Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
96 Reviews
1234.927085
Previous | 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review
August 13, 2014

more

August 13, 2014

My 9 year old son has volunteered with LHH numerous times, along with myself and/or my husband. We absolutely love the organization! They are friendly, organized, and very informative. The small incentives for the kids (t-shirt, ice cream coupon) are great, but don't overshadow the real reward of contributing to the community. Volunteering once (sometimes twice) a month with LHH has brought our family closer and has opened up a lot of interesting/meaningful conversations for us. We tend to volunteer at the same location each month, and the LHH representative on site always remembers my son's name and chats with him as we're getting started; this makes him feel incredibly special.

It's also important to note that the opportunities are authentic volunteer events, not just cutesy excuses to get kids involved. My 9 year old LOVES that he is making a concrete difference, and I know that if the volunteer events were just fluff that he would grow disinterested. There are a variety of opportunities, and I love exposing our son to the myriad of ways that one can get involved in the community and help out.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

n/a

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 12, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 14, 2013

We had a wonderful time at our first LHH event at Mayfield Park. The work was tough because of the heat but we were provided with water and shade so it was okay. Our kids learned a great deal about t... more

August 12, 2014

My children and I volunteer through LHH about once per month. It's a fabulous experience for each of us, and we really appreciate that LHH brings opportunities for the little ones to help out. They also do a great job at each event of explaining to the children how their activities at that particular event are helping out the community. I highly recommend this charity.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 14, 2013

We had a wonderful time at our first LHH event at Mayfield Park. The work was tough because of the heat but we were provided with water and shade so it was okay. Our kids learned a great deal about the importance of serving the community. We hope to participate again soon!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Just more spots. Everything else was great.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 16, 2014

more

June 16, 2014

Our experiences with LHH has brought our family closer all while helping the community. Each activity has been positive and educational. Every representative from LHH has been professional, approachable, and kind. It has been extremely rewarding to participate with an organization that makes the world a better place. In fact, our only issue is that the organization is such a success that opportunities fill up quickly. I highly recommend LHH to all of my friends!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 8, 2014

more

June 8, 2014

My 5-year-old daughter has participated in two volunteer events with Little Helping Hands (at Dell Children's Hospital and Habitat for Humanity). She loved them both and can't wait to be a "helper" again. LHH does a great job making volunteer events appropriate for preschoolers and school-aged children and makes it a fun experience for both kids and parents. I look forward to getting the calendar to sign up every month!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love to see even more community partnerships = more volunteer events. The calendar fills up very quickly and it is sometimes hard to get signed up for weekend events.!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 17, 2014

more

May 17, 2014

My seven year old daughter has been volunteering through LLH and absolutely adores it. She is excited to go and comes home afterwards beaming over her accomplishments. She also seems to have more compassion for differences and often asks if we can bring various things to the people at Caritas. Thank you for this opportunity.
May 13, 2014

more

May 13, 2014

My three children and I have been volunteering with LHH for the past several years. We've experienced a range of their activities---from making holiday crafts at a senior center, to making lunches for residents of a Foundation Communities, to picking kale at a local farm, and many, many more. Each time, we learn something new and it has been incredibly valuable for my children to learn about so many different aspects of our community. LHH is extremely well organized and I feel very lucky that we have such an amazing and much-needed nonprofit here in Austin.
March 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Let me just start by saying I am so very blessed to live in the same city as LHH! When my son was 4 years old, I started looking for opportunities for him to experience the gift of giving and the fulfillment that comes with keeping our community beautiful. LHH was there to offer a variety of experiences. In his first year, we painted graffiti with the City of Austin; made meals for the families of The Ronald McDonald House; helped a food pantry plant a huge garden, picked up trash in our city's most popular park and bagged dog food for the pets of the homeless.

My favorite part of all these events is the conversations that happen when I explain the purpose of our efforts. Usually it's hard to keep back the tears. I remember when I was explaining how the Ronald McDonald House gives families a place to stay for free when they have a sick child in the nearby hospital and can't afford lodging and how we were going to help make dinner for them. My little boy says, "Mommy, they can stay with us in my bed if they need to."

He is 7 now and I know that his giving heart has blossomed over these past 3 years because of his involvement with LHH. My daughter is 4 and I plan to take her down the same path as her brother. She just had her first experience and was blown away when I told her we just made dinner for 22 families.

Thanks you, LHH, for doing what you do! I wish every city had the opportunities you offer to ours. I am so proud of you, Marissa, for bringing your vision to life! I wish you amazing growth and reach with LHH! Cheers to nurturing the giving spirits of our children!
February 11, 2014

more

February 11, 2014

This our first time volunteering with LHH. I have wanted to volunteer for months, the organization is SO popular that volunteer spots fill up quickly. We were able to get a Monday afternoon spot at Caritas.
Initially my 7 year old was hesitant to do the *work*, but she quickly got into the role
of food prep, and genuinely enjoyed herself. Most importantly she understood why and whom the food was for. I think this was the first time that she didn't take a nibble of the food while we were prepping. Her self-control surprised me. It is amazing what one will do for a bigger cause.
Alisa (sp) was a great organizer, and made everyone feel welcome and included.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish there were more events so we could participate more. I'd even be willing to become an event organizer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 3, 2014

more

February 3, 2014

We had our first experience with Little Helping Hands this past weekend, and it was a great one! Not only did my daughter and I learn some new things, we also got a chance to connect with like-minded people. My goal as a mom is to inspire a sense of community in my children, and this orginization is a great way to do that. I plan on signing my family up more in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I love that my two active toddlers can get their wiggles out while helping others. We usually choose outdoor opportunities, since the boys are so young ( 3 and 5). The LHH leaders are organized and cheerful, and very supportive helping kids learn the value of helping others.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish we could always volunteer each month we wanted. There are so many families who want to help out but not enough volunteer opportunities! (Not something you can easily fix, I imagine.)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers