Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
6 Reviews
123.545
Write A Review
October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

The "Peace Camp" that is run by Little Friends for Peace is a wonderful opportunity for children from the inner city to learn peace and communication skills. These children are then encouraged to bring these skills back to their schools and neighborhood to help end the violence.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage more self promotion so that the programming would greatly increase.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

September 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
November 5, 2011

I am sure LFFP is a great organization, doing great things that need doing. I have no experience as to their effectiveness. However, their Peace Oasis is being operated against national scenic easeme... more

September 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Little Friends for Peace has not used Oasis since June for "visitors" or clients, as far as the neighborhood is aware. We are grateful that the letter they received from the National Park Service discussing the Scenic Easement restrictions on the property alerted them to inappropriate usage.

The LFFP website still lists the Oasis as one of their locations, however, making the community uncomfortable. The last line of the Oasis description says "The Parks welcome those who seek peace to enjoy the Oasis and all it has to offer."

Only the long grass and the tree down across the driveway give us hope that LFFP illegal use of the property may have come to an end.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 5, 2011

I am sure LFFP is a great organization, doing great things that need doing. I have no experience as to their effectiveness.
However, their Peace Oasis is being operated against national scenic easements, county zoning regulations, and community covenants. The Parks family insists that
everyone who visits their property is a guest of the family. Their lawyer wrote a letter to the county saying that no more than 5 children accompanied by adults would visit the property. A month later, in the fall of 2010, there were over 20 children and numerous adults visiting Peace Oasis. The Parks were not present. The group was trespassing on an adjacent property and, to make things potentially really ghastly, there is deer poaching going on in that area of the neighborhood. Please, please move your dream to a more appropriate location.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The impact LFFP's Peace Oasis has on the community is an open sore. The National Park Service has chosen to ignore hard evidence, relying on the word of the Parks family, and in the process may break some of the oldest federal scenic easements in the country. The effect on all federal easements is potentially devastating; the effect on the community will be awful.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

LFFP needs to find a new home for its Peace Oasis!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you learn about this organization?

This organization operates a retreat in my community that has posed problems from the beginning.

November 4, 2010

I am a long time resident of the Moyaone community where Camp Oasis is located. Those I have spoken to in the community think the LFFP a great program; a program that is greatly needed in this violent world. As do I. Everyone who has met the Parks reports that the family is very nice. However, there are several problems with having LFFP/Camp Oasis as a neighbor: The property is zoned residential but representation of Camp Oasis on the internet suggests that the primary purpose of the property is for LFFP use. If so, this use is prohibited by county zoning laws. The septic system was designed for a family and is unlikely to have the capacity for groups of people. Spillage is not only a health problem for the neighbors but for the Potomac and Chesapeake Bay. Today, a group of more than 20 children and 8 adults from Camp Oasis were encountered traversing an adjacent property that they had not requested nor received permission to enter. Posting property boundary markers and teaching clients not to trespass beyond is especially critical now in the middle of deer hunting season. It can be hazardous to their health! The property itself is under easement to the United States government and use of the property for Camp Oasis is breaking the intent of the law. So, while the community supports the purpose of Camp Oasis, we wish that the Parks had found a suitable location for its programs.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

No personal experience; the website and personal reports make it sound like a great program.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Suggestions: Close down the current Camp Oasis and work with the nearby Alice Ferguson Foundation's education program to use their more appropriate facility. The AFF has meeting, dormitory and kitchen facilities, farm, and many acres adjacent to the Piscataway Park. I have no vested interest in the AFF but think its facilities offer LFFP more than the current Camp Oasis and it is legal! www.fergusonfoundation.org

March 15, 2012

more

March 15, 2012

I appreciate the previous poster's appreciation for LFFP's mission and his respect for the environment too. I think, though, that he or she may be generalizing from something that happened early in their time there. The Parks are not using the Oasis property as the headquarters for their small nonprofit, only as an adjunct to it. They invite visitors the way any family would invite friends, never in numbers or with a frequency that would negatively affect septic systems or any aspect of the environment. I'm fairly sure that the writer has learned this and been reassured since this comment was posted in 2010. If not, I hope he'll walk over and say Hi one weekend when they're there!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 5, 2011

more

January 5, 2011

Based in the D.C. metro area Little Friends for Peace is an amazingly effective and unique educational non-profit. The thousands of young people and their adult leaders across the country who have experienced LFFP's customized conflict resolution and peace education curriculum would certainly attest.

Programming options include Peace camps, after school Peace clubs and educator workshops. LFFP uses role playing with skits and plays, art classes, cooperative games and many other mediums to reach the youth and ingrain conflict resolution techniques into their habits. Much time is spent by LFFP staff with volunteers, interns and college students who learn and practice the peace building techniques with the students.

Today, the majority of the programming is hosted at Perry School community service center in Washington D.C. LFFP has become a refreshing presence in the high conflict Sursum Corda neighborhood. Peace clubs are hosted by many local schools and communities including Beacon House, the Fishing School, Mount Rainier and many other local communities.

The founders M.J. and Jerry Park have made their home that their own six children named "The Oasis" in Piscataway National Park in Maryland. The Park family enjoys welcoming their family and friends to their home to enjoy the natural and beautiful environment.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

As a camper myself and as a volunteer

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Share their teachings with more communities. kids, parents and teachers. Revamp the website and make their curriculum more visible

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers