Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
94 Reviews
1234.925535
Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review
June 16, 2014

more

June 16, 2014

Our experiences with LHH has brought our family closer all while helping the community. Each activity has been positive and educational. Every representative from LHH has been professional, approachable, and kind. It has been extremely rewarding to participate with an organization that makes the world a better place. In fact, our only issue is that the organization is such a success that opportunities fill up quickly. I highly recommend LHH to all of my friends!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 8, 2014

more

June 8, 2014

My 5-year-old daughter has participated in two volunteer events with Little Helping Hands (at Dell Children's Hospital and Habitat for Humanity). She loved them both and can't wait to be a "helper" again. LHH does a great job making volunteer events appropriate for preschoolers and school-aged children and makes it a fun experience for both kids and parents. I look forward to getting the calendar to sign up every month!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love to see even more community partnerships = more volunteer events. The calendar fills up very quickly and it is sometimes hard to get signed up for weekend events.!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 17, 2014

more

May 17, 2014

My seven year old daughter has been volunteering through LLH and absolutely adores it. She is excited to go and comes home afterwards beaming over her accomplishments. She also seems to have more compassion for differences and often asks if we can bring various things to the people at Caritas. Thank you for this opportunity.
May 13, 2014

more

May 13, 2014

My three children and I have been volunteering with LHH for the past several years. We've experienced a range of their activities---from making holiday crafts at a senior center, to making lunches for residents of a Foundation Communities, to picking kale at a local farm, and many, many more. Each time, we learn something new and it has been incredibly valuable for my children to learn about so many different aspects of our community. LHH is extremely well organized and I feel very lucky that we have such an amazing and much-needed nonprofit here in Austin.
March 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Let me just start by saying I am so very blessed to live in the same city as LHH! When my son was 4 years old, I started looking for opportunities for him to experience the gift of giving and the fulfillment that comes with keeping our community beautiful. LHH was there to offer a variety of experiences. In his first year, we painted graffiti with the City of Austin; made meals for the families of The Ronald McDonald House; helped a food pantry plant a huge garden, picked up trash in our city's most popular park and bagged dog food for the pets of the homeless.

My favorite part of all these events is the conversations that happen when I explain the purpose of our efforts. Usually it's hard to keep back the tears. I remember when I was explaining how the Ronald McDonald House gives families a place to stay for free when they have a sick child in the nearby hospital and can't afford lodging and how we were going to help make dinner for them. My little boy says, "Mommy, they can stay with us in my bed if they need to."

He is 7 now and I know that his giving heart has blossomed over these past 3 years because of his involvement with LHH. My daughter is 4 and I plan to take her down the same path as her brother. She just had her first experience and was blown away when I told her we just made dinner for 22 families.

Thanks you, LHH, for doing what you do! I wish every city had the opportunities you offer to ours. I am so proud of you, Marissa, for bringing your vision to life! I wish you amazing growth and reach with LHH! Cheers to nurturing the giving spirits of our children!
February 11, 2014

more

February 11, 2014

This our first time volunteering with LHH. I have wanted to volunteer for months, the organization is SO popular that volunteer spots fill up quickly. We were able to get a Monday afternoon spot at Caritas.
Initially my 7 year old was hesitant to do the *work*, but she quickly got into the role
of food prep, and genuinely enjoyed herself. Most importantly she understood why and whom the food was for. I think this was the first time that she didn't take a nibble of the food while we were prepping. Her self-control surprised me. It is amazing what one will do for a bigger cause.
Alisa (sp) was a great organizer, and made everyone feel welcome and included.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish there were more events so we could participate more. I'd even be willing to become an event organizer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 3, 2014

more

February 3, 2014

We had our first experience with Little Helping Hands this past weekend, and it was a great one! Not only did my daughter and I learn some new things, we also got a chance to connect with like-minded people. My goal as a mom is to inspire a sense of community in my children, and this orginization is a great way to do that. I plan on signing my family up more in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I love that my two active toddlers can get their wiggles out while helping others. We usually choose outdoor opportunities, since the boys are so young ( 3 and 5). The LHH leaders are organized and cheerful, and very supportive helping kids learn the value of helping others.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish we could always volunteer each month we wanted. There are so many families who want to help out but not enough volunteer opportunities! (Not something you can easily fix, I imagine.)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 27, 2014

more

January 27, 2014

Wonderful, well-organized and supported opportunities for children as young as three to volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 27, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 18, 2011

There are so few opportunities available for young children to volunteer. I feel fortunate to have found an organization like LHH that appreciates the enthusiasm and abilities of those under 10 years ... more

January 27, 2014

A few years ago, I was looking for volunteer opportunities for my young daughter. Little Helping Hands provided the perfect activities for children her age, and allowed us to volunteer as a family. Over time, Little Helping Hands has offered countless ways for me, my husband, and my two children to help animals, the environment, and those in need. My children are developing a better understanding of what it means to give, that giving of their time is just as valuable (maybe more so) than monetary donations. Little Helping Hands is just a wonderful organization!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Offer more volunteer opportunities for families with parents that work during the week -- more weekend opportunities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 18, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

There are so few opportunities available for young children to volunteer. I feel fortunate to have found an organization like LHH that appreciates the enthusiasm and abilities of those under 10 years old to help others. As a family, we have worked at Goodwill to help disassemble computers. My children enjoy the activity, they ask questions, and they are developing an understanding of charity and commitment -- and maybe an interest in technology!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Goodwill puts people to work! The computer parts are able to be sold as-is or as part of another computer, which helps Goodwill fulfill its mission.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Offer more opportunities to volunteer, particularly for working parents (evenings/weekends).

Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers