Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
90 Reviews
1234.922225
Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review
March 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Let me just start by saying I am so very blessed to live in the same city as LHH! When my son was 4 years old, I started looking for opportunities for him to experience the gift of giving and the fulfillment that comes with keeping our community beautiful. LHH was there to offer a variety of experiences. In his first year, we painted graffiti with the City of Austin; made meals for the families of The Ronald McDonald House; helped a food pantry plant a huge garden, picked up trash in our city's most popular park and bagged dog food for the pets of the homeless.

My favorite part of all these events is the conversations that happen when I explain the purpose of our efforts. Usually it's hard to keep back the tears. I remember when I was explaining how the Ronald McDonald House gives families a place to stay for free when they have a sick child in the nearby hospital and can't afford lodging and how we were going to help make dinner for them. My little boy says, "Mommy, they can stay with us in my bed if they need to."

He is 7 now and I know that his giving heart has blossomed over these past 3 years because of his involvement with LHH. My daughter is 4 and I plan to take her down the same path as her brother. She just had her first experience and was blown away when I told her we just made dinner for 22 families.

Thanks you, LHH, for doing what you do! I wish every city had the opportunities you offer to ours. I am so proud of you, Marissa, for bringing your vision to life! I wish you amazing growth and reach with LHH! Cheers to nurturing the giving spirits of our children!
February 11, 2014

more

February 11, 2014

This our first time volunteering with LHH. I have wanted to volunteer for months, the organization is SO popular that volunteer spots fill up quickly. We were able to get a Monday afternoon spot at Caritas.
Initially my 7 year old was hesitant to do the *work*, but she quickly got into the role
of food prep, and genuinely enjoyed herself. Most importantly she understood why and whom the food was for. I think this was the first time that she didn't take a nibble of the food while we were prepping. Her self-control surprised me. It is amazing what one will do for a bigger cause.
Alisa (sp) was a great organizer, and made everyone feel welcome and included.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish there were more events so we could participate more. I'd even be willing to become an event organizer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 3, 2014

more

February 3, 2014

We had our first experience with Little Helping Hands this past weekend, and it was a great one! Not only did my daughter and I learn some new things, we also got a chance to connect with like-minded people. My goal as a mom is to inspire a sense of community in my children, and this orginization is a great way to do that. I plan on signing my family up more in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I love that my two active toddlers can get their wiggles out while helping others. We usually choose outdoor opportunities, since the boys are so young ( 3 and 5). The LHH leaders are organized and cheerful, and very supportive helping kids learn the value of helping others.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish we could always volunteer each month we wanted. There are so many families who want to help out but not enough volunteer opportunities! (Not something you can easily fix, I imagine.)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 27, 2014

more

January 27, 2014

Wonderful, well-organized and supported opportunities for children as young as three to volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 27, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 18, 2011

There are so few opportunities available for young children to volunteer. I feel fortunate to have found an organization like LHH that appreciates the enthusiasm and abilities of those under 10 years ... more

January 27, 2014

A few years ago, I was looking for volunteer opportunities for my young daughter. Little Helping Hands provided the perfect activities for children her age, and allowed us to volunteer as a family. Over time, Little Helping Hands has offered countless ways for me, my husband, and my two children to help animals, the environment, and those in need. My children are developing a better understanding of what it means to give, that giving of their time is just as valuable (maybe more so) than monetary donations. Little Helping Hands is just a wonderful organization!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Offer more volunteer opportunities for families with parents that work during the week -- more weekend opportunities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 18, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

There are so few opportunities available for young children to volunteer. I feel fortunate to have found an organization like LHH that appreciates the enthusiasm and abilities of those under 10 years old to help others. As a family, we have worked at Goodwill to help disassemble computers. My children enjoy the activity, they ask questions, and they are developing an understanding of charity and commitment -- and maybe an interest in technology!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Goodwill puts people to work! The computer parts are able to be sold as-is or as part of another computer, which helps Goodwill fulfill its mission.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Offer more opportunities to volunteer, particularly for working parents (evenings/weekends).

January 23, 2014

more

January 23, 2014

Upon retirement, I took the opportunity to move closer to family and grandchildren. Volunteering with the grandchildren with Little Helping Hands has been a meaningful way to spend time together while also introducing me to the non-profits in the city. By volunteering together, the grandchildren know that helping others is valued and can be a lifelong endeavor. Volunteering with Little Helping Hands is helping my grandchildren grow up to be thoughtful, compassionate and competent.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I'm looking forward to having more than one time available each month. I hope other non-profits see the value in allowing children to volunteer so LHH can expand.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 16, 2014

more

January 16, 2014

Having just moved to Austin, I've been looking for family friendly volunteer opportunities so I could plan activities for my kids to do with me, like I've always had to do before since volunteer orgs usually only serve adults, sometimes teens. How tickled I was to find a volunteer organization focused on children, working with their family. The sign up process was seamless - just click the activity you want to participate in, fill out a little bit of info, and you're set. I then received an email with all the details. I especially loved the link to "table talk" a quick overview for parents to use to explain the project and it's significance to my kids. When we arrived, there was 1 form to complete (it was our first event with Little Helping Hands), and a super warm welcome by the staff and other volunteers. My kids felt instantly comfortable. There was no confusion or wasted time. A fun, quick orientation showed us what Mobile Loafs and Fishes does and we got to work. Not only did the kids do a great job stocking the truck, taking such pride in their work, but their sense of accomplishment was priceless. They really felt like they were part of something bigger, helping the homeless in a significant way. They can't wait to go back.

As for mom, to be able to click to select a project, then just show up and help. Wow! That was easy.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

All of the projects for the month are already full. I shared the link with friends who were so excited to hear about Little Helping Hands, but there weren't any open projects for them to join. LHH needs more community support and resources so they can grow. They're doing everything right. With funding I could see this organization becoming regional, even national. So very needed and so well done.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 12, 2014

more

January 12, 2014

There are so few organizations that allow children to volunteer, so the have an organization that organizes all these activities is absolutely priceless. Each coordinator is helpful and knowledgeable about the activities. It is amazing to see the difference volunteering has made in my children's lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to work on adding activities!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 7, 2014

more

January 7, 2014

myself, my daughter and my granddaughter spent time with senior center residents making crafts. It was very enriching experience for all of us. The focus on family involvement in community and teaching our young ones at early age to give their time and talent to be good citizen of the community is very important. Little helping hand organization gives this opportunity in our city of Austin, TX and we feel blessed by it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers