Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
96 Reviews
1234.927085
| 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review
January 27, 2014

more

January 27, 2014

Wonderful, well-organized and supported opportunities for children as young as three to volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 27, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 18, 2011

There are so few opportunities available for young children to volunteer. I feel fortunate to have found an organization like LHH that appreciates the enthusiasm and abilities of those under 10 years ... more

January 27, 2014

A few years ago, I was looking for volunteer opportunities for my young daughter. Little Helping Hands provided the perfect activities for children her age, and allowed us to volunteer as a family. Over time, Little Helping Hands has offered countless ways for me, my husband, and my two children to help animals, the environment, and those in need. My children are developing a better understanding of what it means to give, that giving of their time is just as valuable (maybe more so) than monetary donations. Little Helping Hands is just a wonderful organization!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Offer more volunteer opportunities for families with parents that work during the week -- more weekend opportunities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 18, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

There are so few opportunities available for young children to volunteer. I feel fortunate to have found an organization like LHH that appreciates the enthusiasm and abilities of those under 10 years old to help others. As a family, we have worked at Goodwill to help disassemble computers. My children enjoy the activity, they ask questions, and they are developing an understanding of charity and commitment -- and maybe an interest in technology!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Goodwill puts people to work! The computer parts are able to be sold as-is or as part of another computer, which helps Goodwill fulfill its mission.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Offer more opportunities to volunteer, particularly for working parents (evenings/weekends).

January 23, 2014

more

January 23, 2014

Upon retirement, I took the opportunity to move closer to family and grandchildren. Volunteering with the grandchildren with Little Helping Hands has been a meaningful way to spend time together while also introducing me to the non-profits in the city. By volunteering together, the grandchildren know that helping others is valued and can be a lifelong endeavor. Volunteering with Little Helping Hands is helping my grandchildren grow up to be thoughtful, compassionate and competent.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I'm looking forward to having more than one time available each month. I hope other non-profits see the value in allowing children to volunteer so LHH can expand.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 16, 2014

more

January 16, 2014

Having just moved to Austin, I've been looking for family friendly volunteer opportunities so I could plan activities for my kids to do with me, like I've always had to do before since volunteer orgs usually only serve adults, sometimes teens. How tickled I was to find a volunteer organization focused on children, working with their family. The sign up process was seamless - just click the activity you want to participate in, fill out a little bit of info, and you're set. I then received an email with all the details. I especially loved the link to "table talk" a quick overview for parents to use to explain the project and it's significance to my kids. When we arrived, there was 1 form to complete (it was our first event with Little Helping Hands), and a super warm welcome by the staff and other volunteers. My kids felt instantly comfortable. There was no confusion or wasted time. A fun, quick orientation showed us what Mobile Loafs and Fishes does and we got to work. Not only did the kids do a great job stocking the truck, taking such pride in their work, but their sense of accomplishment was priceless. They really felt like they were part of something bigger, helping the homeless in a significant way. They can't wait to go back.

As for mom, to be able to click to select a project, then just show up and help. Wow! That was easy.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

All of the projects for the month are already full. I shared the link with friends who were so excited to hear about Little Helping Hands, but there weren't any open projects for them to join. LHH needs more community support and resources so they can grow. They're doing everything right. With funding I could see this organization becoming regional, even national. So very needed and so well done.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 12, 2014

more

January 12, 2014

There are so few organizations that allow children to volunteer, so the have an organization that organizes all these activities is absolutely priceless. Each coordinator is helpful and knowledgeable about the activities. It is amazing to see the difference volunteering has made in my children's lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to work on adding activities!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 7, 2014

more

January 7, 2014

myself, my daughter and my granddaughter spent time with senior center residents making crafts. It was very enriching experience for all of us. The focus on family involvement in community and teaching our young ones at early age to give their time and talent to be good citizen of the community is very important. Little helping hand organization gives this opportunity in our city of Austin, TX and we feel blessed by it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 23, 2013

more

December 23, 2013

An amazing organization. Love that the focus is on helping as a family - A really wonderful way to get the kids involved and focused on helping others and making a difference!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more opportunites for families to get involved

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

December 17, 2013

more

December 17, 2013

Little Helping Hands is an amazing organization that provides parents the tools to guide their children into a lifetime of volunteering. They offer a variety of events that allow the children to support and learn about the many different types of non-profit organizations that rely on volunteers. In addition, Little Helping Hands goes the extra mile by providing "talking points" about each organization hosting an event to further discuss the mission of a particular organization and who they are helping by volunteering.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 17, 2013

more

December 17, 2013

Wonderful organization that does amazing things within the community helping those in need (e.g. Caritas, Shelters, Parks, etc.) Best of all the focus is on the children providing the support and learning what it truly means to "help thy neighbor."

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase funding so that they can help more organizations in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 3, 2013

more

December 3, 2013

I love that we can volunteer as a family! This is a great organization - extremely well run and rewarding activities!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers