteer